You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-31 03:23:25

NateDogg1232
Member
Registered: 2018-12-31
Posts: 3

IPv6 issues

Hello! I'm attempting to install arch on my main desktop (I've installed arch about three times before) and I'm running into some IPv6 issues which I've never run into before.

Just as anybody should, I tried to ping archlinux.org
This returned the response from ping:

From homeportal (2600:1700:4460:2070::1): imcp_seq=1 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
...

I tried pinging 8.8.8.8 and this worked. I tried pinging my webpage which I host in my home. I knew this was an IPv4 interface, as my ISP doesn't support IPv6. This worked just fine.

I tried pinging a specific IPv6 address outside of my network (this ended up being 2001:470:1:18::119 which is used by the test-ipv6.com website) and it came out with Address unreachable too.

I did some digging, and found that perhaps I was not being assigned the correct address from my router. I checked in my router settings, and sure enough, I wasn't. The router had assigned me a different IPv6 address than what I was given. So I ran

ip address add 2600:1700:4460:2070::43a/64 dev enp4s0

or something similar. It's been a few hours since I tried this.

This didn't work. I was still getting the same error. So I went into the Network Configuration page of the wiki to no avail. So I used Google to find some other stuff. I tried some of them, and none of them worked.

At this point I rebooted back into the installation environment with a fresh start, started over from the beginning. I was hoping something may have happened since I started that is just preventing me from continuing.

Still nothing.

Finally, I stumbled across the IPv6 article on the Wiki. This looked promising.

I tried the first command that was there which was to get all hosts in link-local scope:

ping ff02::1%enp4s0

. This returned this response:

64 bytes from fe80::425c:9fa3:fe14:b1cc%enp4s0: icmp_seq=1... (I am typing these out by hand... Gimme a break)
64 bytes from fe80::fe3f:dbff:fed9:9924%enp4s0: icmp_seq=1... (DUP!)
{duplicate packets from 4 other IPs}

I don't know what having multiple hosts means for me, but let's continue a bit. I executed the same ping but for ff02::2 to get only the routers.

64 bytes from fe80::e222:4ff:fe35:3675%enp4s0: icmp_seq=1...
64 bytes from fe80::e222:4ff:fe35:3675%enp4s0: icmp_seq=2...
...

This ping returns no duplicate packets. I think the duplicates in the first one mean there are other clients on the network which are using IPv6 but I don't know. This is only an assumption.

Finally, I execute the next command listed, which returns the neighbors on the network

ip -6 neigh

and this returns some neighbors which are on the network. This returned many different devices beginning with fe80:: and one which began with 2600:. The one beginning with 2600: is my laptop which is running arch now. All of these are ending with the tag

STALE

except for one with

router DELAY

and one with

router STALE

And this is where I am now. I am at a complete loss on what I should do.

I love Arch which is why I wanted to replace it from the KDE Neon installation I had before on here. I had tried ArchLabs but the installer thought it was funny to delete my Windows bootloader and I am not installing that again. (I watched it happen in the logs with horror...)

Offline

#2 2018-12-31 04:12:22

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,658
Website

Re: IPv6 issues

From homeportal (2600:1700:4460:2070::1): imcp_seq=1 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable

The packets are reaching your router (I'm guessing that's what the above address belongs to), but it doesn't know how to get to the rest of the IPv6 internet (ie, a default route).

NateDogg1232 wrote:

....my ISP doesn't support IPv6.

Probably because of this, but I'm assuming you have a HE tunnel or similar set up that you haven't shared with us?

Offline

#3 2018-12-31 04:15:13

NateDogg1232
Member
Registered: 2018-12-31
Posts: 3

Re: IPv6 issues

I do not. It's listed that Arch uses IPv6 by default. My router gives out IPv6 addresses to local machines, but only supports IPv4 internet. Could this be why this is happening?

Offline

#4 2018-12-31 04:23:52

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,658
Website

Re: IPv6 issues

Arch supports IPv6, like any recent Linux distribution. But it's not capable of providing IPv6 connectivity any more than installing an operating system provides an internet connection.

Without native IPv6 connectivity from your ISP, you will need to set up something like a Hurricane Electric IPv6 tunnel if you want to use IPv6: https://tunnelbroker.net/

Offline

#5 2018-12-31 04:25:53

NateDogg1232
Member
Registered: 2018-12-31
Posts: 3

Re: IPv6 issues

Is there any way I can disable the support for the IPv6 so that I can get on with installing Arch? I had issues with connectivity with many websites and some of the pacman mirrors due to it.

Should I just turn off support with my router? I can't see a reason to have it enabled.

Offline

#6 2018-12-31 04:51:03

circleface
Member
Registered: 2012-05-26
Posts: 635

Re: IPv6 issues

I would just turn off support at the router level if your ISP doesn't support it.  I guess you could use it on your LAN, but what is really the point?  Personally I stick to IPv4 on my LAN and internet since my ISP doesn't support IPv6.

Offline

#7 2018-12-31 11:30:17

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,658
Website

Re: IPv6 issues

You can either turn it off on the router if your ISP doesn't support it, or disable it on your machine: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/IPv6#Disable_IPv6

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB