You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-28 22:22:59

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Archey

Introducing archey:

Its a simple screenshot/info tool similar to the perl version found in the screenshots/artwork forum. Archey is written in python 2.6. Hope you guys enjoy.

tNXE4bw

AUR Link for Archey: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=32556
Dependencies: git, python, scrot, lsb-release
__________________

Introducing archey3:

Bluepeppers released a new version of archey written in Python 3.

AUR Link for Archey3: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=40420
Dependencies: imagemagick, python3

Last edited by melik (2010-10-05 06:18:37)

Offline

#2 2009-12-29 01:20:54

Chokkan
Member
Registered: 2009-04-06
Posts: 129

Re: Archey

Great stuff. Thanks.


< Daenyth> tomkx: my girlfriend is linux
< Daenyth> srsly
< Daenyth> she loves the way I «make install»
< Daenyth> all her /dev entries are mode 7 for me

Offline

#3 2009-12-29 03:45:32

MarcosRoriz
Member
Registered: 2009-04-04
Posts: 31

Re: Archey

cool script, big_smile

Offline

#4 2009-12-29 05:41:23

zowki
Member
From: Trapped in The Matrix
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 582
Website

Re: Archey

What advantage does this program have over the perl version?


How's my programming? Call 1-800-DEV-NULL

Offline

#5 2009-12-29 06:33:18

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

zowki wrote:

What advantage does this program have over the perl version?

A lot cleaner, very stable script.
Displays different information.
Option to choose colors.
Option to screenshot.
Python is awesome big_smile

Offline

#6 2009-12-29 08:06:31

Ashren
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 1,221
Website

Re: Archey

Well, the newest git pull does not work. It fails with the following message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 210, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, list[0], color, list[1], color, list[2], color, list[3], color, list[4], color, list[5], color, list[6], color, color2, color, list[7], color, color2, color, list[8], color, color2, list[9], color2, list[10], color2, list[11], color2, list[12], color2, list[13], color2, list[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of rang

Offline

#7 2009-12-29 08:29:07

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Ashren wrote:

Well, the newest git pull does not work. It fails with the following message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 210, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, list[0], color, list[1], color, list[2], color, list[3], color, list[4], color, list[5], color, list[6], color, color2, color, list[7], color, color2, color, list[8], color, color2, list[9], color2, list[10], color2, list[11], color2, list[12], color2, list[13], color2, list[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of rang

Have you configured it? If yes,  can you pastebin the code?

Offline

#8 2009-12-29 09:13:25

Ashren
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 1,221
Website

Re: Archey

I haven't configured it - am I supposed to? I got the package from Aur. It also throws the same error with when I use the -c switch.

Offline

#9 2009-12-29 20:33:38

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Ashren wrote:

I haven't configured it - am I supposed to? I got the package from Aur. It also throws the same error with when I use the -c switch.

Hmm.. Its quite odd. I'll look into it right now.

Edit: Figured out the problem, you don't have X running. I suppose you can comment out 'de_or_wm' as a quick fix. Once I have time I'll fix that function.

Last edited by melik (2009-12-29 21:18:49)

Offline

#10 2009-12-30 03:20:46

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

melik wrote:
Ashren wrote:

I haven't configured it - am I supposed to? I got the package from Aur. It also throws the same error with when I use the -c switch.

Hmm.. Its quite odd. I'll look into it right now.

Edit: Figured out the problem, you don't have X running. I suppose you can comment out 'de_or_wm' as a quick fix. Once I have time I'll fix that function.

Fixed it.

Just reinstall it from the AUR.

Also the reason you might have received that error was because your WM isn't included in the script, please tell me the name of your WM so I may add it.

Last edited by melik (2009-12-30 03:24:24)

Offline

#11 2009-12-30 04:41:32

Stythys
Member
From: SF Bay Area
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 878
Website

Re: Archey

[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...


[home page] -- [code / configs]

"Once you go Arch, you must remain there for life or else Allan will track you down and break you."
-- Bregol

Offline

#12 2009-12-30 04:54:42

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Stythys wrote:
[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...

hmmm can you do:

ps -A | grep xmonad

copy paste the output please.

Offline

#13 2009-12-30 08:39:41

zowki
Member
From: Trapped in The Matrix
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 582
Website

Re: Archey

Stythys wrote:
[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...

Are you running this within gnu screen and set the text mode environment on in your screenrc? If so just comment out that line in your screenrc and it should work.


How's my programming? Call 1-800-DEV-NULL

Offline

#14 2009-12-30 08:46:41

Ashren
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 1,221
Website

Re: Archey

Melik: Thanks for the update. The script now works and xmonad gets detected after uncommenting "wm" in archey.

Offline

#15 2009-12-30 09:05:30

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Ashren wrote:

Melik: Thanks for the update. The script now works and xmonad gets detected after uncommenting "wm" in archey.

I think i'm going to remove de_or_wm and leave a seperate one for 'de' and 'wm'.

People can just comment out 'de' if they don't use it hmm

Offline

#16 2009-12-30 10:06:51

Stythys
Member
From: SF Bay Area
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 878
Website

Re: Archey

melik wrote:
Stythys wrote:
[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...

hmmm can you do:

ps -A | grep xmonad

copy paste the output please.

[syth@Imperium ~]$ ps -A | grep xmonad
3579 ?        00:00:05 xmonad-i386-lin


[home page] -- [code / configs]

"Once you go Arch, you must remain there for life or else Allan will track you down and break you."
-- Bregol

Offline

#17 2010-01-01 16:11:13

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,414
Website

Re: Archey

Cool scripts, thanks


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#18 2010-01-01 17:16:38

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 833
Website

Re: Archey

melik wrote:

Archey is written in python. Hope you guys enjoy.

Here are some ideas for you:
- replace hard coded Arch Linux label with /etc/*version and /etc/*release
  - read logo from an external file for simpler support of other distros
- add GTK theme, icons theme and fonts support from ~/.gtkrc*
- add acpitool support to battery along with acpi, or even better calculate your self
- replace scrot with more common imagemagick import and convert


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#19 2010-01-01 20:25:10

tomd123
Developer
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 565

Re: Archey

Stythys wrote:
melik wrote:
Stythys wrote:
[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...

hmmm can you do:

ps -A | grep xmonad

copy paste the output please.

[syth@Imperium ~]$ ps -A | grep xmonad
3579 ?        00:00:05 xmonad-i386-lin

I think the script should use pgrep instead of ps -A | grep

Offline

#20 2010-01-02 20:27:27

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

anrxc wrote:
melik wrote:

Archey is written in python. Hope you guys enjoy.

Here are some ideas for you:
- replace hard coded Arch Linux label with /etc/*version and /etc/*release
  - read logo from an external file for simpler support of other distros
- add GTK theme, icons theme and fonts support from ~/.gtkrc*
- add acpitool support to battery along with acpi, or even better calculate your self
- replace scrot with more common imagemagick import and convert

Thank you for the suggestions, I'm quite busy atm with holidays, etc.. but will get to work.

tomd123 wrote:
Stythys wrote:
melik wrote:

hmmm can you do:

ps -A | grep xmonad

copy paste the output please.

[syth@Imperium ~]$ ps -A | grep xmonad
3579 ?        00:00:05 xmonad-i386-lin

I think the script should use pgrep instead of ps -A | grep

I had never heard of pgrep, just tried it out.. and its great. Thanks!

Offline

#21 2010-01-02 20:39:09

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Archey

musca is missing from the list.

Offline

#22 2010-01-07 00:39:36

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Archey 1.5

Added:

Support for PekWM
Support for Musca WM
CPU Model Reporting
RAM Usage Reporting

Last edited by melik (2010-01-11 18:03:28)

Offline

#23 2010-01-11 18:06:39

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Stythys wrote:
melik wrote:
Stythys wrote:
[syth@Imperium ~]$ archey -s -c blue
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/archey", line 215, in <module>
    %s """ % (color, color, color, result[0], color, result[1], color, result[2], color, result[3], color, result[4], color, result[5], color, result[6], color, color2, color, result[7], color, color2, color, result[8], color, color2, result[9], color2, result[10], color2, result[11], color2, result[12], color2, result[13], color2, result[14], color2, color2, clear)
IndexError: list index out of range

any ideas? my wm (xmonad) should be included...

hmmm can you do:

ps -A | grep xmonad

copy paste the output please.

[syth@Imperium ~]$ ps -A | grep xmonad
3579 ?        00:00:05 xmonad-i386-lin

Yeah thats the problem with xmonad hmm

The actual name of the process varies so it throws me off, i'm still thinking of a way to fix it hmm

Offline

#24 2010-01-11 19:25:05

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: Archey

melik wrote:

Yeah thats the problem with xmonad hmm

The actual name of the process varies so it throws me off, i'm still thinking of a way to fix it hmm

pgrep xmonad.

Note the period as a wildcard in the end.

Offline

#25 2010-01-11 20:01:58

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Ramses de Norre wrote:
melik wrote:

Yeah thats the problem with xmonad hmm

The actual name of the process varies so it throws me off, i'm still thinking of a way to fix it hmm

pgrep xmonad.

Note the period as a wildcard in the end.

Regex slows the script down a lot, i'd rather stay away from it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB