You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-11 07:26:50

masterkoppa

Dual Nic Load Balancing Solution

Hi,

I have a very peculiar situation. I'm currently a college student with access to an almost unlimited network. But the problem is that the network limits each IP to 30 Mb/s. I have 2 nics at my disposal and have tried two options so far:

• bonding

• two independent nic, let network manager take care of it

I set-up bonding and got it working, but it seems limited to roughly the same speeds as a single nic, but I can see the network being slit between the two nics evenly. This is what lead me to conclude that since I have a single ip address it's limiting it by IP not mac addresses. Here I might occasionally spike above the limits but not consistently.

With the network manager solution, Im basically thrown at random and can occasionally get higher than limited speeds. Specially with torrenting clients.

Are there any other useful options that I could explore, my next stop was a load balancing routing table but I want to see what you guys know before I keep trying weirder solutions.

Thanks in advance

#2 2012-05-11 12:56:39

falconindy
Developer
Website

Re: Dual Nic Load Balancing Solution

There's no problem here. Please don't try to circumvent the policies your network admins are defining.

#3 2012-05-11 17:49:10

masterkoppa

falconindy wrote:

There's no problem here. Please don't try to circumvent the policies your network admins are defining.

To be honest I wasn't really trying to do this for malicious purposes, it more of a little learning experience of mine. But I can understand and respect that it might seem like I'm trying to circumvent security policies. Thank you for your time anyways.

#4 2012-05-11 21:01:35

baronmax

falconindy wrote:

Oh come on, we'd all do the same thing if we could double our available bandwidth!  wink