You are not logged in.

#1 2010-05-01 02:46:25

bogamol
Member
Registered: 2010-04-28
Posts: 9

[solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)

This is the Broadcom README.TXT that I have been following in order to install the drivers for my wireless card. I also was using this wiki article

$ mkdir /home/rob/Downloads/hybrid_wl
$ cd /home/rob/Downloads/hybrid_wl
#su
Password:
# rmmod b43
# ls /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build
ls: cannot access /lib/modules/2.6.33-ARCH/build: No such file or directory
# tar xzf /home/rob/Downloads/hybrid*.tar.gz
# make clean
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` clean
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.33-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [clean] Error 2
# make
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.33-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2

I found something about kernel headers but I wasn't sure how to install them ( or even if it would be a good idea, since I would prefer not to mess with the kernel without knowing how to make menuconfig it and recompile it back to normal) . Anyway, how do I install lib/modules/2.6.33-ARCH/build?

Last edited by bogamol (2010-05-03 04:07:13)

Offline

#2 2010-05-01 07:26:40

tad
Member
Registered: 2006-12-08
Posts: 19

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

You're just compiling a module, right? If so, go ahead and do

pacman -S kernel26-headers

. You won't obliterate your existing kernel, but if things break, just don't load the module smile

Offline

#3 2010-05-01 09:32:57

bogamol
Member
Registered: 2010-04-28
Posts: 9

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

Thanks for your help, I'm now one step closer! smile

# make clean
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` clean
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.33-ARCH'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.33-ARCH'
[root@localhost hybrid]# make
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.33-ARCH'
  LD      /home/rob/hybrid/built-in.o
  CC [M]  /home/rob/hybrid/src/shared/linux_osl.o
In file included from /home/rob/hybrid/src/shared/linux_osl.c:19:0:
/home/rob/hybrid/src/include/linuxver.h:23:28: fatal error: linux/autoconf.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [/home/rob/hybrid/src/shared/linux_osl.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/home/rob/hybrid] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.33-ARCH'
make: *** [all] Error 2

hmm... I'll try and google that today, if I get a chance.

Offline

#4 2010-05-01 09:39:47

geniuz
Member
Registered: 2010-04-10
Posts: 127

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

Why aren't you just using the package from the AUR? It's much easier than compiling from source and makes it easier to rebuild the package in case of a kernel upgrade. Plus, the AUR package also tells you what dependencies the module has and pacman can automatically install them.

Offline

#5 2010-05-02 09:48:00

7x1x
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 34

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

Hi, I found this at http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … el-801660/

edit line 23 of src/include/linuxver.h

original:
#include <linux/autoconf.h>

change to read:
#include <generated/autoconf.h>

I haven't been able get it working on the 2.6.33 kernel yet.

Offline

#6 2010-05-02 10:20:01

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

Before you go any further with this - have you tried the b43 driver provided by the Arch kernel package? Support for more chipsets is being added to it all the time, and many 4312 users have had good results with it.

Offline

#7 2010-05-02 10:22:03

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

don't try to build modules manually. that is already packed in aur-> broadcom-wl-patched  but first try with b43

Last edited by wonder (2010-05-02 10:23:16)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#8 2010-05-03 01:06:50

bogamol
Member
Registered: 2010-04-28
Posts: 9

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

With b43 loaded, if I do sudo iwconfig -a it shows no wireless. but now with wl from the AUR package, I can at least get wlan0 tl show up. It wouldn't work with the FOSS drivers when I was using Gentoo, either.

Last edited by bogamol (2010-05-03 01:07:19)

Offline

#9 2010-05-03 04:06:49

bogamol
Member
Registered: 2010-04-28
Posts: 9

Re: [solved]Attempting to install wireless: No Dice, so far.

Solved now. Thanks for the advice about the AUR thing. I did look at the AUR file, but the link just sent me to the same place where I got the drivers to try and do the make dance. I am now wirelessly posting on bbs.archlinux.org from my big comfy red chair. w00t!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB