You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-01 18:51:27

oceanliu
Member
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 31

Pacman Problem -- target not found

I just install Arch linux and keep having all kinds of problem.
this is one of them:
i now have network connection and it is working fine.
but pacman seems have a little trouble getting software i need
i always get 'target no found' -- even for some basic software like ndiswrapper, madwifi and xorg
i have changed several mirror and they all generate the same result.
anyone have an idea?

Offline

#2 2011-07-01 18:53:19

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

can you post your mirrorlist?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2011-07-01 19:00:38

oceanliu
Member
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 31

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

i am using Server = http://mirror.rit.edu/archlinux/$repo/os/$arch
and i did not make any modification to the /etc/pacman.conf

Offline

#4 2011-07-01 19:16:27

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

ndiswrapper is not in the repos anymore, neither is madwifi. How are you trying to install xorg? Have you read the wiki?

Last edited by karol (2011-07-01 19:17:52)

Offline

#5 2011-07-01 19:17:33

lifeafter2am
Member
From: .........
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 1,325
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

What is the exact command you are using and what is the exact error message?  It sounds like some of the time you are trying to install things that don't exist (as karol pointed out).

Last edited by lifeafter2am (2011-07-01 19:17:54)


#binarii @ irc.binarii.wtf
-------------
Allan -> ArchBang is not supported because it is stupid.

Offline

#6 2011-07-01 23:29:52

oceanliu
Member
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 31

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

@karol: i really don't know that they are not in the repo anymore. so how should i get them if i need them?
i tried 'pacman -S xorg'
and 'pacman -Syu xorg-server' as wiki told me, but get the same result . "***: target not found"
and i also can't get networkmanager as well, is that out of the repo as well?

Offline

#7 2011-07-01 23:39:23

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

ndiswrapper is in the AUR.

Please post your /etc/pacman.conf, you may have forgot to uncomment the repos.

Offline

#8 2011-07-01 23:52:36

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,787
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

oceanliu wrote:

and i did not make any modification to the /etc/pacman.conf


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#9 2011-07-02 00:07:57

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

jasonwryan wrote:
oceanliu wrote:

and i did not make any modification to the /etc/pacman.conf

I simply don't remember if [extra] is on by default. If I comment it out, I get

[karol@black ~]$ pacman -S xorg-server
error: target not found: xorg-server

Maybe OP forgot to pick some mirrors from the mirrorlist?

Last edited by karol (2011-07-02 00:09:28)

Offline

#10 2011-07-02 00:46:48

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,787
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

Default pacman.conf does have the repos enabled http://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/ … acman.conf

The mirror OP is using is being reported as synched: https://www.archlinux.org/mirrors/status/

...but without details, it is impossible to accurately diagnose.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#11 2011-07-02 01:00:40

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

jasonwryan wrote:

Default pacman.conf does have the repos enabled http://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/ … acman.conf

The mirror OP is using is being reported as synched: https://www.archlinux.org/mirrors/status/

...but without details, it is impossible to accurately diagnose.

Do you think

pacman -S --debug xorg-server

would help?

Offline

#12 2011-07-02 01:14:27

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,787
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

Possibly - if that is what the OP entered. I suspect that lifeafter2am is right, and the OP did something like

pacman -S xorg ndiswrapper madwifi

Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#13 2011-07-02 01:45:33

oceanliu
Member
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 31

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

@jasonwryan
well i did try that, and i also tried 'pacman -Syu xorg-server' according to wiki, they all just have the same result

Offline

#14 2011-07-02 01:50:19

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,787
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

Then you need to provide more detail: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post

Does pacman -Syy return anything? Pastebin your pacman.conf, your mirror list and the output of the --debug that karol suggested.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#15 2011-08-03 20:57:24

oceanliu
Member
Registered: 2011-06-27
Posts: 31

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found

jasonwryan wrote:

Then you need to provide more detail: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post

Does pacman -Syy return anything? Pastebin your pacman.conf, your mirror list and the output of the --debug that karol suggested.

Sorry it took me so long to reply. But my problem still remains.
I still cannot get xorg through pacman 'target not found'
so i don't have a Graphic Interface for me to post all my outcome.
I ran --debug, but get nothing interesting, only with "'pacman' not found in sync db => no upgrade", i don't if that helps.
as for my pacman.conf, i am sure that i have uncomment all "core""extra"and "community". other things are all default.
and my current mirror list is http://cake.lib.fit.edu/ one and according to wiki it is well synced
i think it is my Pacman problem, i can not get any software through that, even though my network is fine.
So i am again out of solution.

Offline

#16 2011-08-04 18:32:39

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,787
Website

Re: Pacman Problem -- target not found


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB