You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-15 19:11:28

breaksand30

Can't get wireless to work on Atheros card

So I just went though all the trouble of wiping my entire Hard Drive to install arch. I've ran it on a virtual box before and it worked fine but on my actual laptop(Compaq Presario CQ60), it doesn't work. I've primarily used Ubuntu before but I prefer arch. Now I've tried editing

/etc/rc.conf

But no luck. I've tried DHCP, static etc. Thing is I'm not good at networking at all so I don't even know the difference between those. Anyway I don't have iwconfig for some reason and I chose to install it but it isn't there. When I run

lspci | grep -i net

I get two things. The second is my WiFi card(I think).
It says it's an Atheros AR5001. I've been googling for hours but no luck at all. Also, my router has a security key on it. Ubuntu says its WPA & WPA2 Personal but I have no idea how to set that up from the command line in Arch.

Sorry for any stupid questions. Thanks in advance.

EDIT:
Output of lspci -v (Network section)

01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 360b
    Physical Slot: 0
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 42
    I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
    Memory at d0410000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Memory at d0400000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=64K]
    Expansion ROM at d0420000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: r8169
    Kernel modules: r8169

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 137a
    Physical Slot: 1
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
    Memory at d2600000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: ath5k
    Kernel modules: ath5k