You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-16 18:31:15

x5x_tim
Member
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 86

Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Hi, I'm trying to set up my dual screens with the xorg.conf file.
I'm on a laptop, main screen should be 1400x900 and second should be 1280x1024.
When I start x with my second screen connected it only uses that one and uses a resolution not supported by it. That means I need to reboot blindly and detach the cable before I start x.
That's why my conf file needs to be good before I attach it.

This is what I have now:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor1"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultRefresh"         # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"     # [<bool>]
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "vesa"
    VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName   "RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]"
    BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
               Depth       24      #Color Depth
               Modes      "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"  #Resolution
       EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen1"
    Device      "Card0"
    Monitor     "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       1
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       4
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       15
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Unfortunately, when I startx (second monitor still detached for testing), xrandr tells me that the max for screen 0 is still 1152x864.
I was thinking I need a better driver, but the AUR tells me that catalyst isn't really stable. I'm on a ATI Radeon X1200.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

x5x_tim

Last edited by x5x_tim (2010-06-16 18:31:34)

Offline

#2 2010-06-16 20:35:03

Cyrusm
Member
From: Bozeman, MT
Registered: 2007-11-15
Posts: 1,053

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

First of all, I would suggest using the xf86-video-ati driver for your card over the vesa driver,
and then take a look at this wiki page, it helps with setting up dual-monitors using xrandr
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Xorg_RandR_1.2

Last edited by Cyrusm (2010-06-16 21:52:24)


Hofstadter's Law:
           It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.

Offline

#3 2010-06-16 23:57:25

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Definitely use xf86-video-ati. I use it along with my dual monitor setup and it works great --- except for the rotating of the screen sad
Install ati driver by

sudo pacman -S xf86-video-ati

It will probably conflict with your vesa driver and ask you if it would be ok to remove vesa. Say yes.

I issue the following command in my .xinitrc, before starting my WM

xrandr --output DVI-1 --auto --right-of DVI-0

Here's my xorg:

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "ATI Technologies HD2400XT Pro"
        Driver          "ati"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "DVI-0"
        Option          "DPMS" "true"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "DVI-1"
        Option          "DPMS" "true"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
       Identifier       "Default Screen"
       Device           "ATI Technologies HD2400XT Pro"
       Monitor          "DVI-0"
       DefaultDepth     24
   
       SubSection "Display"
           Depth                24
           Modes                "1680x1050" "1050x1680" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x720" "1280x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "720x400"
           # ADD A VIRTUAL LINE TO PROVIDE FOR THE LARGEST SCREENS YOU WILL HOTPLUG 
           Virtual              2960 2960 
       EndSubSection
EndSection

I had to manually add the 1680x1050 mode, because my second monitor only supports resolution uptil 1280x1024. So both my monitors got set at the highest resolution supported by either monitor (which was 1280x1024) if I did not have a xorg.conf file.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-06-19 18:42:50)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#4 2010-06-17 07:38:21

x5x_tim
Member
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 86

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Thanks, I'll try that.
(I should have mentioned that I followed the Beginners Guide and have the xf86-video-ati package installed.)
I think what happened with me was that X uses only my second screen on the resolution xrandr says is max for my main screen.

Offline

#5 2010-06-17 12:02:43

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

x5x_tim wrote:

Thanks, I'll try that.
(I should have mentioned that I followed the Beginners Guide and have the xf86-video-ati package installed.)
I think what happened with me was that X uses only my second screen on the resolution xrandr says is max for my main screen.

Well if you have installed xf86-video-ati, you are not using it since your xorg.conf lists vesa as the driver.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#6 2010-06-19 09:47:08

x5x_tim
Member
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 86

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Ah, so thát's why I get that crappy resolution

Offline

#7 2010-06-19 14:58:36

x5x_tim
Member
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 86

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Yeah, that was it, got it working now. Thanks!

Offline

#8 2010-06-19 17:20:09

ConnorBehan
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,359
Website

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Another way, if you don't want to run the xrandr command yourself is to add this in the "Device" section of xorg.conf:

Option      "Monitor-DVI-0"             "Monitor0"
Option      "Monitor-DVI-1"             "Monitor1"


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#9 2010-06-19 18:52:52

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

ConnorBehan wrote:

Another way, if you don't want to run the xrandr command yourself is to add this in the "Device" section of xorg.conf:

Option      "Monitor-DVI-0"             "Monitor0"
Option      "Monitor-DVI-1"             "Monitor1"

Tried this,but it doesn't set the correct resolution on my monitors. Also the right-of doesnt work. Both my monitors are cloned.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-06-19 18:55:49)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#10 2010-06-19 22:03:08

ConnorBehan
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,359
Website

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

You're putting "RightOf" in the "Monitor" section right?


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#11 2010-06-19 23:08:28

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

ConnorBehan wrote:

You're putting "RightOf" in the "Monitor" section right?

yes. Here's my new xorg:

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "ATI Technologies HD2400XT Pro"
        Driver          "ati"
        Option         "Monitor-DVI-0" "Monitor0"
        Option         "Monitor-DVI-1" "Monitor1"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "DVI-0"
        Option          "DPMS" "true"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "DVI-1"
        HorizSync      30.0 - 72.0
        VertRefresh    50.0 - 120.0
        Option          "DPMS" "true"
        Option         "RightOf" "DVI-0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
       Identifier       "Default Screen"
       Device           "ATI Technologies HD2400XT Pro"
       Monitor          "DVI-0"
       DefaultDepth     24
   
       SubSection "Display"
           Depth                24
           Modes                "1680x1050" "1050x1680" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x720" "1280x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "720x400"
           # ADD A VIRTUAL LINE TO PROVIDE FOR THE LARGEST SCREENS YOU WILL HOTPLUG 
           Virtual              2960 2960 
       EndSubSection
EndSection

Should the identifier be same as the one in the Device section?

EDIT : Tried

Option "Monitor-DVI-0" "DVI-0"
Option "Monitor-DVI-1" "DVI-1"

That didn't work either.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-06-20 04:41:14)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#12 2010-06-24 03:13:45

ConnorBehan
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,359
Website

Re: Display modes in X11 (Dual screen setup)

Yes, you want the identifers to be the same... and I think it's not working because you specify only one monitor in the screen section. Try changing the Monitor "DVI-0" line to Device "ATI Technologies HD2400XT Pro".

Last edited by ConnorBehan (2010-06-26 14:32:58)


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB