You are not logged in.

#601 2011-01-03 06:58:40

jimbok
Member
Registered: 2009-09-17
Posts: 51

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

add

@foldingathome-smp @foldingathome-gpu

to the DAEMONS line of your /etc/rc.conf


Registered Linux User #402088

Offline

#602 2011-01-03 07:16:15

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

jimbok wrote:

add

@foldingathome-smp @foldingathome-gpu

to the DAEMONS line of your /etc/rc.conf

Yea that's what I initially was thinking since it's how I'm starting the -smp client but I tried that initially for the -gpu client and it didn't work.  Anyway it's late and the return to work after a long 2 week holiday looms ever closer so I'll try it again tomorrow evening, now that the gpu client is working, and see what happens.  Once again I appreciate your advice.



Thanks.

Offline

#603 2011-01-05 01:27:59

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all,

I have added a new drive to the system and done another fresh install.  The GPU client worked out of the box (after adding nvcuda.dll to the client directory!) but after closing down and restarting the client began returning WU's just as before.  The log file showed the GuardedRun error as before.  I deleted the relevant files and folder and ran the client again, this time it began folding.

This client seems a little unstable when 'disturbed'.  I think I will have to refrain from playing pacman quite so often.

Anyhow, on 'our lass' says I can buy the PSU to restore the garage server to the glory it deserves (folding, web serving, streaming BBC programmes when I 'need a break from the house' and occasionally impressing the mates when they drop in).

If I had two 8800GT cards in an SLI capable board, would I simply run two instances of the GPU client?  Would the boards work in SLI configuration with a single GPU client?
The garage system is on an ASUS AMD 939 socket SLI motherboard.
Is it possible to run a GTxxx card with the 8800GT as separate entities for folding purposes?

A lot of questions I know, please forgive me.

Diesel1.

Last edited by diesel1 (2011-01-05 01:34:20)


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#604 2011-01-05 04:15:10

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

jimbok -  well I tried it one more time and it seems to work now.  I think I may not have been giving it enough time to start up.  My CPU client shows up in TOP right away but it takes a good 5 full minutes or so for the GPU client to show up.

Diesel1  - First with regard to the "unstable" client may I suggest you check the card out too?  This is why I say that: I've had horrible luck with the v6.3 GPU, even with a very stable 8800GTS.  I had excellent luck, with that card using the v6.2 GPU client, that was in my wife's PC which runs XP.  I recently upgraded her PC to an MSI 450 Fermi something card, and with that had to go back to the v6.3 GPU client.  Any time she opened another program without quitting the GPU folding client it was a guarantee the client would choke (usually too many EUE's I think) within the next 3-5 hours and require restart with complete loss of all work.  If she stopped the client first it could usually go a day or two before choking.  All the while my PC running Arch was chugging along without problems.  I've since moved that card out of my wife's PC and stashed it in my file server which runs Arch.  X is installed but not started and the card runs far better there but still chokes often enough to be a noticeable issue.  A few times I've gotten it back working again by just stopping and restarting the client.  As such I'm beginning to think it's the card so that's why I suggest not ruling out the card itself by assuming it's the client.

Regarding the multiple cards yes you should be able to run two dissimilar cards and there are many instances around the web of folks doing just that.  I've even seen where folks are claiming they're running an old G80 core card on the same PC where they're running a new Fermi core card.  That is in fact what I intend to do in the near future.  Unfortunately I have not yet attempted it myself so I can do little more than confirm others have claimed they have done it.  However I do understand it's similar to running multiple CPU clients on the same PC.

Offline

#605 2011-01-05 21:55:51

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

imatechguy wrote:

Diesel1  - First with regard to the "unstable" client may I suggest you check the card out too?  This is why I say that: I've had horrible luck with the v6.3 GPU, even with a very stable 8800GTS.  I had excellent luck, with that card using the v6.2 GPU client, that was in my wife's PC which runs XP.  I recently upgraded her PC to an MSI 450 Fermi something card, and with that had to go back to the v6.3 GPU client.  Any time she opened another program without quitting the GPU folding client it was a guarantee the client would choke (usually too many EUE's I think) within the next 3-5 hours and require restart with complete loss of all work.  If she stopped the client first it could usually go a day or two before choking.  All the while my PC running Arch was chugging along without problems.  I've since moved that card out of my wife's PC and stashed it in my file server which runs Arch.  X is installed but not started and the card runs far better there but still chokes often enough to be a noticeable issue.  A few times I've gotten it back working again by just stopping and restarting the client.  As such I'm beginning to think it's the card so that's why I suggest not ruling out the card itself by assuming it's the client.

Regarding the multiple cards yes you should be able to run two dissimilar cards and there are many instances around the web of folks doing just that.  I've even seen where folks are claiming they're running an old G80 core card on the same PC where they're running a new Fermi core card.  That is in fact what I intend to do in the near future.  Unfortunately I have not yet attempted it myself so I can do little more than confirm others have claimed they have done it.  However I do understand it's similar to running multiple CPU clients on the same PC.

Thanks for the info imatechguy.

Diesel1.


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#606 2011-01-11 02:15:43

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

The Arch Linux folding team now has 17 Millionaires.  Congratulations to dmartins on hitting the million point milestone.

Cheers

Pudge

Offline

#607 2011-01-11 08:30:38

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Great million dmartins!

Diesel1.


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#608 2011-01-11 21:39:26

dmartins
Member
Registered: 2006-09-23
Posts: 316

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Thanks guys!

I'm hoping to add a second system in to the mix soon. 2x 8600 GT cards and a dual core CPU. Just need to find an old case for it! :-)


-- Dan

Offline

#609 2011-01-25 13:10:58

jac
Member
From: /home/jac
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 431
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Just bought a new computer and didn't forget about you guys! I wasn't folding because I wanted to be easy on my only computer, a laptop.
I've been folding for a day or two again with the SMP client and just got the GPU client to work with dmartins's post #563. Thanks!

If anyone is interested, I have a HT quad core @3.4GHz (i7-2600) and an nvidia 580 GTX

Edit: I suppose I should ask, what is not safe to upgrade? nvidia things, wine, and xorg? I love to play pacman as much as the rest of us smile

Last edited by jac (2011-01-25 13:28:56)

Offline

#610 2011-01-25 17:39:18

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all, I'm a new member of ArchLinux team.

I have a passive NVIDIA 9500 GT and thus first I tried the folding@home CUDA client, but after a few seconds my system had an hard freeze (I had to click on "RESET" button). Then I switched to CPU client... (I have a Q9550).

:-(

Offline

#611 2011-01-29 23:51:25

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

The Arch Linux folding team has surpassed 100 Million points.

Congratulations and thanks to everyone who has contributed to that milestone over the years.

The only goal I have left is for the Arch folding team to be in the top 100 teams, but that will be very difficult.

Here's to the next 100 Million, and may we all be around to see it.  Cheers.

Pudge

Certificate

Last edited by Pudge (2011-01-30 00:05:21)

Offline

#612 2011-02-01 05:09:36

ArcherSeven
Member
From: Missouri, USA
Registered: 2009-08-02
Posts: 15
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Guess I just thought I'd I'd mention that I've been contributing for a week or so now, giving my new i7 a workout.

Offline

#613 2011-02-11 02:36:44

trn
Member
Registered: 2010-09-06
Posts: 16

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

In similar spirt to folding, I crunch for the World Community Grid and do use Archlinux on crunchers. http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?page … ame=666115

Offline

#614 2011-02-14 20:15:28

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Nice Million imatechguy!

Nice 2 Million atasmrk!

Diesel1.

Last edited by diesel1 (2011-02-14 20:17:33)


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#615 2011-02-14 22:45:32

naguz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 95

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I get the

[22:32:37] CoreStatus = C0000135 (-1073741515)

[22:32:37] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0xc0000135

[22:32:37] This is a sign of more serious problems, shutting down.

error after changing my graphic card from a GTX275 to a GTX460 (EVGA SC-version)

I got another error first (which I don't remember anymore), removed the foldingathome-gpu-nvidia along with the cuda-dependencies (with the -n option), deleted the fah-gpu folder in /opt, and installed everything again.

I know this somehow points to a missing .dll, but I believe I have the correct setup

/opt/fah-gpu/alpha folder I get the following output when running nvcuda.dll
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xf77b4000)
        libcudart.so.3 => /usr/lib32/libcudart.so.3 (0xf771d000)
        libwine.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libwine.so.1 (0xf75dc000)
        libm.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libm.so.6 (0xf75b6000)
        libc.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libc.so.6 (0xf746a000)
        libdl.so.2 => /usr/lib32/libdl.so.2 (0xf7465000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /usr/lib32/libpthread.so.0 (0xf744b000)
        librt.so.1 => /usr/lib32/librt.so.1 (0xf7442000)
        libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libstdc++.so.6 (0xf7354000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xf733a000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xf77b5000)

I noticed there was a wine update availible, hope this magically fixes something, but can't really see why it should.

edit: And of course, it didn't. I have not set up any .dll-files or symlinks manually, as the symlinks in plae seems to do what they should. Really can't see where I have gone wrong here.

edit 2: I copied the cudart32_30_14.dll and cufft32_30_14.dll symlinks from the /usr/lib32/wine/  into the /opt/fah-gpu/alpha/, and this seems to have done the trick. I gathered this form running the  Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe with wine in terminal, which told me

err:module:import_dll Library cudart32_30_14.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\opt\\fah-gpu\\FahCore_15.exe") not found
err:module:import_dll Library cufft32_30_14.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\opt\\fah-gpu\\FahCore_15.exe") not found
err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Main exe initialization for L"Z:\\opt\\fah-gpu\\FahCore_15.exe" failed, status c0000135

So it seems it checks the filename in another way now, as it worked very well before i reinstalled everything folding related, and maybe pulling in a new version of somethin in the process.

If someone else can eproduce this (fresh folding/cude/wine install requires the complete filenames) and wiki/aur package is updated acordingly, it'd save someone a lot of frustration in the future.

Last edited by naguz (2011-02-14 23:43:16)

Offline

#616 2011-02-15 02:29:34

jimbok
Member
Registered: 2009-09-17
Posts: 51

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I don't know if the FAH stuff installs correctly for fermi cards yet. 

I have been going to the install dir:

cd .wine/drive_c/Program\ Files\ \(x86\)/Folding\@home

and executing the command:

wine Folding\@home.exe -forcegpu nvidia_fermi &

manually.  I don't have the current updates though, so YMMV.


Registered Linux User #402088

Offline

#617 2011-02-16 02:49:51

naguz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 95

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

It works nicely with the symlinks copied in, and it also worked nicely before with another fermi card (GTX275).

Offline

#618 2011-02-16 21:58:31

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Thanks diesel1.  Looking forward to hitting that 2 million mark quickly once I get my wishy-washy vid card RMA'd.


naguz wrote:

edit 2: I copied the cudart32_30_14.dll and cufft32_30_14.dll symlinks from the /usr/lib32/wine/  into the /opt/fah-gpu/alpha/, and this seems to have done the trick. I gathered this form running the  Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe with wine in terminal, which told me

Try moving those .dll files up a folder level to /opt/fah-gpu.  That's where I have the GPU client installed on both my desktop and headless server and they run fine as long as I cd into that directory before starting the client.  Perhaps there was a hickup during the install process that a re-install would correct?

Offline

#619 2011-02-20 20:37:20

naguz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 95

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Tried reinstalling it three times, so I doubt that. The install only symlinks to cudart.dll, and it seems like they need to have version names included now.

Last edited by naguz (2011-02-20 21:01:40)

Offline

#620 2011-02-22 19:42:30

quad3d@work
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 81
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I saw we fell down like 2 ranked places... I added few more Dell R410s/R510s/R710s temporary to crunch for the team. Hope it helps out!
(Those can go out at any time... depending on my on-hand projects status. smile )


I *may* have some spare IBM x336s sitting around. I'll look and see if I can use them for F@H Arch Linux.

Last edited by quad3d@work (2011-02-22 19:47:04)

Offline

#621 2011-02-23 02:12:34

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

quad3d@work wrote:

I saw we fell down like 2 ranked places... I added few more Dell R410s/R510s/R710s temporary to crunch for the team. Hope it helps out!

quad3d@work;

Every little bit helps out.  The lowest the Arch Linux Team has ever been is either 114th or 113th place, I can't remember which for sure.  Ever since then we have been fluctuating between 115th and 119th. 

When I first started folding for the Arch Linux Team, we were number 888.  Extreme Overclocking .com only shows the first 800 teams, so we couldn't even check out the neat stuff they have to offer.

The Arch folding team has come a long way since then.

Pudge

Offline

#622 2011-02-28 09:44:53

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I made my first 10.000 points big_smile

Offline

#623 2011-03-05 00:28:55

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Nice 10K trapanator, keep up the good work.

Diesel1.


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#624 2011-03-30 22:46:55

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 203

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all,

I was recently given an ASUS A9N Platinum SLi motherboard and Cooler Master 430W PSU.  I purchased a BFG 9800GTX+ OC from Ebay for £50 to use a GPU client on, I may get another later or a different nVidia card to run in the spare pci-e slot if someone can verify running two different cards at once (in Arch Linux)!

I have put an AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ CPU in and it is running two SMP clients.

The GPU client seems stable so far.

All the best,

Diesel1.

Last edited by diesel1 (2011-03-31 00:50:51)


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#625 2011-04-06 20:35:03

quad3d@work
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 81
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

We dropped 3 places in past 7 days.... sad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB