You are not logged in.

#276 2010-11-13 12:55:08

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: The i3 thread


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#277 2010-11-14 22:27:38

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 679
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Hi Guys, long time since I had something to ask in this thread.  I thought I would install i3-git to see whats new.  Trouble is I can't find out whats new (git not in official docs for obvious reasons)

Does anyone know goodies available in git?

Offline

#278 2010-11-15 08:19:43

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

http://code.stapelberg.de/git/i3/log/
You mean this?
Btw, can't wait for the new tree release. Need that container resizing working better than now (IMO now it's half useless).

Offline

#279 2010-11-15 10:41:53

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

Well Fernando and Michael were working hard on that this weekend so it should be in a usable condition in a couple of weeks.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#280 2010-11-15 16:12:39

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Hah, awesome! Thank you for the information, Atsutane! smile

Offline

#281 2010-11-16 02:36:17

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

hey just a quick question. What are the advantages of updating from git? will i still get the updates when i pacman -Syu if i pacman -S i3'ed to install i3? Also a side question: I read on i3's site that the git is the dev version so does that mean it will be more unstable?

Last edited by markbabc (2010-11-16 02:36:59)

Offline

#282 2010-11-16 07:29:01

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

The 'next' branch is currently really stable(i3-git uses this one), there'll probably be an bugfix release for the current version when the 'tree' branch is merged into the 'next' branch.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#283 2010-11-16 17:07:45

lordheavy
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 215

Re: The i3 thread

I've just upgraded libev from 3.9 to 4.0, so a rebuilt of i3-wm package was necessary..
They are in testing, feel free to test and report if it doesn't work.

Thanks

Offline

#284 2010-11-17 02:42:40

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

Atsutane wrote:

The 'next' branch is currently really stable(i3-git uses this one), there'll probably be an bugfix release for the current version when the 'tree' branch is merged into the 'next' branch.

ok so git clone git://code.stapelberg.de/i3 will install the "next" branch which is stable? Also will it overwrite my config files? (sorry for the ?'s i just have never updated this way and i dont want my install that i finally got working to break)

Offline

#285 2010-11-17 06:48:52

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

No, just use i3-git from AUR so you have nothing to do except using makepkg -s, Configuration files in your home won't be replaced and your is compatible to this one.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#286 2010-11-17 11:34:39

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

Atsutane wrote:

No, just use i3-git from AUR so you have nothing to do except using makepkg -s, Configuration files in your home won't be replaced and your is compatible to this one.

Ok cool, thanks for the help!

Offline

#287 2010-11-17 23:04:55

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

ok so an odd ? here but i just installed i3lock from the AUR and was looking in man i3lock and saw the -i (image) so i tried it out but it says

i3lock -i

i3lock: invalid option -- 'i'
i3lock: i3lock: Unknown option. Syntax: i3lock [-v] [-n] [-b] [-d] [-c color] [-p win|default] (compiled with NOLIBCAIRO)

when i give it -c it recognises it and shows this

i3lock: option requires an argument -- 'c'

btw in the man it clearly shows:

SYNOPSIS
    i3lock [-v] [-n] [-b] [-d] [-i image.png] [-c color] [-t] [-p pointer]

and it has -i, --image below to explain more.

so anyone know whats wrong?

Offline

#288 2010-11-18 02:37:20

HommeBarbu
Member
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 7

Re: The i3 thread

In order for the -c flag to work, you must pass it a color in the rrggbb form, where rgb are hexadecimal values, i.e. ff0000 for red or 7f5e00 for poop.
http://xkcd.com/color/rgb/

The i flag is in the man pages, but for some reason it doesn't look like it's working in arch at the moment... I found this https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/21034 article in the bugtracker, but it says it's resolved. Sorry, that's all I got.

Offline

#289 2010-11-18 02:40:25

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

HommeBarbu wrote:

In order for the -c flag to work, you must pass it a color in the rrggbb form, where rgb are hexadecimal values, i.e. ff0000 for red or 7f5e00 for poop.
http://xkcd.com/color/rgb/

The i flag is in the man pages, but for some reason it doesn't look like it's working in arch at the moment... I found this https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/21034 article in the bugtracker, but it says it's resolved. Sorry, that's all I got.

hi, ik that about the -c and in the i3 irc channel someone know how to fix it, u need cairo-git from the AUR and u need to delete a line from the PKGBUILD then everythings all good smile

Last edited by markbabc (2010-11-18 02:40:46)

Offline

#290 2010-11-18 10:02:55

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

The reason for this is quite simple: this summer the xcb support was removed from our libcairo so I had to write a patch to make i3lock usable again with Arch so I wrote a patch and it was upstream pretty soon. Now the only thing you're complaining here are the manpage says there is image functionality, this is simply caused by the precompiled manpages that come with the stable tarball and as it is defined with make if the image support has to be removed or not nothing's changed there.

However using i3lock --help clearly shows the available options, and except for the image support everything is available in the package. Sorry about that but including, modifying and recompiling the man pages from git is in my humble opinion too much workload if one simply compares the man page with the --help option.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#291 2010-11-19 02:11:18

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: The i3 thread

Atsutane wrote:

The reason for this is quite simple: this summer the xcb support was removed from our libcairo so I had to write a patch to make i3lock usable again with Arch so I wrote a patch and it was upstream pretty soon. Now the only thing you're complaining here are the manpage says there is image functionality, this is simply caused by the precompiled manpages that come with the stable tarball and as it is defined with make if the image support has to be removed or not nothing's changed there.

However using i3lock --help clearly shows the available options, and except for the image support everything is available in the package. Sorry about that but including, modifying and recompiling the man pages from git is in my humble opinion too much workload if one simply compares the man page with the --help option.

lol no worrys. sorry if it sounded like i was complaining, i was just confused and i thought i was building the package wrong or something

Offline

#292 2010-11-20 15:38:04

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: The i3 thread

FYI: I've switched i3bar-git to the -next branch, where it now supports setting some custom colors.

i3bar* does not yet support formatting in the displayed statusline. However it does support setting colors for the bar, the workspace-buttons and the statusline.

For now this happens with the following command-line-options:

*--color-bar-fg, --color-bar-bg, --color-active-ws-fg, --color-active-ws-bg, --color-inactive-ws-fg,  --color-inactive-ws-bg, color-urgent-ws-bg, color-urgent-ws-fg*

For each specified option you need to give a HEX-colorcode.

Be advised that this command-line-options are only temporary and are very likely to be removed, when we finally have a config-file.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#293 2010-11-20 15:44:20

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

Good to know, I just followed i3 development the last weeks.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#294 2010-12-06 17:08:25

Atsutane
Trusted User (TU)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

Today there was a PREVIEW release of the current main development branch -tree which will become the future -next branch (=main branch). For those using i3-git from AUR I recommend to simply switch the branch from next to tree (see lines  35 and 36)  and add 'libcursor' to the dependencys. For those who want the "stable" preview release I modified the i3-wm PKGBUILD:

# Maintainer: Thorsten Töpper <atsutane-tu@freethoughts.de>

pkgname=i3-tree
pkgver=pr1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="An improved dynamic tiling window manager - tree preview"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://i3.zekjur.net/tree/"
license=('BSD')
replaces=("i3-wm")
depends=('libxcursor' 'xcb-util' 'libev' 'yajl')
makedepends=('bison' 'flex')
optdepends=('rxvt-unicode: The terminal emulator used in the default config.'
            'dmenu: As menu.')
options=('docs' '!strip')
source=(http://i3.zekjur.net/downloads/${pkgname}-${pkgver}.tar.bz2)
md5sums=('4ecab2fb1ecea0d390846850e2243bf1')

build() {
  cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver"
 
  make
}

package() {
  cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver"

  make DESTDIR="$pkgdir/" install
 
  install -Dm644 man/i3.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3.1
  install -Dm644 man/i3-msg.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3-msg.1
  install -Dm644 man/i3-input.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3-input.1
  install -Dm644 LICENSE \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/licenses/${pkgname}/LICENSE
 
  make clean
}

# vim:set ts=2 sw=2 et:

I have not tested this PKGBUILD on a machine simply as I myself use the git version everywhere and had no time to check this with a VM, so I might have overseen some conflict/problem.

For further information see http://i3.zekjur.net/tree/ and http://t.zekjur.net/i3-tree.pdf

Last edited by Atsutane (2010-12-06 17:09:38)


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#295 2010-12-06 20:23:00

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,079

Re: The i3 thread

I have been using the i3-wm from the extra repo. But I guess I will switch tonight smile


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#296 2010-12-06 20:53:52

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Amazing!
But, how are things going using it with an old config file? Any problems? Do we need a new config file?

Offline

#297 2010-12-07 00:23:12

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 370

Re: The i3 thread

This is very nice! I've switched from wmii. It was quite easy.
However, does i3 no longer ship with a simple workspace_bar?


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#298 2010-12-07 05:47:42

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,079

Re: The i3 thread

by default you should have a workspace bar. You can disable it by adding

workspace_bar = no

in the config file.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#299 2010-12-07 09:41:58

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 370

Re: The i3 thread

I am using the tree branch. It seems that one might have to use i3bar

i3bar, get it from git.merovius.de

The problem is that external apps cannot get a hold of i3 using ipc. In my config I have got:

ipc-socket ipc-socket ~/.i3/ipc.sock

The log does not seem to reveal anything useful. . . Am I missing something obvious?


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#300 2010-12-07 09:53:37

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: The i3 thread

Pank wrote:

The problem is that external apps cannot get a hold of i3 using ipc. In my config I have got:

ipc-socket ipc-socket ~/.i3/ipc.sock

The log does not seem to reveal anything useful. . . Am I missing something obvious?

Is that also the actual location of the socket? Also external apps need to have it set in their configs as well i assume.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB