You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-28 12:20:43

mrtx
Member
Registered: 2020-02-28
Posts: 3

how to create a transparent, public network bridge?

Hello arch-users,

I try to create a transparent, public bridge as it is described here for debian, redhat and suse:
https://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Networking#Public_Bridge

I want my virtual machines to behave as they were in the same subnet as the hardware clients, so mutual access will work.

I did not get that result following these instructions:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Network_bridge

Someone has an idea how to do it in Arch?

Friendly regards
mrtx

Offline

#2 2020-02-28 15:15:45

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,097

Re: how to create a transparent, public network bridge?

Offline

#3 2020-02-28 15:29:30

mrtx
Member
Registered: 2020-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: how to create a transparent, public network bridge?

I am getting a private bridge as described here:

https://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Networki … ual_Bridge

Offline

#4 2020-02-29 17:45:59

mrtx
Member
Registered: 2020-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: how to create a transparent, public network bridge?

Solved.

I managed to setup a transparent public bridge using netctl, following the wiki here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bridge_with_netctl

My setup looks like this now:

/etc/netctl/bridge

Description="Bridge eth0"
Interface=br0
Connection=bridge
BindsToInterfaces=(eth0)
IP=no
ExecUpPost="ip link set dev br0 address $(cat /sys/class/net/eth0/address); IP=dhcp; ip_set"
ExecDownPre="IP=dhcp"

## Ignore (R)STP and immediately activate the bridge
SkipForwardingDelay=yes

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB