You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-26 15:47:28

nealbailey
Member
Registered: 2013-11-26
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] ISO is Broken - Disk Error 04, AX = 427E

I'd love to give Arch a try but the ISO image (archlinux-2013.01-dual.iso) is borked. I have downloaded from 3 separate mirrors and burned on both ImgBurn (Windows) and K3b (Fedora). The MD5 matches correctly and all my other LiveCDs all boot fine on the same drive.

ISOLINUX 6.02 ETCDisolinux: Disk error 04, AX = 427E, drive FE

Last edited by nealbailey (2013-11-27 03:10:56)

Offline

#2 2013-11-26 16:10:59

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: [SOLVED] ISO is Broken - Disk Error 04, AX = 427E

nealbailey wrote:

I'd love to give Arch a try but the ISO image (archlinux-2011.01-dual.iso) is borked. I have downloaded from 3 separate mirrors and burned on both ImgBurn (Windows) and K3b (Fedora). The MD5 matches correctly and all my other LiveCDs all boot fine on the same drive.

ISOLINUX 6.02 ETCDisolinux: Disk error 04, AX = 427E, drive FE

ummm why are you using such an old iso (from 2011) anyway ??

This is the current release : Current Release: 2013.11.01

Is usb booting an option on your machine ? You might want to try that instead of burning CDs

Edit :: Also see this thread which is related : https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=172588

Last edited by Inxsible (2013-11-26 16:13:34)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2013-11-26 16:27:49

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] ISO is Broken - Disk Error 04, AX = 427E

Inxsible wrote:

ummm why are you using such an old iso (from 2011) anyway ??

I think this has to be a typo.  In 2011, we didn't have the dual Arch isos, nor was syslinux anywhere close to v6.

@OP, it has been a long time since I have tried to use an optical for much of anything.  But there has been some talk about syslinux problems with isos.  A fix has just been submitted to the mailing list, so this fix will make it to next month's iso.

Offline

#4 2013-11-26 17:05:43

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,047
Website

Re: [SOLVED] ISO is Broken - Disk Error 04, AX = 427E

Offline

#5 2013-11-27 03:09:41

nealbailey
Member
Registered: 2013-11-26
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] ISO is Broken - Disk Error 04, AX = 427E

I ended flashing a SanDisk USB disk using dd and got it installed ok. Optical drive works fine with every other CD and I tried several burns on several computers and got the same error message so I have no idea what was up with the ISO.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB