You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-30 08:29:33

wem
Member
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 43

Access windows network

hi.

at the moment my linux box is connected to the windows network and how to   access other computer in the workgroup/domain. ?]

Note : i am the only linux box on the network.... javascript:emoticon(':twisted:')
Twisted Evil

Offline

#2 2005-03-30 08:38:33

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Access windows network

Well, the obvious way to get into a windows network would be with a large rock..
*cough*

The non-obvious solution would be to use the samba client utilities.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-03-30 14:09:17

wem
Member
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 43

Re: Access windows network

how to use samba....any  simple tutorial or guide for to read...

Offline

#4 2005-03-30 14:46:59

Arn0
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-03-13
Posts: 49

Re: Access windows network

http://www.linuxhomenetworking.com/linux-hn/samba.htm

see also the tread about helpful sites for newbies
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=4016

or try google www.google.com

ps. you forgot the magic word


Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell 'em, 'Certainly I can!' Then get busy and find out how to do it.

Offline

#5 2005-03-30 14:54:31

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: Access windows network

wem wrote:

how to use samba....any  simple tutorial or guide for to read...

If using KDE just open Konqueror or Krusader and type in "smb:/winmachine" or whatever the name of the windows puter is. KDE has SMB modules included, no need to install the samba package at all.
For Gnome/XFCE I think a valid smb.conf is needed- not sure though, as I'm a KDE guy.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#6 2005-03-30 15:01:11

Arn0
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-03-13
Posts: 49

Re: Access windows network

I think scarecrow is right.. the 1st link i gave is about setting up samba so other users can acces your machine  .. still looking in the thread for usesfull newbie website might help

sry for the (perhaps) useless link


Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell 'em, 'Certainly I can!' Then get busy and find out how to do it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB