You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-28 23:24:31

Registered: 2012-02-07
Posts: 33

Name resolution systematically fails

Greetings !

I have no clue how it even could have happened, but it seems that I somehow broke something on my arch. I suddenly lost the ability to resolve name: the network is up, I can ping but not, nor any other name.

Any idea what I might've screwed with ? I really don't know where else I should be looking. It doesn't look like I tempered with the hosts file: localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 localhost.localdomain localhost


#2 2014-01-28 23:35:38

Forum Moderator
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 2,423

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

What does your /etc/resolv.conf look like?

No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles


#3 2014-01-28 23:47:21

From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 15,540

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Also, are you behind a router?  Are you using static or dynamic addressing?

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way


#4 2014-01-29 16:03:56

Registered: 2012-02-07
Posts: 33

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

The resolv.conf is empty, I use dynamic addressing, and I am behind a router.

Though I am not a sysadmin here, so I have no access to said router. The only piece of material I'm authorized to touch is my switch.

My second computer is connected to the same switch and has no problem solving names. So I didn't think it could come from anything else than my own machine.


#5 2014-01-29 16:58:46

Registered: 2011-11-04
Posts: 169

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Plaristote wrote:

The resolv.conf is empty […]

That's most likely your problem. The resolv.conf contains the dns server(s) you use and optionally some other stuff.

Your dhcp should put them there, but seemingly fail to do so. You can edit the file manually, although it might be overwritten (e.g. by dhcpcd or NetworkManager).

Simply put an entry in the following format in it

nameserver <your nameserver ip here>

i'm sorry for my poor english wirting skills…


#6 2014-01-29 17:43:23

Registered: 2014-01-15
Posts: 43

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Just to make sure : have you modified /etc/resolvconf.conf ? You probably didn't, but it should contain this line :


EDIT : Did you try to run 'dhcpcd <interface-name>' ? What is the output?

Last edited by jpgg (2014-01-29 17:49:00)


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB