You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-28 23:24:31

Plaristote
Member
Registered: 2012-02-07
Posts: 31

Name resolution systematically fails

Greetings !

I have no clue how it even could have happened, but it seems that I somehow broke something on my arch. I suddenly lost the ability to resolve name: the network is up, I can ping 74.125.195.94 but not www.google.com, nor any other name.

Any idea what I might've screwed with ? I really don't know where else I should be looking. It doesn't look like I tempered with the hosts file:

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 localhost.localdomain localhost

Offline

#2 2014-01-28 23:35:38

slithery
Member
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 799

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

What does your /etc/resolv.conf look like?

Offline

#3 2014-01-28 23:47:21

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,433

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Also, are you behind a router?  Are you using static or dynamic addressing?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#4 2014-01-29 16:03:56

Plaristote
Member
Registered: 2012-02-07
Posts: 31

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

The resolv.conf is empty, I use dynamic addressing, and I am behind a router.

Though I am not a sysadmin here, so I have no access to said router. The only piece of material I'm authorized to touch is my switch.

My second computer is connected to the same switch and has no problem solving names. So I didn't think it could come from anything else than my own machine.

Offline

#5 2014-01-29 16:58:46

andy123
Member
Registered: 2011-11-04
Posts: 169
Website

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Plaristote wrote:

The resolv.conf is empty […]

That's most likely your problem. The resolv.conf contains the dns server(s) you use and optionally some other stuff.

Your dhcp should put them there, but seemingly fail to do so. You can edit the file manually, although it might be overwritten (e.g. by dhcpcd or NetworkManager).

Simply put an entry in the following format in it

nameserver <your nameserver ip here>

i'm sorry for my poor english wirting skills…

Offline

#6 2014-01-29 17:43:23

jpgg
Member
Registered: 2014-01-15
Posts: 43

Re: Name resolution systematically fails

Just to make sure : have you modified /etc/resolvconf.conf ? You probably didn't, but it should contain this line :

resolv_conf=/etc/resolv.conf

EDIT : Did you try to run 'dhcpcd <interface-name>' ? What is the output?

Last edited by jpgg (2014-01-29 17:49:00)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB