You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-21 11:34:11

raunz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 36

netctl vlan for IPv6

Hello dear archlinux community.

Recently I converted to netctl and had some trouble with it.
With the new system I also tried a new thing (and there is not much to find on google):
I wanted to use vlans on my archlinux vserver to listen on multiple IPv6 addresses.
The eth0 interface is reachable via IPv4&6 from outside but the virtual eth0.10 is not.

Do I have the config right? Any logic problems?

Description='uplink ipv4/6'
Interface=eth0
Connection=ethernet
IP=dhcp
## for IPv6
#IP6=dhcp
IP6=static
Address6=('my:ip:v:6::1/64')

and for the vlan

Description='vlan10 on interface eth0'
Interface=eth0.10
Connection=vlan
BindsToInterfaces=eth0
VLANID=10
#IP=no
#IP=static
#Adress=('127.0.0.1/8')
IP6=static
Address6=('my:ip:v:6::10/64')

For some diagnostics
ip -6 route

my:ip:v:6::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256
my:ip:v:6::/64 dev eth0.10  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256
fe80::/64 dev eth0.10  proto kernel  metric 256
default via fe80::4 dev eth0  metric 202

ip addr

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether x:x:x:x:x:x brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet my.ip.v.4/22 brd 37.221.195.255 scope global eth0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 my:ip:v:6::1/64 scope global
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 x::x:x:x:x/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: eth0.10@eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP
    link/ether x:x:x:x:x:x brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 my:ip:v:6::10/64 scope global
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 x::x:x:x:x/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

/edit
Had to append two lines to /etc/sysctl.conf to get IPv6 working on eth0 in the first place

net.ipv6.conf.eth0.autoconf = 0
net.ipv6.conf.eth0.accept_ra = 0

Excuse my bad english ^^
Hope to see some replies soon smile

Last edited by raunz (2013-05-21 11:46:32)

Offline

#2 2013-05-21 22:06:39

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 6,224
Website

Re: netctl vlan for IPv6

You're using the same subnet in both VLAN's? That's possibly causing asymmetric routing (ie, packet comes in eth0.10, your kernel routes it back via eth0). Not a huge issue in itself, although an upstream firewall might not like it.

The upstream router probably has the same issue; it sees my:ip:v:6::1/64 is on it's eth0 interface, so it routes traffic for my:ip:v:6::10 via eth0 instead of eth0.10 although IIRC Linux does answer for any address it owns on any interface, but that might have changed for IPv6, I haven't tested it.

May I ask why you have the same subnet in multiple Layer 2 networks?

EDIT: by the way, to make the obfuscation of your IP address easier to read, in future just replace the first couple of Chazwazzas* with 2001:db8:: so 2001:87aa:2822:ab34::10 becomes 2001:db8::2822:ab34::10 (yes, it's an invalid address, but it makes it easier to read as an IPv6 address still)

* There's still no accepted name for the 'parts' of an IPv6 address: http://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-denog- … ection-4.1

Last edited by fukawi2 (2013-05-21 22:12:10)

Offline

#3 2013-05-27 07:01:47

raunz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 36

Re: netctl vlan for IPv6

Yes I do because my vserver provider is giving me a full range of adresses: 2001:db8:2:14c::/64
How am I supposed to use all of these addresses?

I tried to assign different SSL Certs to the interfaces.

rgds

Offline

#4 2013-05-27 23:02:58

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 6,224
Website

Re: netctl vlan for IPv6

You need to describe your setup in more detail for us.

At the moment, my understanding is that you have the below arrangement; is this correct?

+------------------------+
|     INTERNET           |
+---------+--------------+
          |
          |
          |eth0
+---------v--------------+
|      VSERVER           |
+---------+--------------+
          |eth0.10
          |
          |
          |
+---------v--------------+
|   Some other network   |
+------------------------+

(Created with http://www.asciiflow.com/)

Offline

#5 2013-05-28 07:45:02

raunz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 36

Re: netctl vlan for IPv6

More something like this:

+------------------------+
|     INTERNET           |
+---------+---------+----+
          |         |
          |         |
          |eth0     |eth0.10 / eth0.20 / eth0.21 / ...
+---------v---------v----+
|      VSERVER           |
+------------------------+

I got one IPv4 address and several IPv6 addresses which I want to make reachable from the internet.

... if thats even possible

Last edited by raunz (2013-05-28 07:50:12)

Offline

#6 2013-05-28 23:08:52

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 6,224
Website

Re: netctl vlan for IPv6

Is that how your provider sets it up or have you created that setup?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB