You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-24 14:03:54

Chais
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 32

[Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

I installed Arch from archlinux-2011.08-2-archboot, skipping the boot loader installation. After

$ mount --bind /dev /tmp/install/dev
$ mount -t proc /proc /tmp/install/proc
$ mount -t sysfs /sys /tmp/install/sys

grub_efi_x86-64 was installed manually. I inserted the efivars module and created a new boot entry with efibootmgr. Now when I select the respective entry, the screen goes black for a second, then flashes the EFI splash screen and shows me a BIOS message, reading that no bootable OS could be found, afterwards. I have tried everything, read through all Wiki and Board entries I deemed rudimentarily useful, but EFI won't load grub. My current partitioning looks like this:

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 3907029168 sectors, 1.8 TiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name                 Filesystem
   1            2048          206847   100.0 MiB   0C01  Microsoft reserved   FAT32
   2          206848        29566975   14.0 GiB    8E00  Linux LVM
      /dev/system/boot  [     100.00 MiB]                                     Ext4
      /dev/system/swap  [       4.00 GiB]                                     Ext4
      /dev/system/root  [       9.90 GiB]                                     Ext4
   3        29566976      3907029134   1.8 TiB     8E00  Linux LVM

I also tried flagging /dev/sda1 as EF00 (EFI_SYSTEM_PARTITION) but without success. I probably could switch to BIOS booting, keeping the GPT, but that would seem like a workaround to me.
Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by Chais (2011-08-25 11:40:33)


--
Chais

Offline

#2 2011-08-24 15:48:52

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

Change the 1st partition to ef00 and give the output of

efibootmgr -v

. Try GRUB2 UEFI x86_64 option in archboot bootloader installation menu.


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#3 2011-08-24 17:59:57

Chais
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 32

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

BootCurrent: 0004
Timeout: 3 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0002,0004
Boot0000* Archlinux	HD(1,800,32000,23532fbb-1bfa-4e46-851a-b494bfe9478c)File(\efi\grub\grub.efi)
Boot0002* Festplatte	BIOS(2,0,00)P0: SAMSUNG HD204UI           .
Boot0004* UEFI: General USB Flash Disk 1100	ACPI(a0341d0,0)PCI(13,2)USB(1,0)HD(1,800,fa000,6695ac75-3a2f-4044-82fd-5102666b4677)

--
Chais

Offline

#4 2011-08-25 11:40:12

Chais
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 32

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

Eureka! Or whatever you might want to scream in that context. Got it solved at last.
The "solution", however, indicates on bad kludging by ASUS or Amibios. For some reason the grub.efi will only be loaded, if it's located in the partition root. In my case that's /boot/efi, which is the mount point of /dev/sda1. Moved Grub there.
Not nice, but it works. Closing


--
Chais

Offline

#5 2011-08-25 12:44:51

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

Chais, you might want to add that to the wiki - if its not already there. Wiki articles are  easily accessible as opposed to a thread in the forum. Others might benefit a lot from it if they were to encounter the same problem.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#6 2011-08-25 20:49:07

Chais
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 32

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

Aye Aye


--
Chais

Offline

#7 2013-10-28 05:26:09

Azurewrath
Member
Registered: 2013-10-28
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

I have an ASUS motherboard and I also met this problem, but I found that there's an option about boot mode in bios settings, which could be set as "windows" or "other os", it is set to be "windows" by default and choosing "other os" solved my problem.

Last edited by Azurewrath (2013-10-28 05:27:19)

Offline

#8 2013-10-28 05:40:09

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,281

Re: [Solved] Grub not loaded by EFI

Hi Azurewrath, and welcome to Arch Linux. 

Good suggestion, but....
I think your suggestion is about a BIOS mode, whereas the original question had to do with anomalies with the EFI mode.  Yes, BIOS mode is a likely workaround for some cases, but it does not really answer the mail, so to speak.  Also, note that this is a two year old thread.  many of the original players are not around, and much has changed in the topic of EFI booting; not the least of which we are now using Grub 2 instead of Grub Legacy. 

That said, I am going to go ahead and close this thread now. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.22


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB