You are not logged in.

#351 2010-07-21 10:48:59

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: jumanji - a web browser

portix wrote:

@Army: I am not really sure what you mean, but maybe the latest revision (http://bitbucket.org/portix/stuff/src/8 … 2_hints.js) will do that.

Seems like you got it :-) And yes, it works! Really awesome, thnx!

Offline

#352 2010-07-21 13:17:02

karottenreibe
Member
Registered: 2010-07-21
Posts: 10
Website

Re: jumanji - a web browser

portix wrote:

I made a minor fix on my script.

I also fiddled with your script in an effort to make it work with uzbl and I have a diff for you, if you care to apply it:

6a7,8
> var last_input = "";
> var last_strings = [];
183,184c185,190
<   overlays.parentNode.removeChild(overlays);
<   hints.parentNode.removeChild(hints);
---
>   if (overlays && overlays.parentNode) {
>     overlays.parentNode.removeChild(overlays);
>   }
>   if (hints && hints.parentNode) {
>     hints.parentNode.removeChild(hints);
>   }
186a193
>   active = undefined;
217a225,239
> }
> function update(input) {
>   strings = input.split(" ");
>   if (input.length < last_input.length || strings.length < last_strings.length) {
>     // user removed a char => rerender
>     clear();
>     show_hints();
>     for (var i = 0; i < strings.length; i += 1) {
>       update_hints(strings[i]);
>     }
>   } else {
>     update_hints(strings[strings.length-1]);
>   }
>   last_input = input;
>   last_strings = strings;

1. it fixes the clear function so it can be called at any time without throwing errors if the overlay doesn't exist
2. it make the clear function also reset the active element (I needed that for uzbl so hitting return after an aborted hinting session wouldn't activate the still active element)
3. it wraps update_hints() with update(), which
  a) recognizes if the input got shorter and rerenders the hints
  b) splits the input on each space and applies each string seperately, thus emulating vimperators behaviour more closely (I like that one very much)

Greetz!

Offline

#353 2010-07-21 14:11:38

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: jumanji - a web browser

I have a problem accessing privoxy's configuration page. Here's the path:
- Go to config.privoxy.org
- Select "View & change the current configuration"
- For the file "/etc/privoxy/match-all.action" click on "Edit"
- Then click "Edit" again
Then there's an error message.

It works with every other browser, so it's no configuration fault (enable-edit-actions is set to 1)

Offline

#354 2010-07-21 15:08:24

syltman
Member
Registered: 2010-06-12
Posts: 39

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Hello I got 2 questions:

1. how can I open bookmarks?
2. where can I change the font / where's the config.h file?

Offline

#355 2010-07-21 15:35:37

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,847

Re: jumanji - a web browser

syltman wrote:

Hello I got 2 questions:

1. how can I open bookmarks?
2. where can I change the font / where's the config.h file?

1) No specific bookmarks dialog. If you do

:open <tab>

you'll get the full list.

2) config.def.h - it's used to generate the config.h file.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#356 2010-07-21 17:31:58

gogonkt
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 5

Re: jumanji - a web browser

skanky wrote:
syltman wrote:

Hello I got 2 questions:

1. how can I open bookmarks?
2. where can I change the font / where's the config.h file?

1) No specific bookmarks dialog. If you do

:open <tab>

you'll get the full list.

2) config.def.h - it's used to generate the config.h file.

try

make config.h

to generate config.h file smile

Last edited by gogonkt (2010-07-21 17:32:55)

Offline

#357 2010-07-21 17:33:47

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: jumanji - a web browser

syltman wrote:

Hello I got 2 questions:

1. how can I open bookmarks?
2. where can I change the font / where's the config.h file?

2) You don't need to change the config.h file everytime. You can change the fonts using the jumanjirc file

set font monospace normal 9

Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#358 2010-07-21 20:05:45

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Another question: I have set proxy 127.0.0.1:8118 in the jumanjirc. What do I have to enter into the commandline to disable it temporarly? I tried :set proxy <empty> and some others - mostly stupid - but really don't have a clue...

Offline

#359 2010-07-21 20:08:58

neldoreth
Member
From: AT
Registered: 2009-02-01
Posts: 212

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Hello,

Army wrote:

Another question: I have set proxy 127.0.0.1:8118 in the jumanjirc. What do I have to enter into the commandline to disable it temporarly? I tried :set proxy <empty> and some others - mostly stupid - but really don't have a clue...

Use ^p to enable or disable the proxy.

Best regards


pwmt.org : programs with movie titles

Offline

#360 2010-07-21 20:27:46

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Oh this is built in? Damn I haven't thought of that. Seems like I underestimate you wink Thanks for the information smile

Last edited by Army (2010-07-21 20:29:15)

Offline

#361 2010-07-22 01:04:52

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Go to Amazon.com. Click on Your Account on the top right corner.

jumanji segfaults

Jul 21 21:01:42 wolfdale kernel: jumanji[1855]: segfault at 0 ip (null) sp 00007fff05fba078 error 14 in jumanji[400000+11000]

Happens everytime. I am using the latest version as of 3-4 hours ago.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-07-22 01:06:20)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#362 2010-07-22 01:13:54

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Not to be a pain in the ass since neldoreth is re-working the hints, but as of now, when I hit f, I see the numbers on all links, but selecting any number takes me to a google search resultt page with the search condition being

fire;11

if 11 was the link I selected to go to.

Does anyone have the same issue.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-07-22 01:14:09)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#363 2010-07-22 09:46:15

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,556

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Inxsible wrote:

Not to be a pain in the ass since neldoreth is re-working the hints, but as of now, when I hit f, I see the numbers on all links, but selecting any number takes me to a google search resultt page with the search condition being

fire;11

if 11 was the link I selected to go to.

Does anyone have the same issue.

use portix's script instead, jumanji has been patched for it to be used and i *guess* your problem is coming from there. anyway, portix's script works great+has nice features (word matching)

Offline

#364 2010-07-22 14:12:47

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: jumanji - a web browser

@portix or @neldoreth -- will either of your hinting solutions support the letter combos like vimium does for chromium? Like 'sp' 'fj' 'a'  etc. I find that easier to use than the number hints or word following, especially on the Arch forums smile

Thanks!
Scott

Offline

#365 2010-07-22 14:46:42

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,847

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Inxsible wrote:

Not to be a pain in the ass since neldoreth is re-working the hints, but as of now, when I hit f, I see the numbers on all links, but selecting any number takes me to a google search resultt page with the search condition being

fire;11

if 11 was the link I selected to go to.

Does anyone have the same issue.

I had that issue, but as stated, portix's scripts solves it.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#366 2010-07-22 17:01:03

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Yup, I use portix's script now as well.

Can anyone confirm my segfault issue?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#367 2010-07-22 17:14:31

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,556

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Inxsible wrote:

Can anyone confirm my segfault issue?

http://omploader.org/vNTBmaA/am.png but I'm using webkit-git so that may be the reason...
jumanji 567b41b923d5f80482c39d51c16c98a15aef4d8b
webkit 9bfb32c0336b0009f4d12f38cff64c41df5415d9

Offline

#368 2010-07-22 17:16:32

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: jumanji - a web browser

bangkok_manouel wrote:
Inxsible wrote:

Can anyone confirm my segfault issue?

http://omploader.org/vNTBmaA/am.png but I'm using webkit-git so that may be the reason...
jumanji 567b41b923d5f80482c39d51c16c98a15aef4d8b
webkit 9bfb32c0336b0009f4d12f38cff64c41df5415d9

My workplace won't allow access to omploader as the Websense says   

The Websense category "Peer-to-Peer File Sharing" is filtered

But I will have a look at it later tonight from home.

Last edited by Inxsible (2010-07-22 17:16:43)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#369 2010-07-22 18:29:14

q0tsa
Member
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 39

Re: jumanji - a web browser

This just rocks! Can't believe that I didn't find this earlier.

As I see that you're currently redoing the hinting thing, maybe you could make it in a style similar to vimperator + the char-hints-plugin. When you enter hint mode and type something in lower case you can limit the hints to only those links that match your input. With upper case letters you can directly open a link. Numerical hints just don't work for me.

Anyway, thanks for this fine piece of software.

Offline

#370 2010-07-22 22:13:05

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Update: The latest revision now also supports letters. Setting "HINTSTYLE" to "letter" (default) will show up letters, all other values show up numbers.

Offline

#371 2010-07-22 22:32:04

q0tsa
Member
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 39

Re: jumanji - a web browser

I don't know if this has already been mentioned but undoing (e.g. reopening closed tabs) with 'u' like in vimperator would be a highly appreciated feature.

edit:
I was not able to map J to next tab and K to previous tab through the rc-file (I have it this way in vimperator and can't change this habbit wink), I tried:
map J tabnext
map J K tab next
map J gt

I ended up changing it in the config.h...

Last edited by q0tsa (2010-07-22 22:40:29)

Offline

#372 2010-07-22 23:11:21

invalido
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 17

Re: jumanji - a web browser

portix wrote:

Update: The latest revision now also supports letters. Setting "HINTSTYLE" to "letter" (default) will show up letters, all other values show up numbers.

Love it portix! Just one issue, whenever I use the hints to fill out a search field the hinting stays active after pressing the number/letters. Other than that this script + jumanji rock my world!

Offline

#373 2010-07-23 00:27:14

Hunner
Member
Registered: 2008-01-03
Posts: 12

Re: jumanji - a web browser

portix wrote:

Update: The latest revision now also supports letters. Setting "HINTSTYLE" to "letter" (default) will show up letters, all other values show up numbers.

Sweet. A note though, I changed my letters for Dvorak keyboard use but didn't use the entire keyboard, and some of the links show up as "undefined" (I guess because "if (length < 26) {" on line 112 assumes I use all 26 (I use "onetuhasidpgyf")). A fix:

112   if (length < letters_seq.length) {
113     text = letters_seq[i];
114   }
115   else {
116     text = letters_seq[parseInt(i/letters_seq.length)] 
117         + letters_seq[(letters_seq.length-1)-(i%letters_seq.length)];
118   }

Also for readability it would be nice if the hints used uppercase letters but accepted lowecase versions as input.

For anyone who wants more vimium-themed hints:

hint_foreground = "black";
hint_background = "yellow";
hint_border = "1px solid #e3Be23";
hint_opacity = 0.9;
hint_font_size =  "12px";
hint_font_weight = "bold";
hint_font_family = "Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, Arial, Sans";

Last edited by Hunner (2010-07-23 00:33:31)

Offline

#374 2010-07-23 00:38:15

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: jumanji - a web browser

Hunner wrote:
portix wrote:

Update: The latest revision now also supports letters. Setting "HINTSTYLE" to "letter" (default) will show up letters, all other values show up numbers.

Sweet. A note though, I changed my letters for Dvorak keyboard use but didn't use the entire keyboard, and some of the links show up as "undefined" (I guess because "if (length < 26) {" on line 112 assumes I use all 26 (I use "onetuhasidpgyf")). A fix:

112   if (length < letters_seq.length) {
113     text = letters_seq[i];
114   }
115   else {
116     text = letters_seq[parseInt(i/letters_seq.length)] 
117         + letters_seq[(letters_seq.length-1)-(i%letters_seq.length)];
118   }

Also for readability it would be nice if the hints used uppercase letters but accepted lowecase versions as input.

Fixed in the current revision. You can also use uppercase letters now.

Offline

#375 2010-07-23 06:37:22

q0tsa
Member
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 39

Re: jumanji - a web browser

@portix: your hinting script with char hints is really nice. I guess I can live with that.

Some other suggestions for jumanji:
- caret browsing with visual mode and vim motion commands to select and copy text without mouse (like in vimperator)
- open gvim from textareas with a keyboard mapping, refresh the content of the textarea after saving in gvim (inspired by vimperator again)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB