You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-02 21:21:45

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

[SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

Hi all, I need to install flashplugin on Firefox but im nhaving some problems.

I downloaded the plugin manually from abode, decompress it and place it in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins, where all other plugins are, but firefox stills tells me there is nothing there, why? All other plugins work as expected.

I have tried the solution on this post to no avail: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=54643

and yeah, I know that 64 bit flash has a vulnerability issue but i prefer that than having to install 32 bit flash with chroot or something like that.

thanks in advance for the help.

Last edited by 655321 (2010-08-05 22:47:56)


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

#2 2010-08-02 21:29:29

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

How were you able to get 64-bit flash from Adobe's site? I thought they stopped distributing it.

Why don't you simply try:
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=24851

Offline

#3 2010-08-02 21:36:48

mcmillan
Member
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 694

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

If you really want to try using the old flash that has the security vulnerability you can get the package off the arch rollback machine

I'm not having any problems using the nspluginwrapper, though that uses lib32 packages, which might fit into your category "chroot or something like that"

Offline

#4 2010-08-02 21:44:18

some-guy94
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 360

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=38184 works just fine here (exact same as the older flashplugin package)

Offline

#5 2010-08-02 22:32:43

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

itsbrad212 wrote:

How were you able to get 64-bit flash from Adobe's site? I thought they stopped distributing it.

Why don't you simply try:
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=24851

Well I figured my way wouldnt have to install dependencies ans its true, and if you hit the mozilla manual install you are directed to the 64bit download page, they have discontinued developing not distribution, the version with the vulnerability its still downloadable from adobe.

Also, can someone explain to me why simply copying/pasting into plugins dir doesnt work?

Last edited by 655321 (2010-08-02 22:37:20)


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

#6 2010-08-03 03:47:35

Proofrific
Member
Registered: 2008-01-05
Posts: 194

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

655321 wrote:

Also, can someone explain to me why simply copying/pasting into plugins dir doesnt work?

What directory are you pasting them into?  My plugins are in $HOME/.mozilla/plugins

Also, it's really a bad idea to use the old version of flash with the security vulnerability.  I mean, people are exploiting it, and you don't want your system to be compromised.  You should really consider installing 32-bit flash (see how to install nspluginwrapper-flash), but it's your call, of course.

Offline

#7 2010-08-04 02:20:55

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

Proofrific wrote:
655321 wrote:

Also, can someone explain to me why simply copying/pasting into plugins dir doesnt work?

What directory are you pasting them into?  My plugins are in $HOME/.mozilla/plugins

Thats for having the plugins loaded for ONE user, if you want it system-wide you have to paste it in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins.  I pasted it in there and didnt work (thats where all other plugins are)

Anyways, I will install the bin32-flashplayer-standalone from the AUR and test it for a while.


UPDATE: Just installed the bin32-flashplayer-standalone and it didnt work also. There must be something messing up with the plugin, I still cant see it in about:plugins page

I also noticed I dont have a plugins directory under my home folder. In ~/.mozilla I have only extensions and profiles folder.

Last edited by 655321 (2010-08-04 02:28:27)


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

#8 2010-08-04 10:31:06

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

Also, can someone explain to me why simply copying/pasting into plugins dir doesnt work?

My guess would be a problem with file permissions.

Anyway, I don't quite understand why you insist to copy & paste the flashplayerplugin, there are no advantages and you just litter the system. Installing the old flashplugin package from ARM as linked above gives you the exact same version; if you go with lib32, use nspluginwrapper-flash - it works well enough as said before and shouldn't have much more dependencies as -standalone.

Offline

#9 2010-08-05 22:47:37

655321
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 412
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Flashplugin 64 bit not recognized

hokasch wrote:

Also, can someone explain to me why simply copying/pasting into plugins dir doesnt work?

My guess would be a problem with file permissions.

Anyway, I don't quite understand why you insist to copy & paste the flashplayerplugin, there are no advantages and you just litter the system. Installing the old flashplugin package from ARM as linked above gives you the exact same version; if you go with lib32, use nspluginwrapper-flash - it works well enough as said before and shouldn't have much more dependencies as -standalone.

I didnt mind I was just curious to know the reason, Its not a permissions Issue cause I checked and all was setup like the archwiki stated. Nevermind then, I did install nsplugginwrapper-flash and its all working flawlessly now, Just needed to tweak some firefox settings to get the right click to work, its all stated here:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … bit_System

thanks for all the help


Linux user #498977
With microsoft you get windows and gates, with linux you get the whole house!
My Blog about ArchLinux and other stuff

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB