You are not logged in.

#76 2017-06-06 22:53:17

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,252
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

ayushjsh wrote:
error: failed retrieving file 'xyne-x86_64.db' from xyne.archlinux.ca : could not resolve host: xyne.archlinux.ca

Host resolution errors are not related to the problem with the database extension. There is a problem with your DNS. You can check with

host xyne.archlinux.ca
ping xyne.archlinux.ca

or by trying to visit the site. They should all return the same error. Change your DNS server if you can, otherwise use the site's IP address as a workaround while waiting for your DNS server to get updated:

[xyne-x86_64]
Siglevel = Required
Server = https://67.231.20.247/bin/repo.php?file=

My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#77 2017-06-07 10:10:00

raggerv8
Member
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 87

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

ayushjsh wrote:
raggerv8 wrote:
ayushjsh wrote:

I still get errors with the workaround.

error: failed retrieving file 'xyne-x86_64.db' from xyne.archlinux.ca : could not resolve host: xyne.archlinux.ca

Show your pacman.conf?

[xyne-x86_64]
Siglevel = Required
Server = https://xyne.archlinux.ca/bin/repo.php?file=

The only difference from me is that I use http, you use https. I just checked the repo page, and Xyne also wrote https, but I am pretty sure I copy pasted it the other day, maybe it was changed.

That said, I just changed mine to https, and it still works.

I use a copy paste of the x86_64 section from https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/ and it seems to work fine for me.

Offline

#78 2017-06-21 02:30:43

Rasi
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-14
Posts: 1,885
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

The only difference from me is that I use http, you use https. I just checked the repo page, and Xyne also wrote https, but I am pretty sure I copy pasted it the other day, maybe it was changed.

That said, I just changed mine to https, and it still works.

I use a copy paste of the x86_64 section from https://xyne.archlinux.ca/repos/ and it seems to work fine for me.

Notice how the error message does not include http/https but just 'xyne.archlinux.ca'. Because http/https are protocols while the latter is a hostname. Or in short: Not related.


He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

Offline

#79 2017-08-11 16:38:37

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 467

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

[gsf1200s@trackbox ~]$ sudo pacman -Syy
error: xyne-x86_64: signature from "Xyne. (key #3) <xyne@archlinux.ca>" is invalid
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core                     124.4 KiB   160K/s 00:01 [######################] 100%
 extra                   1662.6 KiB   341K/s 00:05 [######################] 100%
 community                  4.0 MiB   302K/s 00:13 [######################] 100%
 multilib                 173.2 KiB   451K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 xyne-x86_64                4.8 KiB  0.00B/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 xyne-x86_64.sig          566.0   B  0.00B/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
error: xyne-x86_64: signature from "Xyne. (key #3) <xyne@archlinux.ca>" is invalid
error: failed to update xyne-x86_64 (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))
error: database 'xyne-x86_64' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))

Got this starting yesterday- had been working fine for months prior. Tried an -Syy and refreshing pacman-key but no joy. I could cancel sig checking for the repo but I'd like to avoid it. I notice that updates for bauerbill and some deps are available, but no idea if its related.

Last edited by GSF1200S (2017-08-11 16:39:09)

Offline

#80 2017-08-21 13:28:21

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,252
Website

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

@GSF1200S
Have you updated your pacman.conf with the new Server URL for my repo? This was discussed above. The link is in this post.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#81 2017-08-21 17:10:33

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 467

Re: Xyne's repos: news and discussion

Xyne wrote:

@GSF1200S
Have you updated your pacman.conf with the new Server URL for my repo? This was discussed above. The link is in this post.

It did it for a few days and then resolved itself. I had indeed updated pacman.conf. I'm sorry I forgot to mention here and thanks for the reply.

Still cant build ABS packages though... been pretty busy with work and havent had a chance to check out whats up. It was working fine until the last update to Bauerbill and a few of its deps.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB