You are not logged in.

#1 2019-03-26 09:07:38

shemot

[SOLVED] Cannot install sudo [invalid url for server]

Hello mates, big time noob here

Just went through my very first installation of Arch Linux (woot !).

Everything went pretty swell for the most part. EXCEPT now I want to add a sudoer user. I created the user using useradd -m username -- at this point the wiki said that I should use the visudo command to edit the sudoers file or whatnot.

Though the visudo command was not found but after a little googling I found that I actually need to install sudo. No problem.

However I can't seem to install sudo. In fact I can't really seem to update or install anything - the only thing that worked was installing archlinux-keyring. It finds the packages, gives me the [Y/n] prompt, but cannot install them.

Every attempt gives me a list of errors saying "failed retrieving file X from mirrorY : could not resolve host: mirrorY"

It ends with a final error "failed to commit transaction (invalid url for server)" - these are the default US mirrors from the installation.

In my curiosity I tried to ping Google at 8.8.8.8, and surprisingly it's saying "Network is unreachable" - which strikes me as odd since it's finding the package and asking me to confirm that I want to install is before failing.

Now I'm completely stumped. Does anyone have any clue what I could be doing wrong?

Last edited by shemot (2019-03-26 10:57:30)

#2 2019-03-26 09:26:58

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot install sudo [invalid url for server]

Welcome to the boards, shemot.

The "find the packages" and the "Y/n" operations act on your local package database, before an internet connection is attempted. archlinux-keyring was likely still in the cache as it is an essential part of the base package, and thus could be reinstalled from there rather than going over the server.