You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-22 20:14:46

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

i3 seems to be the new tiling WM on the block, and quite a solid one at that.
While I've just begun tinkering with it, I figured it might be good to have a thread i3 users can share their screenshots and possibly also configuration details, so that newer users can benefit from it.
After all, it's pretty damn hard to search the forum for 'i3'!  Not so much a general discussion thread, there's one already around for that.

I've got nothing myself (yet), but if you have an i3 at least slightly different than out-of-the-box, please share smile
The below is shamelessly ripped from the daily screenshot thread.


* DO NOT post full resolution screenshots!  You can use the "mogrify" command (pacman -S imagemagick) to make a thumbnail of your screenshot:

$ cp screenie.png thumb-screenie.png
$ mogrify -resize 20% thumb-screenie.png

Twenty percent of the original size is great for 1024x768 screenies. For bigger sizes (and especially for multi-monitor setups), we ask you to keep in mind not everyone uses broadband, and use an even smaller size (10% of a Full HD setup will still be 192x180, for example).  You can then upload these images to your server and use the following code to show them on the forum:

[url=http://my.site.com/screenie.png][img]http://my.site.com/thumb-screenie.png[/img][/url]

* Several websites also offer free image hosting. Here are some that supports thumbnails:
Omploader | ImageShack | xs.to | iPICTURE | ImageHosting | Imagebam

Use the "Thumbnail for forums" link code that is supplied by the image hosting sites to post your thumbnail link.
Although, try to avoid imageshack. Its a pain in the you know where.

NOTE: full-size screenshots and resized images will be deleted by the moderators.

* If the screenshot has questionable material that might not be safe to view while at work or in a school setting, please post only a link and not a thumbnail, along with a mention of "Not Safe for Work". Posts that do not adhere to this are subject to deletion without notice at any time.
* Please try to include any links to your wallpaper or configs that you may have and/or the names of your icon theme, running apps, DE, etc. in the same post to reduce unnecessary clutter later.

Last edited by Ranguvar (2010-08-23 04:04:52)

Offline

#2 2010-08-22 20:20:43

alexandrite
Member
Registered: 2009-03-27
Posts: 326

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Offline

#3 2010-08-22 20:47:06

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Please continue your discussion in the thread above smile.

Edit: reopening, Ranguvar's gonna turn it into a screenshot & related configurations thread.

Last edited by .:B:. (2010-08-23 01:32:32)


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#4 2010-08-31 20:56:32

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Clean:
2010-08-31_i3Clean.png


Dirty:
2010-08-31_i3Dirty.png

Standard i3. Conky piped via dzen2, stalonetray. Wallpaper was self-made from the arch logo on the top left of this page.

Offline

#5 2010-08-31 21:52:33

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Clean:
2earoro.jpg

Dirty:
33b1ugh.jpg

Used: Conky, i3-wsbar/dzen2, URxvt running Ranger, irssi+bitlbee and a tailing script.

i3-config: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=ppsXzRF4
conky through dzen2: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=XJK6p3Gu
zixpk wallpaper: http://www.zixpk.com/2009/04/plusattack-wallpaper.html

Offline

#6 2010-08-31 22:43:37

Ogion
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-12-11
Posts: 367

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Clean:

bec39695714378.jpg

'Busy' (It's a netbook, what kind of 'busy do you expect?)

21557d95714380.jpg

(config files in my signature)
Ogion


(my-dotfiles)
"People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." - Benjamin Franklin
"Enlightenment is man's leaving his self-caused immaturity." - Immanuel Kant

Offline

#7 2010-09-01 03:18:03

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,079

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

i3 config

bind Mod1+23 nw
bind Mod1+Shift+23 pw

bindsym Mod1+t bn
bindsym Mod1+y bp
bindsym Mod1+u bb
bindsym Mod1+b bt

#bindsym Mod4+c exec ~/.config/scripts/togglei3bar
new_window bp
#workspace_bar no 

workspace 1 main
workspace 2 chat
workspace 3 web
workspace 4 code
workspace 5 music
workspace 6 chrome
workspace 7 fox


exec xbindkeys -f ~/.config/xbindkeys/.xbindkeysrc
exec conky -c ~/.config/conky/.conkyrc
exec urxvt -e screen -c ~/.config/screen/.screenrc

assign gimp → ~ 
assign skype → 2 
assign "xv/MPlayer" → ~
assign deadbeef → ~
assign lxappearance → ~
assign jumanji → 3
assign chromium → 6
assign Navigator → 7

201008312316092960x1050.th.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#8 2010-11-02 14:54:34

q0tsa
Member
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 39

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

kcirick wrote:

[...]
Standard i3. Conky piped via dzen2, stalonetray. Wallpaper was self-made from the arch logo on the top left of this page.

May I ask how you got stalonetray "floating" above dzen2? It always takes an extra line above dzen2 for me...

Offline

#9 2010-11-19 04:37:34

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

q0tsa wrote:

May I ask how you got stalonetray "floating" above dzen2? It always takes an extra line above dzen2 for me...

Sorry for quite a delayed response. I was away for a couple of months...

What I did to avoid that situation is to execute stalonetray first, then force the dzen2 to overlap the stalonetray area, but not all the way (in dzen2 you can specify the size using "-w" and "-h" arguments then place it with "-x" and "-y" arguments). I hope that answers your questions.

Also, since I have a new screenie, I'll post it now (not using system tray anymore):

2010-11-18-231722_1280x800_scrot.png

Offline

#10 2010-11-19 22:53:17

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

kcirick wrote:
q0tsa wrote:

May I ask how you got stalonetray "floating" above dzen2? It always takes an extra line above dzen2 for me...

Sorry for quite a delayed response. I was away for a couple of months...

What I did to avoid that situation is to execute stalonetray first, then force the dzen2 to overlap the stalonetray area, but not all the way (in dzen2 you can specify the size using "-w" and "-h" arguments then place it with "-x" and "-y" arguments). I hope that answers your questions.

Also, since I have a new screenie, I'll post it now (not using system tray anymore):

can you post ur config's? also how did you get rxvt get to look like that?

Offline

#11 2010-11-20 04:16:02

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

The below is the config code. I've been meaning to put it on my git-hub, but never got around to it... I will eventually. The rxvt window is nothing special.. Just have it floating and then resized it to my liking... Or are you asking for my PS1 prompt?

## Font
##------
# ISO 10646 = Unicode
font -misc-fixed-medium-*-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

## Window border style
##---------------------
# bn: border normal, with window title bar
# bp: border only, no window title bar
# bb: no border or window title bar
new_window bp

## Colours
##---------
#colourclass                border    bckgrnd    text
client.focused                #1793D0    #1793D0    #FFFFFF
client.focused_inactive    #333333    #333333    #999999
client.unfocused            #333333    #333333    #999999
client.urgent                #FF0000    #8C5665    #FF0000
bar.focused                    #1793D0    #1793D0    #FFFFFF
bar.unfocused                #333333    #333333    #999999
bar.urgent                    #FF0000    #000000    #FF0000

## Startup Programs
##------------------
exec conky | dzen2 -bg black -fg white -fn -misc-fixed-medium-*-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-*-* -p -w 550 -h 16 -x 7
30 -y 784 -ta r &

## Program Shortcuts
##-------------------
# Mod1+Shift+Enter starts a new terminal
bind Mod1+Shift+36 exec urxvt

# Mod1+Shift+w starts a web browser (chromium)
bind Mod1+Shift+25 exec chromium

# Mod1+Shift+q kills the current client
bind Mod1+Shift+24 kill

## Tiling Layouts
##----------------
# Toggle tiling/floating of the current window (Mod1+Shift+Space)
bind Mod1+Shift+65 t

# Use Mouse+Mod1 to drag floating windows
floating_modifier Mod1

# Fullscreen (Mod1+f)
bind Mod1+41 f

# Stacking (Mod1+h)
bind Mod1+43 s

# Tabbed (Mod1+w)
bind Mod1+25 T

# Default (Mod1+e)
bind Mod1+26 d

# Go into the tiling layer / floating layer, depending on whether
# the current window is tiling / floating (Mod1+t)
bind Mod1+28 focus ft

# Focus (Mod1+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod1+44 h
bind Mod1+45 j
bind Mod1+46 k
bind Mod1+47 l
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod1+Left h
bindsym Mod1+Down j
bindsym Mod1+Up k
bindsym Mod1+Right l

# Focus Container (Mod3+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod3+44 wch
bind Mod3+45 wcj
bind Mod3+46 wck
bind Mod3+47 wcl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod3+Left wch
bindsym Mod3+Down wcj
bindsym Mod3+Up wck
bindsym Mod3+Right wcl

# Snap (Mod1+Control+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod1+Control+44 sh
bind Mod1+Control+45 sj
bind Mod1+Control+46 sk
bind Mod1+Control+47 sl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod1+Control+Left sh
bindsym Mod1+Control+Down sj
bindsym Mod1+Control+Up sk
bindsym Mod1+Control+Right sl

# Move (Mod1+Shift+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod1+Shift+44 mh
bind Mod1+Shift+45 mj
bind Mod1+Shift+46 mk
bind Mod1+Shift+47 ml
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Left mh
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Down mj
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Up mk
bindsym Mod1+Shift+Right ml

# Move Container (Mod3+Shift+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod3+Shift+44 wcmh
bind Mod3+Shift+45 wcmj
bind Mod3+Shift+46 wcmk
bind Mod3+Shift+47 wcml

# Workspaces (Mod1+1/2/…)
bind Mod1+10 1
bind Mod1+11 2
bind Mod1+12 3
bind Mod1+13 4
bind Mod1+14 5
bind Mod1+15 6
bind Mod1+16 7
bind Mod1+17 8
bind Mod1+18 9
bind Mod1+19 10

# Workspace Names
workspace 1 Main
workspace 2 Web
workspace 3 Grid
workspace 4 Root
workspace 5 Misc

# Move to Workspaces
bind Mod1+Shift+10 m1
bind Mod1+Shift+11 m2
bind Mod1+Shift+12 m3
bind Mod1+Shift+13 m4
bind Mod1+Shift+14 m5
bind Mod1+Shift+15 m6
bind Mod1+Shift+16 m7
bind Mod1+Shift+17 m8
bind Mod1+Shift+18 m9
bind Mod1+Shift+19 m10

# Assign workspaces
assign "chromium"    2

# Mod1+v starts dmenu and launches the selected application
# for now, we don't have a launcher of our own.
bind Mod1+55 exec /usr/bin/dmenu_run

# Mod1+Shift+e exits i3, Mod1+Shift+r restarts i3
bind Mod1+Shift+26 exit
bind Mod1+Shift+27 restart

# The IPC interface allows programs like an external workspace bar
# (i3-wsbar) or i3-msg (can be used to "remote-control" i3) to work.
ipc-socket ~/.i3/ipc.sock

Offline

#12 2010-11-20 04:30:24

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

not sure what its called (im new to rxvt) but on yours it has xxx@hostname and then it goes down one, i read the man pages but didnt find anything related to that or called PS1

EDIT: Grammer

Last edited by markbabc (2010-11-20 04:31:22)

Offline

#13 2010-11-20 06:51:30

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,385
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

That is his PS1 - see here for a whole lot of different examples https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=50885


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#14 2010-11-21 02:40:11

markbabc
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 157

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

ohhhh i didnt see that in my .bashrc when i was putting my alias's in there. well thanks for the link to that thread, it helped alot!

Offline

#15 2010-11-22 22:49:35

q0tsa
Member
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 39

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

kcirick wrote:

Sorry for quite a delayed response. I was away for a couple of months...

What I did to avoid that situation is to execute stalonetray first, then force the dzen2 to overlap the stalonetray area, but not all the way (in dzen2 you can specify the size using "-w" and "-h" arguments then place it with "-x" and "-y" arguments). I hope that answers your questions.

Also, since I have a new screenie, I'll post it now (not using system tray anymore):
[...]

Thanks a lot! Works nicely for me. (I never really managed to get rid of a systray...)

Offline

#16 2010-12-16 20:09:53

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Here's my clean, new i3 desktop
tNmxjNg
and with it a little bit busy
tNmxjYQ

Last edited by moetunes (2010-12-16 20:13:04)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#17 2011-01-01 09:14:05

tube66
Member
Registered: 2009-11-16
Posts: 5

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

201102010213101600x900s.th.png

201102010219391600x900s.th.png


Edit: little update

Last edited by tube66 (2011-02-01 00:23:50)

Offline

#18 2011-01-29 06:32:42

B-Con
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 553
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Conky, dzen2, and trayer. The theme started black + silver, but has morphed into something black + grey + Arch blue.

Clean:
desktop-20110128-clean-thumbnail.jpg

Busy:
desktop-20110128-busy-thumbnail.jpg

I can't find a better way to do the bottom bars, and I haven't seen anyone else who has. I hate wasting an entire row to just the tray, but I can't combine said tray with the bottom i3 bar. I've tried living without it, but I'd rather just pay the 25 pixels to have it.

Offline

#19 2011-01-29 07:43:29

broken pipe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 216

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

B-Con wrote:

Conky, dzen2, and trayer. The theme started black + silver, but has morphed into something black + grey + Arch blue.

Clean:
http://bradconte.com/files/images/personal/desktop-20110128-clean-thumbnail.jpg

Busy:
http://bradconte.com/files/images/personal/desktop-20110128-busy-thumbnail.jpg

I can't find a better way to do the bottom bars, and I haven't seen anyone else who has. I hate wasting an entire row to just the tray, but I can't combine said tray with the bottom i3 bar. I've tried living without it, but I'd rather just pay the 25 pixels to have it.

mind sharing your conkyrc and i3 config? looks really great and i'm stll looking for a conky config which integrates well into the i3 bar smile

Offline

#20 2011-01-29 08:21:51

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

B-Con and broken pipe posts merged with screenshots thread.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#21 2011-01-29 11:04:57

akill
Member
From: /BiH /Tuzla
Registered: 2010-03-11
Posts: 6

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

tNzc4bg

i3, conky-cli | dzen2  <3

PS .conkyrc from archwiki/i3

Last edited by akill (2011-01-29 11:11:51)

Offline

#22 2011-01-29 16:54:39

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

B-Con wrote:

I can't find a better way to do the bottom bars, and I haven't seen anyone else who has. I hate wasting an entire row to just the tray, but I can't combine said tray with the bottom i3 bar. I've tried living without it, but I'd rather just pay the 25 pixels to have it.

Looks good. I can't live without the systray either. I've managed to have all of them in one row using i3-wsbar (not the default workspace_bar). Here are the steps I think I took to achieve this (I don't use i3 anymore, so I can't check it)
1. Start trayer first
2. Start i3-wsbar and pipe into dzen.
3. The dzen should not be docked. Instead, have the dzen overwrap with the trayer using x and y arguments. Make sure the width of the dzen layer is a little bit less than the screen width so that it doesn't hide the trayer icons.

The result is something like this:
2010-09-16-230844_1280x800_scrot.png

Let me know if it works, or ask again if it doesn't work

Offline

#23 2011-02-05 19:36:15

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

My latest screen:
2011-02-05-103243_1280x800_scrot.png

I got my hands on the source code. Hacked it to have the bar on top and make docked app (in this case stalonetray) line up with the bar. I also altered the code so that the tags don't have numbers (since I use numbers as tag names). The status is conky + dzen2 the traditional way.

Offline

#24 2011-02-05 20:51:04

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

The bar no the top! That's awesome! Any tips on how to do it?

Last edited by archman-cro (2011-02-05 20:51:27)

Offline

#25 2011-02-05 23:24:18

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

If you don't have a docked client, it's fairly simple. You just need to change two lines:
src/randr.c: ln181
from

output->rect.y + output->rect.height - (font->height + 6),

to

output->rect.y

and in src/layout.c: ln 698
from

yoffset[cols] = r_ws->rect.y;

to

yoffset[cols] = r_ws->rect.y + (font->height +6);

This may not work if you are using external bar (most likely won't), but you can play around. I hope this helps!

Last edited by kcirick (2011-02-05 23:26:22)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB