You are not logged in.

#1 2010-05-09 09:45:15

redhydralisk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-09
Posts: 5

PHP Options/Info Functions

Hi, I'm running Plugbox Linux http://plugapps.com/index.php5?title=Ge … :_Pogoplug which is a natively-compiled Arch Linux-based, full Linux system.

I am having some problems with some php scripts, and I think I've narrowed it down to some PHP Options/Info Functions not working properly.  Not 100% sure as I'm a noob at this.

This works great:

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>PHP Test</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <?php phpinfo(); ?>
    </body>
    </html>

However, when I try to run this, I get a blank screen:

   

<html>
    <head>
    <title>PHP Test</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <?php ini_get ('safe_mode'); ?>
    </body>
    </html>

And I get this in the apache error_log:

[notice] child pid 1075 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)

Any thoughts on what could be the issue?

Thanks.

Here's what I get on my phpinfo() page:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/f6va5v

Offline

#2 2010-05-09 15:44:55

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

Probably because the function is deprecated. http://php.net/manual/en/features.safe-mode.php

Last edited by n0dix (2010-05-09 15:45:15)

Offline

#3 2010-05-09 19:31:00

redhydralisk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

thanks for the reply.  tried it with file_uploads, and got the same result

<html>
<head>
<title>PHP Test</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php ini_get('file_uploads'); ?>
</body>
</html>

Offline

#4 2010-05-10 14:03:09

tindzk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-10
Posts: 25
Website

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

The PHP process segfaults. It's most certainly a bug.

Have you tried upgrading PHP? Perhaps PHP is misconfigured leading to a corner case?

Offline

#5 2010-05-10 19:15:18

redhydralisk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

I installed PHP using pacman and the steps on the LAMP page (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LAMP).  I have php 5.2.13 now.  To upgrade, can I still use pacman or do I need to install manually by compiling, etc?  A little daunting for me, but I can try (would this be the steps I'd need? http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.unix.php.

btw, thanks for your help

Last edited by redhydralisk (2010-05-10 19:15:39)

Offline

#6 2010-05-10 19:41:36

tindzk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-10
Posts: 25
Website

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

Yes, you can still use pacman for upgrading.

Offline

#7 2010-05-11 02:14:05

redhydralisk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

when i did a "pacman -Ss php" it showed only 5.2.13-1.  How do I get to a higher version with pacman?

Offline

#8 2010-05-11 14:39:47

tindzk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-10
Posts: 25
Website

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

redhydralisk wrote:

when i did a "pacman -Ss php" it showed only 5.2.13-1.  How do I get to a higher version with pacman?

Are you sure having the latest package listing on your disk?

$ pacman -Su

Perhaps the packages provided by your selected mirror are outdated?

Offline

#9 2010-05-11 16:25:24

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

Hello!

Current php package is 5.3.2-6 in extra.

Update your pacman database : pacman -Sy
Install new php package : pacman -S php

If you don't get last version, use another mirror by editing /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist.

You can use this page to know which mirrors had the last update:
https://www.archlinux.de/?page=MirrorStatus

@+

Offline

#10 2010-05-13 18:48:34

redhydralisk
Member
Registered: 2010-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: PHP Options/Info Functions

thx all, but apparently the updated php, it seems that only i686 and x86_64 are supported, not arm.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB