You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-29 04:55:01

SORE-LOSER
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 32

LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

Brand new Arch user and I LOVE IT!

one question:

I have Arch and LXDE and left out init so that I log into Desktop by hand (I would like to run machine as server without GUI at times) and wrote simple script to start GUI from command line.

how would I go about adding compiz to script so that when I exec it LXDE and Compiz all loads together?

here's what I got so far, (any added compiz lines don't end up running):

#! /bin/bash
xinit /usr/bin/startlxde



Thanks in Advance

Last edited by SORE-LOSER (2011-08-30 00:57:07)

Offline

#2 2011-08-29 05:02:09

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,796

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

Hi, I set up the following:

ewaller@odin:~ 1001 %cat .xinitrc    

DEFAULT_SESSION=openbox
xset b off
setxkbmap -option ctrl:nocaps

case $WM in
kde)
	ck-launch-session dbus-launch startkde
	;;
compiz)
	~/bin/compiz&
	ck-launch-session dbus-launch compiz ccp
	;;
lxde)
	~/bin/lxde&
	ck-launch-session dbus-launch startlxde
	;;
*)
	~/bin/openbox&
	ck-launch-session dbus-launch $DEFAULT_SESSION
	;;
esac
ewaller@odin:~ 1002 %cat bin/xfce4
#!/bin/bash
sleep 5
conky&
tilda&
fusion-icon&


ewaller@odin:~ 1003 %

I start sessions using, for example:

WM=xfce4 startx

The .xinitrc will execute the script ~/bin/xfce4 in the background, and will then start xfce4.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2011-08-29 05:03:30

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,796

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

Actually, it won't -- I took xfce4 out of .xinitrc -- but you should get the idea tongue


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2011-08-29 05:08:44

fsckd
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 4,173

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

Another approach, from within LXDE: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LX … w_Managers


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#5 2011-08-29 14:18:31

SORE-LOSER
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 32

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

Thanks to both of you for your help...

@Ewaller, "WM=xfce4 startx" is started from terminal? I looked through your output and noticed that it was your xinitrc,  and I didn't add any of my GUI stuff to my xinitrc, so that I could run without desktop... I just wanted to run a script that would start all of it together from init 3. Would your xinitrc work as a script?

@fsckd, I see what you pointed out and will try that at the next available opportunity,

Offline

#6 2011-08-29 14:47:18

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,796

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

SORE-LOSER wrote:

@Ewaller, "WM=xfce4 startx" is started from terminal? I looked through your output and noticed that it was your xinitrc,  and I didn't add any of my GUI stuff to my xinitrc, so that I could run without desktop... I just wanted to run a script that would start all of it together from init 3. Would your xinitrc work as a script,

Yes, the .xinitrc will work as a script, but not stand alone..  As a matter of fact, it is a script, but it is one that is started as a X session is started.  It won't be invoked otherwise.

You could re-write your script as such:

#! /bin/bash
path/to/a/custom/script &
xinit /usr/bin/startlxde

And then have the file path/to/a/custom/script look something like:

#!/bin/bash
sleep 3
fusion-icon&

Question:  Does compiz work with LXDE?  I know it does not work with Openbox.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2011-08-29 18:52:01

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

SORE-LOSER,

Could you please edit your first post and change your title and use a more descriptive (to your problem) title. Helps others in searching for threads when they are in a similar situation.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#8 2011-08-30 01:01:14

SORE-LOSER
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 32

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

@Ewaller I see what your saying: -X- INIT RC! (X's init)

I'll try that out

Offline

#9 2011-08-30 20:50:27

SORE-LOSER
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 32

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

@fsckd: It worked like a charm! Now when I log in Compiz starts with LXDE
@Ewaller: No, Compiz replaces Openbox.

Than you both for the help smile

Offline

#10 2011-08-30 21:54:03

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 6,286

Re: LXDE + Compiz Script from Init 3

How about you start a fusion-icon session and load what you need from LXDE in your .xinitrc?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB