You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-24 21:49:20

carebearboy
Member
Registered: 2011-07-03
Posts: 56

Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

In ArchBang when I used the 'pacman' command it had a little yellow pacman eating the pellets as the file downloaded. Anyways, I actually think thats cool so I'm wondering how I can get it.

Last edited by carebearboy (2011-07-25 13:07:51)

Offline

#2 2011-07-24 21:53:28

Lachkater
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-02-04
Posts: 40

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

Just add ILoveCandy in the [options] section of your pacman.conf.

Offline

#3 2011-07-25 13:07:20

carebearboy
Member
Registered: 2011-07-03
Posts: 56

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

Lachkater wrote:

Just add ILoveCandy in the [options] section of your pacman.conf.

That's the one! Thanks. smile

Offline

#4 2011-07-25 18:35:36

MoonSwan
Member
From: Great White North
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 873

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

Somehow that never works for me.  sad


I'm torn apart between worlds. Basically, using vim in a highly visual environment with a lot of mouse features feels like soldering a lose wire to a motherboard with a Zippo and a needle, while working with ANY TEXT AT ALL with a "modern GUI" text editor feels like joining the London Philharmonic Orchestra with a Fisher-Price Laugh and Learn Magical Musical Mirror.  --Awebb

Offline

#5 2011-07-25 18:40:12

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,138

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

its case sensitive and all 1 word. Did you enter it correctly?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#6 2011-07-25 18:46:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

MoonSwan wrote:

Somehow that never works for me.  sad

Please post your pacman.conf.

Offline

#7 2011-07-25 20:43:08

MoonSwan
Member
From: Great White North
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 873

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# See the pacman.conf(5) manpage for option and repository directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
# The following paths are commented out with their default values listed.
# If you wish to use different paths, uncomment and update the paths.

#RootDir     = /
#DBPath      = /var/lib/pacman/
#CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/
#LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
# If upgrades are available for these packages they will be asked for first
SyncFirst   = pacman-color
XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/curl -C - -f %u > %o
#CleanMethod = KeepInstalled
Architecture = auto

# Pacman won't upgrade packages listed in IgnorePkg and members of IgnoreGroup
#IgnorePkg   =
#IgnoreGroup =

#NoUpgrade   =
#NoExtract   =

#Misc options (all disabled by default)
#UseSyslog
#ShowSize
UseDelta
#TotalDownload
#CheckSpace

#Shows pacman eating dots!
ILoveCandy

#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
#   - repositories listed first will take precedence when packages
#     have identical names, regardless of version number
#   - URLs will have $repo replaced by the name of the current repo
#   - URLs will have $arch replaced by the name of the architecture
#
# Repository entries are of the format:
#       [repo-name]
#       Server = ServerName
#       Include = IncludePath
#
# The header [repo-name] is crucial - it must be present and
# uncommented to enable the repo.
#

# The testing repositories are disabled by default. To enable, uncomment the
# repo name header and Include lines. You can add preferred servers immediately
# after the header, and they will be used before the default mirrors.

#[testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[core]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[community-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# If you want to run 32 bit applications on your x86_64 system,
# enable the multilib repositories as required here.

#[multilib-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[multilib]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.

#[Xyne-Any]
#Include = http://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/xyne-any

I'm torn apart between worlds. Basically, using vim in a highly visual environment with a lot of mouse features feels like soldering a lose wire to a motherboard with a Zippo and a needle, while working with ANY TEXT AT ALL with a "modern GUI" text editor feels like joining the London Philharmonic Orchestra with a Fisher-Price Laugh and Learn Magical Musical Mirror.  --Awebb

Offline

#8 2011-07-25 20:50:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

You have to comment out

XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u

Small packages are downloaded so fast, that you might not notice the effect if you're using a fast connection. Here, ffmpeg is being 'pacmanned away':

...
 dash-0.5.7-1-i686                66,3K  307,0K/s 00:00:00 [--------------------------------] 100%
:: Retrieving packages from extra...
 fmpeg-20110724-1-i686          848,0K  650,1K/s 00:00:04 [------C o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  ]  21%
...

Last edited by karol (2011-07-25 20:53:58)

Offline

#9 2011-07-26 01:44:02

MoonSwan
Member
From: Great White North
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 873

Re: Where can I get the pacman manager thats in Archbang? [solved]

Oh, well that explains it!  Thank you very much Karol!


I'm torn apart between worlds. Basically, using vim in a highly visual environment with a lot of mouse features feels like soldering a lose wire to a motherboard with a Zippo and a needle, while working with ANY TEXT AT ALL with a "modern GUI" text editor feels like joining the London Philharmonic Orchestra with a Fisher-Price Laugh and Learn Magical Musical Mirror.  --Awebb

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB