You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-03 20:43:52

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Someone on IRC just brought this one up. He needs to update a VPS image from 2012.07; it's past the lib->usr/lib update. It needs to update glibc, but glibc currently requires filesystem >= 2013.01. Since filesystem is ignored, this is a problem. Only suggestion I could come up with is to use the ARM to update to a version in Feb or Mar, then update from there. Anyone have a better idea?

Offline

#2 2013-06-03 21:46:02

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,485
Website

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Yes. Have them reinstall and then mention that updating is a pretty cool guy. Eh keeps Arch functional and doesn't afrayd of enything.

Sarcasm aside, with that many manual interventions still to do (I imagine that also includes the systemd switch), it will likely be much, much simpler to just do a clean install.

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#3 2013-06-03 21:48:08

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Offline

#4 2013-06-03 21:50:09

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Yep, VPS image, no "clean install" possible.

Offline

#5 2013-06-03 21:52:32

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

HalosGhost wrote:

Yes. Have them reinstall and then mention that updating is a pretty cool guy. Eh keeps Arch functional and doesn't afrayd of enything.

As karol has linked to above (karol is the link master), Scimmia is asking about someone who is using a VPS.  It is provided as an image, where no installation is possible.  You get what you get.  In this case, it is apparently old, but not so old that it will have to go through the last mass breakage.

@Scimmia, the ARM is theonly reasonable thing I can think of as well.  I think that this would be the most "correct" way, if you can consider any workaround to be correct.

Offline

#6 2013-06-03 21:57:15

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,485
Website

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

WonderWoofy wrote:

karol is the link master

Aʟʟ Hᴀɪʟ!

Ahh, I have never dealt with a VPS; I hadn't realized a reinstallation wouldn't be possible. Given that restriction, I would have to agree the ARM sounds like it might be the easiest route.

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#7 2013-06-03 22:13:48

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

He's current, having updated to 2012-12-01 to convert to systemd, then 2013.03.01 to get the latest filesystem/glibc issue taken care of. He did the 2012.12.01 step because he was getting file conflicts with initscripts.

Still, this is a situation that will come up again and the ARM isn't a great solution for everyone that needs to make this update. Any and all suggestions still welcome.

Last edited by Scimmia (2013-06-03 22:14:06)

Offline

#8 2013-06-03 23:08:03

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

I'm curious as to why the ARM isn't a gret solution for everyone?  It seems to me that this is very suited to the ARM.  Despite its name, I don't think that it is intended strictly for rollbacks...

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-06-03 23:08:15)

Offline

#9 2013-06-03 23:12:26

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Maybe it is, it just seems like there should be a more "official" upgrade path instead of using an unofficial mirror and using up all of their bandwidth. Then again, if people haven't updated in 6 months, I doubt there's going to big run on their bandwidth.

We are talking about something that only affects people have haven't updated in more than 5 months, though, so maybe no upgrade path is acceptable.

Offline

#10 2013-06-03 23:19:03

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Yeah, thats the thing... the only officially supported situation is one in which the user is up to date.  I think that the use of the ARM should be rare anyway, as most downgrades should be able to be done via your cache.  So I know what you mean in regard to using all their bandwidth, but I don't think that it is really too much of a problem.

Offline

#11 2013-06-04 06:58:14

derhamster
Member
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 86

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Excuse my naive thinking, I don't have much experience with VPS'.
Is it possible to upload a current Arch iso, boot into that and reinstall the system from there even if it is a VPS?

Offline

#12 2013-06-04 07:02:24

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

derhamster, not really.

With some VPS providers, you can upload a custom image to run on your VPS, which would solve this issue. It's not real common, though, and the one in question doesn't offer that capability

Offline

#13 2013-06-04 12:46:16

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 2,964

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

This might be a crazy idea but if you have enough space, can't you just rsync an up-to-date install to a new partition, add the initramfs and kernel images to the boot partition/directory, update the grub/syslinux entries and reboot?

Disclaimer: never used a vps.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#14 2013-06-04 14:08:03

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Okay, I give no guarantees, but this may or may not work:

pacman -Su -d --ignore filesystem

This will leave the system in a somewhat unusable state, because the newer glibc needs the /lib symlink in filesystem. In particular, most (if not all) post_install scripts will fail during this update, so look out for manually fixing breakage (I omitted the --ignore bash, since the glibc update will break bash anyway) - especially your initramfs will need to be regenerated once you are finished. You can then run

/usr/lib/ld-2.17.so pacman -Su

to upgrade filesystem. Beware that calling the dynamic loader is the only way to run any binaries in this situation.

The suggested solution of upgrading filesystem to 2013.03.something seems cleaner than mine in any case.

Last edited by brain0 (2013-06-04 14:08:39)

Offline

#15 2013-06-04 16:47:44

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

I guess the worst that could happen with brain0's suggestion is that you bork the system, in which case, I presume it is possible to have the VPS provider to just dd a new image for you.

Offline

#16 2013-06-04 16:57:04

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,712

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

brain0, excellent idea. someone on IRC had suggested using -d, but knowing that would leave you with no /lib and therefor no dynamic loader, I didn't think that was an option.

Offline

#17 2013-12-11 19:24:25

kddubb
Member
Registered: 2013-12-11
Posts: 3

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Hi, I've been using archlinuxarm for several years now, but I only update once a year (usually around this time...I updated, actually just reinstalled, last when the systemd changes hit).  Anyway, I've hit this problem that Scimmia describles and was just hoping for a confirm that brain0's suggestion had worked for someone.  Or a little more instruction on updating to a specific release from 2013.03. 

Sorry I've just always done my updates from the latest stuff.  I googled around a bit and didn't find much on the referenced ARM repo.  I just need to be pointed in the right direction to get started, I think.

Thanks for the help!

Offline

#18 2013-12-11 19:31:51

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Maybe you should ask on the ARM forum?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=153431

Offline

#19 2013-12-11 20:06:34

kddubb
Member
Registered: 2013-12-11
Posts: 3

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

btw, finally did just stumble on https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … ck_Machine (ARM)...not to be confused with Arch Linux ARM. 

karol, now that I have somewhere to start from I will try to stick with the ARM specific forum.  I always forget that the arm side of things is somewhat separate from the standard archlinux because it is the only archlinux I've used.

Offline

#20 2013-12-12 01:23:08

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

I don't know about archarm but if you only planned to update arch once a year, it would just not be a good choice of distro for you.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#21 2013-12-12 21:42:49

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 903

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

As far You need fix all non-standard packages no-in-repo
so if a pacman -Qqtm give som packages, you need rebuild them firs to pt binaries on /usr/bin/


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#22 2013-12-29 18:36:49

kddubb
Member
Registered: 2013-12-11
Posts: 3

Re: Different /bin /sbin /usr/sbin update issue

Just fyi, this isn't an ARM issue really at all...it really comes down cfr's comment about me not updating for a year.  I'm not really using Arch as intended.  At this point, there is really no way around the issue without hacking stuff a fair bit as far as I can tell.  Looks like someone is doing an Arch Rollback Machine archive for the ARM arch, but that just started in Dec so it's no use for the update issues listed here.

No complaints though; I'm just going to reinstall and reconfigure.  I have my whole root fs backed up so I should be able to grab config files, etc. from there and have stuff up and running in a couple hours tops.  Hopefully, I'll keep up better on updates this year, it hasn't bitten me quite so bad in past years, but it's easy enough to do...I've just been lazy.

Thanks for those that responded to help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB