You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-04 01:18:54

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Hardware comparing...

Hey guys,

I have a little "lack of information" I'm hoping to get some clarifications on:

What would the performance difference be between my current Duron 700/256MBRAM and a Dual-Celeron 433/384MB RAM?

I know a little about SMP, so I already have an idea regarding applications that don't take advantage of SMP... but I'm pretty sure the ones I use would...

Offline

#2 2005-03-04 02:21:58

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

depends highly on your uses and applications.
Celerons, especially older ones, suck..alot..

Now, if you had a dual SPARC or something like that, it would fly around the room while compiling your front door.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-03-04 02:27:27

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

do you know if let's say Xorg has optimizations for SMP?

Offline

#4 2005-03-04 02:34:51

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

I don't know. It would seem logical that most of Xorg is dependent on your graphics card...and...SMP doesn't really do much for that..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-03-04 02:37:23

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

true
well... I'll probably try it over the weekend... and keep you guys posted...

Why I wanna go back is mostly because I like SMP... and my Abit BP6 has 4 IDE controllers... means 8 HD/cdroms tongue

Offline

#6 2005-03-04 03:32:28

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

What's up spongebob?  I really enjoy your cartoons, so I must preface my reply with a nagging question first.  In the episode of "Bubble Buddy", how did that one fish on the beach die from "high tide"?  I don't understand.  I thought you lived underwater to begin with.  Your cartoon is an enigma rapped inside a puzzle to me.  It's a good thing I have a beer in hand when I watch you on television.  Taking a 'sip is like hitting the reset switch on my computer case when I start to analyze your underwater environment...

Anyway, to answer your question Mr. Spongebob, I'd go with the "dualy" rig.  There were a few motherboards, like the Abit BP6 which supported "dualy" celerons, and SMP w/o hardware modification.  I had one of those rigs and it worked quite well.  The HPPT IDE controller is nice, but I only used 4 IDE devices on it.  Either way, the BP6 was a sweet mobo which you could overclock.  Furthermore, you could always drop 2 new Celeron CPUs (from eBay @ a minimal cost ~< $15 for 2) up to what the latest BIOS would support, overclock 'em, and still outperform the Duron 700.  I think the latest BIOS would support 533s.  However, you will need to "uncheck" something in the BIOS so it will not reset your CPU speeds if you overclock past 533.  I forgot what that option was.

My stock (non-OC'd) "dualy" 400's in the BP6 was on par with the P3-600 I had before it.  So, you have a lot of potential with your rig, and most importantly, with very little financial investment on your part, you can "stretch" your dollar even further...

Offline

#7 2005-03-04 03:54:25

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

Think I could find a mobo to use these with SMP?

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie … eName=WDVW

Offline

#8 2005-03-04 03:58:54

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

One thing that concerns me actually is if the BP6 will support my 200GB HD

Offline

#9 2005-03-04 05:17:34

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

dadexter wrote:

Think I could find a mobo to use these with SMP?

/edit/  haha...I just checked out that eBay link.  That's a good one... /edit/

I thought you were going to use the BP6 you alread had.  The BP6 is the creme de la creme...

Why waste money on something else?  You got yourself a "55-year old Bo Derek" already. There is a whole site dedicated to the BP6 (bp6.com I believe).  Shoot, I believe they even have their own BIOS microcode to give your HPPT IDE some Raid capability and even allow you to drop a P3 PPGA in there (with some modification).  How does a "dualy" P3-800 MHz BP6 sound to you?  I think they've done it...

I regret getting rid of my BP6 a long time ago.  If I were you, I'd turn that BP6 into a Linux Freakinstein box.

I thought you already had a BP6 with dual celerys in there.  If I were you, I'd have some "fun" with that rig.  I'd try to make it smoke...literally...by soldering iron or through their BIOS soft menu and OC'ing.  But, that's just me...

Offline

#10 2005-03-04 17:07:28

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

well I kinda switched back to the BP6 ahead of schedule... the chipset fan on my DFI (duron box) died... and I didn't wanna take a chance... at the same time, my VGA fan crapped out, but I replaced it with a fan from an old 486 tongue

so the plans might be on hold until I can find a new chipset fan, or if someone tells me it's not required, then I won't bother tongue

Offline

#11 2005-03-04 20:37:32

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: Hardware comparing...

New problem... much more fun than old ones

it would seem that with my BP6, whenever I use the NVidia driver, the system freezes whenever I start X (Xorg or XFree), the system freezes... with the generic nv driver, it works (without GL obviously)

So I just had an idea... since I can't use my videocard fully for the moment, I thought maybe I could put it aside, and stick to PCI ATI mach64 cards in there and try to setup dual head... now, has anybody ever done that?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB