You are not logged in.

#151 2011-05-15 16:19:17

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Actually I was never able to reproduce this bug, it just happens with bash, so I assume you are using bash too, right? What other key combinations aren't working properly and you are sure you haven't accidently overwritten theses combinations in your config?

Offline

#152 2011-05-21 12:54:48

Varg
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-07-07
Posts: 272

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Allright I picked up subtle again smile

I have two issues:
I try to set ncmpcpp to a tag named music and put it on the view media. I launch it with the following grab:
grab "W-C-m", "urxvt -name ncmpcpp -e ncmpcpp"

the music tag has:
match :instance "ncmpcpp" and it puts ncmpcpp on the media view but it also keeps showing up in my terms view and for that one I have:
exclude "ncmpcpp" ( I tried with :instance, :role, :name, :class )
match "urxvt"

I tried a lot of different combinations but ncmpcpp keeps showing up on my terms view. It worked before but I lost my old subtle config and can't figure out how I did it.

Second thing:

I'd like to switch clients with the H,J,K,L keys but when the focussed client is a urxvt terminal with vim running it doesn't work. Vim sees it as h,j,k,l commands. It works fine with other terminal or non terminal apps.

I've used AwesomeWM before and I never noticed this behaviour so it might have something to do with subtle.

I'm using subtle-hg


Thanks in advance and keep up the good work !

Offline

#153 2011-05-21 18:18:50

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Varg wrote:

I tried a lot of different combinations but ncmpcpp keeps showing up on my terms view. It worked before but I lost my old subtle config and can't figure out how I did it.

Please read following news and FAQ entry:

http://subforge.org/news/39
http://subforge.org/ezfaq/show/subtle?faq_id=15

Varg wrote:

I'd like to switch clients with the H,J,K,L keys but when the focussed client is a urxvt terminal with vim running it doesn't work. Vim sees it as h,j,k,l commands. It works fine with other terminal or non terminal apps.

I've used AwesomeWM before and I never noticed this behaviour so it might have something to do with subtle.

Do you use the keys in combination with any modifier? If not you can't blame subtle for not overriding keys like awesome obviously does. Key stuff in subtle is a passive grab of the real keys to prevent any override.

Varg wrote:

Thanks in advance and keep up the good work !

Thanks I will try. wink

Offline

#154 2011-05-22 09:18:38

Varg
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-07-07
Posts: 272

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

unexist wrote:

Brilliant, that worked, thanks a lot.

unexist wrote:

Do you use the keys in combination with any modifier? If not you can't blame subtle for not overriding keys like awesome obviously does. Key stuff in subtle is a passive grab of the real keys to prevent any override.

I'm sorry, I meant W-h, W-j, etc. but nevermind because now it suddenly seems to work. I don't know what I did different this time.

Offline

#155 2011-05-22 12:46:08

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Varg wrote:

I'm sorry, I meant W-h, W-j, etc. but nevermind because now it suddenly seems to work. I don't know what I did different this time.

Np and glad it works now. smile

Offline

#156 2011-06-05 15:21:47

arxx.43
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 9

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

hey,
i've got a problem in building subtle-hg from AUR. rake states "checking for stdio.h... rake aborted!" error, although the header-files are present in /usr/include. Invoking rake with libdir-option doesn't do the trick.
do you have any ideas?

Offline

#157 2011-06-05 16:57:20

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

arxx.43 wrote:

hey,
i've got a problem in building subtle-hg from AUR. rake states "checking for stdio.h... rake aborted!" error, although the header-files are present in /usr/include. Invoking rake with libdir-option doesn't do the trick.
do you have any ideas?

Can you paste the config.log from your install attempt? That check e.g. fails when there is no working compiler.

Offline

#158 2011-06-05 17:06:58

arxx.43
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 9

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

hmm, i don't think my compiler is broken, as building other packages works w/o problems...

cat ./src/subtle-build/config.log

"gcc -o conftest -I/usr/include/ruby-1.9.1/x86_64-linux -I/usr/include/ruby-1.9.1/ruby/backward -I/usr/include/ruby-1.9.1 -I/usr/bin    -march=x86-64 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe -fPIC conftest.c  -L. -L/usr/lib -L. -Wl,--hash-style=gnu -Wl,--as-needed -rdynamic -Wl,-export-dynamic     -lruby-static  -lpthread -lrt -ldl -lcrypt -lm   -lc"
checked program was:
/* begin */
1: #include "ruby.h"
2: 
3: int main() {return 0;}
/* end */

Offline

#159 2011-06-05 20:58:18

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

arxx.43 wrote:

hmm, i don't think my compiler is broken, as building other packages works w/o problems...

Looks like that is an internal problem of ruby, something is broken and it is not subtle's fault. Which ruby version are you using?

Edit: That was an issue with a module I use in the buildsystem, it is fixed in the latest revision.

Last edited by unexist (2011-06-05 23:36:23)

Offline

#160 2011-06-06 07:28:20

arxx.43
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 9

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

After toying around with the have_header() in subtile's Rakefile and also in a custom Rakefile, i figured out that rake (Edit: probably the module you mention) was somehow broken. Purging and reinstalling fixed it. Thanks for your effort and this really nice piece of software!

Last edited by arxx.43 (2011-06-06 07:37:07)

Offline

#161 2011-06-06 10:08:33

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Yep rake is broken, they did a really bad job in the 0.9.1 and you are welcome. smile

Offline

#162 2011-06-09 22:48:58

heleos
Member
From: Maine, USA
Registered: 2007-04-24
Posts: 678

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Not sure if you like bug posts here, but I'm having a problem with the volume sublet. It's looking for /dev/mixer, which I don't have.  So the sublet isn't showing up. Not sure when this stopped working, but it was within the last couple weeks... Any ideas?

Offline

#163 2011-06-10 09:07:18

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

No problems with bug reports here, just with stuff that is explained in the wiki and the faq. wink

http://subforge.org/ezfaq/show/subtle?faq_id=27

Offline

#164 2011-06-11 02:05:08

heleos
Member
From: Maine, USA
Registered: 2007-04-24
Posts: 678

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Thank you tongue I shall check wiki/faq first next time!

Offline

#165 2011-06-11 09:06:38

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Yeah, when all people would do… big_smile

Offline

#166 2011-06-15 03:31:12

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

I have just tried subtle and I must say you have done a fine job with it. It is a shame I do not like manual tiling, otherwise I would likely switch.

Offline

#167 2011-06-15 09:22:16

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

anonymous_user wrote:

I have just tried subtle and I must say you have done a fine job with it. It is a shame I do not like manual tiling, otherwise I would likely switch.

Thanks, but the real question is why do you prefer autotiling then? From my experience I had to change any layout more often than I need to change any gravity. All my windows appear exactly where I want them to be.

Offline

#168 2011-06-15 15:26:49

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Well if I open one application, it takes up the fullscreen. No problem there. But if I open a second (third, fourth, etc) application, I want them to be split. Then once I close an application, I would like the remainder of them to resize again. To me this seems how dynamic tiling works.

Offline

#169 2011-06-15 18:17:27

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Sure, this is the case when you open like four urxvt on the same view or whatever you call that in your wm. This requires to select a proper layout, e.g. when you want 2x2 and the order is essential. And then you can happily change the layout and move windows around when you need to arrange the windows differently than the layout expects like one window bigger than the other etc.

I wrote the gravity in system with crappy layouts in mind, in my daily workflow I really rarely change any gravity because I configured everything in my config. And I always use the same apps, so I prefer to configure them once than doing this every time.

Offline

#170 2011-06-17 08:37:04

vik_k
Member
From: Pune, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 227
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

unexist wrote:
vik_k wrote:

also, how can i change the title width (i tried changing it in ruby.c, but it's the same).

Use the width property of the client style: http://subforge.org/projects/subtle/wiki/Styles#Width (requires subtle-hg)

tried that too, but somehow the width is stuck to 100 characters max, even if i set width more than that.


"First learn computer science and all the theory. Next develop a programming style. Then forget all that and just hack." ~ George Carrette

Offline

#171 2011-06-17 09:08:32

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

vik_k wrote:

tried that too, but somehow the width is stuck to 100 characters max, even if i set width more than that.

Yep, 100 is the hardcoded limit. Reserving a huge buffer for no benefit isn't something I usually do and I still don't see a reason why you need to display so many characters of a title. Want to use a whole panel just for the title?

Offline

#172 2011-06-17 10:04:31

vik_k
Member
From: Pune, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 227
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

unexist wrote:
vik_k wrote:

tried that too, but somehow the width is stuck to 100 characters max, even if i set width more than that.

Yep, 100 is the hardcoded limit. Reserving a huge buffer for no benefit isn't something I usually do and I still don't see a reason why you need to display so many characters of a title. Want to use a whole panel just for the title?

ya, i am actually planning of using the top panel for title and views only so most of the panel is empty as i use conky directly on the desktop for various info. So which file should i edit to remove that hardcoded limit. It can be done, right?


"First learn computer science and all the theory. Next develop a programming style. Then forget all that and just hack." ~ George Carrette

Offline

#173 2011-06-17 13:47:10

unexist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 300
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

vik_k wrote:

ya, i am actually planning of using the top panel for title and views only so most of the panel is empty as i use conky directly on the desktop for various info. So which file should i edit to remove that hardcoded limit. It can be done, right?

I removed the hardcoded limit in r2880, update subtle-hg and it should work like you expect.

Offline

#174 2011-06-17 14:57:00

vik_k
Member
From: Pune, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 227
Website

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

unexist wrote:

I removed the hardcoded limit in r2880, update subtle-hg and it should work like you expect.

thanks. that worked flawlessly. smile


"First learn computer science and all the theory. Next develop a programming style. Then forget all that and just hack." ~ George Carrette

Offline

#175 2011-06-17 18:32:05

bratmaxe
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 71

Re: subtle - another tiling window manager

Hi, are there any known problems with matching clients by the WM_NAME? It simply does not work for me. Has support for it been removed or am I missing something? Tried the newest subtle-hg from AUR and the one from [community].

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB