You are not logged in.

#76 2017-06-06 22:53:17

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

ayushjsh wrote:
error: failed retrieving file 'xyne-x86_64.db' from xyne.archlinux.ca : could not resolve host: xyne.archlinux.ca

Host resolution errors are not related to the problem with the database extension. There is a problem with your DNS. You can check with

host xyne.archlinux.ca
ping xyne.archlinux.ca

or by trying to visit the site. They should all return the same error. Change your DNS server if you can, otherwise use the site's IP address as a workaround while waiting for your DNS server to get updated:

[xyne-x86_64]
Siglevel = Required
Server = https://67.231.20.247/bin/repo.php?file=

My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#77 2017-06-07 10:10:00

raggerv8
Member
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 94

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

ayushjsh wrote:
raggerv8 wrote:
ayushjsh wrote:

I still get errors with the workaround.

error: failed retrieving file 'xyne-x86_64.db' from xyne.archlinux.ca : could not resolve host: xyne.archlinux.ca

Show your pacman.conf?

[xyne-x86_64]
Siglevel = Required
Server = https://xyne.archlinux.ca/bin/repo.php?file=

The only difference from me is that I use http, you use https. I just checked the repo page, and Xyne also wrote https, but I am pretty sure I copy pasted it the other day, maybe it was changed.

That said, I just changed mine to https, and it still works.

I use a copy paste of the x86_64 section from https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/ and it seems to work fine for me.

Offline

#78 2017-06-21 02:30:43

Rasi
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-14
Posts: 1,912
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

The only difference from me is that I use http, you use https. I just checked the repo page, and Xyne also wrote https, but I am pretty sure I copy pasted it the other day, maybe it was changed.

That said, I just changed mine to https, and it still works.

I use a copy paste of the x86_64 section from https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/ and it seems to work fine for me.

Notice how the error message does not include http/https but just 'xyne.archlinux.ca'. Because http/https are protocols while the latter is a hostname. Or in short: Not related.


He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

Offline

#79 2017-08-11 16:38:37

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 474

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

[gsf1200s@trackbox ~]$ sudo pacman -Syy
error: xyne-x86_64: signature from "Xyne. (key #3) <xyne@archlinux.ca>" is invalid
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core                     124.4 KiB   160K/s 00:01 [######################] 100%
 extra                   1662.6 KiB   341K/s 00:05 [######################] 100%
 community                  4.0 MiB   302K/s 00:13 [######################] 100%
 multilib                 173.2 KiB   451K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 xyne-x86_64                4.8 KiB  0.00B/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 xyne-x86_64.sig          566.0   B  0.00B/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
error: xyne-x86_64: signature from "Xyne. (key #3) <xyne@archlinux.ca>" is invalid
error: failed to update xyne-x86_64 (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))
error: database 'xyne-x86_64' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))

Got this starting yesterday- had been working fine for months prior. Tried an -Syy and refreshing pacman-key but no joy. I could cancel sig checking for the repo but I'd like to avoid it. I notice that updates for bauerbill and some deps are available, but no idea if its related.

Last edited by GSF1200S (2017-08-11 16:39:09)

Offline

#80 2017-08-21 13:28:21

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@GSF1200S
Have you updated your pacman.conf with the new Server URL for my repo? This was discussed above. The link is in this post.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#81 2017-08-21 17:10:33

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 474

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

Xyne wrote:

@GSF1200S
Have you updated your pacman.conf with the new Server URL for my repo? This was discussed above. The link is in this post.

It did it for a few days and then resolved itself. I had indeed updated pacman.conf. I'm sorry I forgot to mention here and thanks for the reply.

Still cant build ABS packages though... been pretty busy with work and havent had a chance to check out whats up. It was working fine until the last update to Bauerbill and a few of its deps.

Offline

#82 2018-01-13 05:04:41

dapolinario
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2010-03-18
Posts: 58

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@Xyne, the workaround for your repository is no longer necessary.

The problem I'm having is with SigLevel. As you indicate on your site, the pacman -Fs powerpill command does not work. But if I remove the SigLevel line and use the default pacman.conf settings, the command works perfectly.


Arch Linux: The power in your hands!

Offline

#83 2018-01-15 01:46:27

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@dapolinario
Thanks for notifying me about the workaround. I will update the site and add a news item in a little while.

I am not able to reproduce the error before or after updating pacman.conf to remove the workaround:

$ pacman -Fy
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 ...
 xyne-x86_64                            57.1 KiB   140K/s 00:00 [###################################] 100%
 xyne-x86_64.sig                       566.0   B  0.00B/s 00:00 [###################################] 100
 ...

$ pacman -Fs powerpill
xyne-x86_64/powerpill 2017.11-1
    usr/bin/powerpill
    usr/share/bash-completion/completions/powerpill

My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#84 2018-01-15 02:07:18

dapolinario
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2010-03-18
Posts: 58

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

I discovered my fault, I forgot to run pacman -Fy. Thank you for your help.


Arch Linux: The power in your hands!

Offline

#85 2018-03-07 19:09:16

dominiclobue
Member
Registered: 2018-03-07
Posts: 1

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@Xyne FYI the workaround appears to be necessary again. I just got a 403 when updating my pacman databases.

Offline

#86 2018-07-29 12:49:28

semeion
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2008-10-20
Posts: 62

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

The link https://xyne.archlinux.ca/scripts/syste … _subnet.sh seems broke

From where can i download that launch_subnet.sh script?

thx

Offline

#87 2018-07-30 23:35:22

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

That link a few others should be fixed in a few minutes.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#88 2018-08-06 11:12:45

barraponto
Member
From: Campinas, Brazil
Registered: 2009-10-15
Posts: 22

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

Running bauerbill gives me an error:

/usr/bin/python3: No module named Bauerbill

I believe this is due to python updating to python 3.7 in the official repositories.

Offline

#89 2018-08-06 11:19:45

semeion
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2008-10-20
Posts: 62

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

That link a few others should be fixed in a few minutes.

@Xyne, thank you and congratulations for your amazing scripts

Offline

#90 2018-08-07 00:31:39

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

barraponto wrote:

Running bauerbill gives me an error:

/usr/bin/python3: No module named Bauerbill

I believe this is due to python updating to python 3.7 in the official repositories.

All of the Python packages in my repo have been rebuilt with Python 3.7 today so everything should work again.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#91 2018-09-26 18:06:07

bobpaul
Member
Registered: 2012-02-11
Posts: 20

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

I wasn't sure where to post this, but some of your projects are returning 404 as their src link:

https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/pacserve/src
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/powerpill/src
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/pacserve/src
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/powerpill/src
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/pacserve/src
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/powerpill/src

When I saw there was more than one, I made a quick python script to crawl all your projects, so I'm sure these are the only ones that are broken.

Last edited by bobpaul (2018-09-26 18:06:37)

Offline

#92 2018-11-04 03:27:17

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@bobpaul
Sorry, I didn't see your post among all the notifications I got about missing sources. Thanks for reporting the error.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#93 2019-03-19 13:12:47

C0rn3j
Member
Registered: 2016-02-14
Posts: 11

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

The repo has been down for me for a few hours now

error: failed retrieving file 'xyne-x86_64.db' from xyne.archlinux.ca : The requested URL returned error: 406

Also why does the Arch wiki have conflicting setup for your repo when compared to your website?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Un … yne-x86_64
https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/

Last edited by C0rn3j (2019-03-19 13:13:52)

Offline

#94 2019-03-19 19:36:57

alaskanarcher
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 36

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

I am also experiencing the above 406 error.

Offline

#95 2019-03-19 19:51:03

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,491

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

alaskanarcher wrote:

I am also experiencing the above 406 error.

The hosting provider is once again doing funny stuff with .db files ...

Use the Server URL from post #77 as a workaround

Last edited by progandy (2019-03-19 19:54:48)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#96 2019-03-20 08:08:04

alaskanarcher
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 36

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@progandy, My pacman.conf matches what that post #77 suggests to use. Still I am getting error 406, which is different from the error described in the post you linked.

Offline

#97 2019-03-20 09:14:23

C0rn3j
Member
Registered: 2016-02-14
Posts: 11

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

alaskanarcher wrote:

@progandy, My pacman.conf matches what that post #77 suggests to use. Still I am getting error 406, which is different from the error described in the post you linked.

Works here.

Last edited by C0rn3j (2019-03-20 09:15:21)

Offline

#98 2019-03-20 09:16:52

dunek
Member
Registered: 2010-05-15
Posts: 23

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

Same here, it worked a couple of days ago, now I get 406.

Offline

#99 2019-03-25 19:13:11

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,422
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

The repo.php workaround works for me. I'm re-adding it to the webpage.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#100 2019-04-15 13:51:14

dreieck
Member
Registered: 2012-10-08
Posts: 14

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

Trying to download https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/xyne/xyne-x86_64.db
or https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/xyne/xyne-any.db gives error 404 or
406 (varying); trying to open it in the browser gives the following
text:

	Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested
resource /repos/xyne/xyne-x86_64.db could not be found on this server.

Additionally, a 406 Not Acceptable error was encountered while trying
to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

I reported it already to Xyne via email on 2019-03-20, but it is still faulty until today and http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/uno … yne-x86_64 still lists the non-working Server URL.

I found today this thread and tested the Server=http://xyne.archlinux.ca/bin/repo.php?file= URL, it does work, and I corrected the entry in http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/uno … yne-x86_64.

Thanks for the Server=http://xyne.archlinux.ca/bin/repo.php?file= workaround!

Last edited by dreieck (2019-04-15 13:52:00)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB