You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-02 14:31:48

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

[SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Does anybody know why I can't login and keep getting this error message ? The tutorial I was following is http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PhpMyAdmin.

/etc/hosts

#
# /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
#

#<ip-address>    <hostname.domain.org>    <hostname>
127.0.0.1        localhost.localdomain    localhost arch

# End of file

/etc/rc.conf

#
# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux
#

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# LOCALIZATION
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# LOCALE: available languages can be listed with the 'locale -a' command
# HARDWARECLOCK: set to "UTC" or "localtime", any other value will result
#   in the hardware clock being left untouched (useful for virtualization)
# TIMEZONE: timezones are found in /usr/share/zoneinfo
# KEYMAP: keymaps are found in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps
# CONSOLEFONT: found in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts (only needed for non-US)
# CONSOLEMAP: found in /usr/share/kbd/consoletrans
# USECOLOR: use ANSI color sequences in startup messages
#
LOCALE="en_US.UTF-8"
HARDWARECLOCK="UTC"
TIMEZONE="Europe/Riga"
KEYMAP="us"
CONSOLEFONT=
CONSOLEMAP=
USECOLOR="yes"

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# HARDWARE
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# MOD_AUTOLOAD: Allow autoloading of modules at boot and when needed
# MOD_BLACKLIST: Prevent udev from loading these modules
# MODULES: Modules to load at boot-up. Prefix with a ! to blacklist.
#
# NOTE: Use of 'MOD_BLACKLIST' is deprecated. Please use ! in the MODULES array.
#
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
#MOD_BLACKLIST=() #deprecated
MODULES=()

# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM
USELVM="no"

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# HOSTNAME: Hostname of machine. Should also be put in /etc/hosts
#
HOSTNAME="arch"

# Use 'ifconfig -a' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available interfaces.
#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
# 
# DHCP:     Set your interface to "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
# Wireless: See network profiles below
#

#Static IP example
#eth0="dhcp"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(eth0)

# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
 
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network.d
#
# This now requires the netcfg package
#
#NETWORKS=(main)

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# DAEMONS
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network ufw  hal fam netfs crond httpd mysqld)

/etc/webapps/phpmyadmin/config.inc.php

<?php
/* vim: set expandtab sw=4 ts=4 sts=4: */
/**
 * phpMyAdmin sample configuration, you can use it as base for
 * manual configuration. For easier setup you can use setup/
 *
 * All directives are explained in Documentation.html and on phpMyAdmin
 * wiki <http://wiki.phpmyadmin.net>.
 *
 * @version $Id: config.sample.inc.php 13111 2009-11-09 15:02:21Z lem9 $
 * @package phpMyAdmin
 */

/*
 * This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password in
 * cookie
 */
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = ''; /* YOU MUST FILL IN THIS FOR COOKIE AUTH! */

/*
 * Servers configuration
 */
$i = 0;

/*
 * First server
 */
$i++;
/* Authentication type */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'arch';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
/* Select mysqli if your server has it */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysql';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = false;

/* rajk - for blobstreaming */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bs_garbage_threshold'] = 50;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bs_repository_threshold'] = '32M';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bs_temp_blob_timeout'] = 600;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bs_temp_log_threshold'] = '32M';

/* User for advanced features */
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'pmapass';
/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
/* Contrib / Swekey authentication */
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_swekey_config'] = '/etc/swekey-pma.conf';

/*
 * End of servers configuration
 */

/*
 * Directories for saving/loading files from server
 */
$cfg['UploadDir'] = '';
$cfg['SaveDir'] = '';

?>

Last edited by SemiBz (2010-02-02 22:35:47)

Offline

#2 2010-02-02 20:19:07

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

I think this line:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'arch';

is wrong, try localhost instead.

Doble check the username and password in this file (config.inc.php)

Offline

#3 2010-02-02 20:47:15

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

I already did that like 5 times. By default it's set to localhost - as I saw that error, according to the tutorial, I changed it to arch. The problem still persists and I can't access my server through phpMyAdmin ( everything works just fine from the command line ).

** config.inc.php .. which username and password ? There are none.

Offline

#4 2010-02-02 20:52:34

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Sorry for the username and passwords. I imagine you don't have a username and password to connect to mysql?
Maybe you can try the package lamp: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LAMP

Offline

#5 2010-02-02 20:59:03

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

I do have a username and password to connect to the MySQL server ( u: root, p: ***** ). The error doesn't come up right after I open phpMyAdmin - it appears after I enter the username/password and hit the login button.
As per the guides ( particularly the one you are referring to ) - that's the one I used to install everything.

What else I could have missed ?

Update: If I change the $i variable from 0 to 1, I can log in, though there are no databases. Mh .. Tried phpMyAdmin setup with various settings - still the same error message.

Last edited by SemiBz (2010-02-02 21:23:10)

Offline

#6 2010-02-02 21:26:50

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Try change this lines with the mysql user and password information:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'pmapass';

Offline

#7 2010-02-02 22:05:22

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Nothing changed - still in the same boat ..

Offline

#8 2010-02-02 22:15:39

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

If you don't bother have a mysql with password and user, try xmapp.
I think you avoid some headaches: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xampp

Offline

#9 2010-02-02 22:25:50

vaquerito
Member
Registered: 2008-04-09
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

tough I understand that I'm not helping particularly, same issue happened to me today after a system upgrade.
Yesterday I had no problem logging into mysql.

in  /etc/webapps/phpmyadmin/config.inc.php I have:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

but in /etc/mysql/my.cnf :

# Don't listen on a TCP/IP port at all. This can be a security enhancement,
# if all processes that need to connect to mysqld run on the same host.
# All interaction with mysqld must be made via Unix sockets or named pipes.
# Note that using this option without enabling named pipes on Windows
# (via the "enable-named-pipe" option) will render mysqld useless!
# 
skip-networking

If I comment out the skip-networking option the error in phpmyadmin login page disappears, still entering username and password does nothing.

Offline

#10 2010-02-02 22:35:12

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Changed the connection type from TCP to Socket and everything seems to be working now big_smile

Offline

#11 2010-02-03 13:56:18

vaquerito
Member
Registered: 2008-04-09
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

Was wrong then big_smile Happy it helped.

I solved it too, my problem was php not finding mysql socket file.
I had to explicitly declare it in /etc/php/php.ini

; Default socket name for local MySQL connects.  If empty, uses the built-in
; MySQL defaults.
; http://php.net/mysql.default-socket
mysql.default_socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock

I read that they changed path starting from 5.1.40 to be compliant with filesystem hierarchy standards, just don't know why mysql doesnt't pass it as its new default roll anyway, we got the fix.

Happy Arching

Offline

#12 2010-02-04 10:45:06

metromini
Member
From: Jakarta, Indonesia
Registered: 2005-08-02
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

@vaquerito: Thaaaaaankkk yooouuuu! you save my day! \:D/\:D/\:D/

Offline

#13 2010-02-04 15:01:27

SemiBz
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 80

Re: [SOLVED] phpMyAdmin - #2002 ( The server is not responding .. )

vaquerito wrote:

Was wrong then big_smile Happy it helped.

I solved it too, my problem was php not finding mysql socket file.
I had to explicitly declare it in /etc/php/php.ini

; Default socket name for local MySQL connects.  If empty, uses the built-in
; MySQL defaults.
; http://php.net/mysql.default-socket
mysql.default_socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock

I read that they changed path starting from 5.1.40 to be compliant with filesystem hierarchy standards, just don't know why mysql doesnt't pass it as its new default roll anyway, we got the fix.

Happy Arching

Thank you - that did the trick, too smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB