You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-20 05:33:39

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

Okay, i FINALLY have cable internet...and i just realized I don't know how to set it up....i've never been in the situation before...can any of you give me some resources?

.:title edited by dibblethewrecker:.

Offline

#2 2005-05-20 07:05:53

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

you're asking us for resources? how about you give us some too smile

how does the cable modem connect?

if it connects via ethernet then you can just setup eth0 or whatever your ethernet card is, to get an ip with dhcp in your rc.conf.

Offline

#3 2005-05-20 14:39:14

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

Yes, I have looked through the wiki and found some resources, but some have been a bit unclear and I am obviously quite a newbie in this respect.  I even tried the Gentoo docs, but I don't have some of the resources mentioned in those pages (ie net-setup).  Anyway here is some information:

Cable Modem - Webstar DPC2100 Series

No router--directly from modem (although I will buy one today)

Connecting through ethernet--not usb

Running Arch of course

Offline

#4 2005-05-20 15:31:49

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 464

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

Culled from the Arch wiki pages:

http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Cable-Modem/index.html

Offline

#5 2005-05-21 03:13:53

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,436
Website

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

ok - fair effort at a title change but I added a bit - please remember that the reason for this is to attract users with the same equipment or useful experince to your thread - not because we like being mean

Offline

#6 2005-05-21 17:53:32

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

Okay, I'm using an onboard ethernet NIC.  I tried using the ubuntu live cd, but it won't automagically set up my network either. 

I figured out my LAN card isn't even detected by my router so I'm using onboard NIC for the time being...my router detects that one.

By the way I got a router....it is a LinkSys Wireless-G Broadband Router--model WRT54G.  But I'm not using the wireless portion on it.  My girlfriends computer is hooked up to it with windows, and it connects fine.

I'm still not having much luck.  I went to that cable-modem howto in wiki, followed it to tdlp's DHCP mini-howto...it makes reference to a script called /etc/rc.d/inet...I don't have that one...should I?

I would still appreciate any advice from you guys...thank you in advance.

Offline

#7 2005-05-22 09:46:32

MaceM
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2003-11-26
Posts: 47

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

my cable provider uses a MAC based authorisation.
so if your ISP provided you with a ethernet card you should use this card and connect the cable modem to it.

then read out the MAC adress of your eth0 with ifconfig
the output should look something like this:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:FF:FF:FF
          inet addr:192.168.1.3  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0

HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx <- the mac adress
then enter the mac adress on your WRT54G - there's a option for MAC Spoofing somewhere in the menu.

good luck smile

Offline

#8 2005-05-22 20:01:09

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

I don't think i know how to do that.  I tried something like this

sudo ifconfig eth0 hw <MAC>

where <MAC> was the routers mac address

if gave me an error message saying that the device was busy....How should I be doing this?

Offline

#9 2005-05-23 20:00:22

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Help setting up Webstar Cable Modem internet connection

It seems that I've made some progress with this...I took the NIC out of my PIII, and it is detected by the router.  I put in the live Ubuntu CD and it automatically set up my internet connection. 

My problem now, if I do this in Arch:

>ifconfig eth1

I get an error that says the device can not be found.  Uncool.  if I look at eth0 it gives me the HWaddr of my onboard NIC.  How can I get this device working properly?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB