You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-22 08:39:45

ikithme
Member
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 28

Lock screen?

Ok this is a bit hard to explain. When I upgraded to gnome 2.24 I set my screensaver to blank and set the option to have a password dialogue box to pop when I try to get back in. All fine and dandy. But now when I move the mouse it displays the blade of grass from previous gnome instead of the black screen it used to show. How in the world do I get to to be unlock screen on black background again?

Offline

#2 2008-10-22 12:24:47

timetrap
Member
From: Here and There
Registered: 2008-06-05
Posts: 342
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Posting a few screen shots may help us help you.

Offline

#3 2008-10-22 12:48:22

tntcoda
Member
Registered: 2007-07-24
Posts: 115

Re: Lock screen?

I have this same problem, its definently something new with 2.24. I really hope theres somewhere it can be turned off?

Basically the lock screen now has a custom background defined (grass), where as previously it was just black.

Offline

#4 2008-10-22 13:03:15

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,664

Re: Lock screen?

The recent gnome-screensaver should read your background preferences from gconf to show the same background as your normal desktop background. It's bugged however, which makes it always show the default background. A bug is already reported upstream, but there's no action taken on it yet.

Offline

#5 2008-10-22 13:28:41

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Lock screen?

JGC wrote:

The recent gnome-screensaver should read your background preferences from gconf to show the same background as your normal desktop background. It's bugged however, which makes it always show the default background. A bug is already reported upstream, but there's no action taken on it yet.

And what if you don't set your background with gnome/nautilus ?


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#6 2008-10-22 21:51:43

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Having this problem too. Will wait for upstream to fix smile

Offline

#7 2008-10-22 22:46:01

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Lock screen?

In the meantime we can all just create an all black image and save it as /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg big_smile


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#8 2008-11-11 16:42:39

LordChaos73
Member
From: .nl
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 152

Re: Lock screen?

Seems like this is not a bug at all:

http://svn.gnome.org/viewvc/gnome-scree … ision=1438

Offline

#9 2008-11-11 21:41:19

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Well that's annoying hmm

Offline

#10 2008-11-29 16:08:25

pootzko
Member
From: Nerdvana
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Lock screen?

replacing /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg with another picture does not solve it on my comp.. now I just get a full green screen instead of this greeny grass big_smile
hope they fix it soon


...I put on my robe and a wizard hat...

Offline

#11 2009-01-13 15:38:57

flowheat
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 94

Re: Lock screen?

pootzko wrote:

replacing /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg with another picture does not solve it on my comp.. now I just get a full green screen instead of this greeny grass big_smile
hope they fix it soon

Same thing happens for me, really quite annoying.

Any update on when/if this will be fixed upstream?

Offline

#12 2009-01-13 21:34:56

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Are your permissions and ownership on the file correct?

$ ll /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 136K 2008-11-12 09:23 /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg

Last edited by fukawi2 (2009-01-13 21:35:11)

Offline

#13 2009-01-14 00:40:46

flowheat
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 94

Re: Lock screen?

 ls -l /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/
total 744
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root   4096 2008-09-27 17:04 abstract
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 265046 2009-01-13 10:35 background-default.jpg
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 477420 2009-01-13 10:35 background-default.jpg.bak
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root   4096 2008-09-27 17:04 nature

Looks right to me.

Offline

#14 2009-01-14 02:46:27

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Re: Lock screen?

That's strange -- I'm out of ideas, sorry hmm

Offline

#15 2009-01-14 13:27:43

flowheat
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 94

Re: Lock screen?

Thanks for trying anyway.  Not a real showstopper just a minor annoyance.

Offline

#16 2009-01-14 15:07:59

arch_nemesis
Member
Registered: 2008-12-19
Posts: 115

Re: Lock screen?

^^FWIW Changing the default image *did* work for me, so there's something else in play here.  I don't know what to think it would be, however.

Offline

#17 2009-01-14 22:12:37

flummoxed
Member
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 21

Re: Lock screen?

How exactly do you *disable* this option entirely? I've lazily looked through menus, but I haven't found anything on it...

Offline

#18 2009-01-14 22:20:22

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Offline

#19 2009-01-17 01:07:20

pootzko
Member
From: Nerdvana
Registered: 2008-06-23
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Lock screen?

it has been some time since then (so some updates were made), and now i tried replacing the image again and it worked...


...I put on my robe and a wizard hat...

Offline

#20 2009-07-07 16:53:21

lamnk
Member
Registered: 2008-01-30
Posts: 65
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Bump ...

Changing /usr/share/pixmaps/backgrounds/gnome/background-default.jpg doesnt help, my lock screen background is now always grey

Offline

#21 2010-01-03 05:54:08

azul
Member
From: New York
Registered: 2009-06-20
Posts: 5

Re: Lock screen?

You want to look at /etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults/%gconf-tree.xml

Specifically, you want the section:

<dir name="background">
                    ...
                    <entry name="secondary_color" mtime="1262491977" type="schema" stype="string" owner="gnome">
                        <local_schema locale="C" short_desc="Secondary Color">
                            <default type="string">
                                <stringvalue>#1166aa</stringvalue>
                            </default>
                            <longdesc>Right or Bottom color when drawing gradients, not used for solid color.</longdesc>
                        </local_schema>
                    </entry>
                    <entry name="primary_color" mtime="1262491977" type="schema" stype="string" owner="gnome">
                        <local_schema locale="C" short_desc="Primary Color">
                            <default type="string">
                                <stringvalue>#1166aa</stringvalue>
                            </default>
                            <longdesc>Left or Top color when drawing gradients, or the solid color.</longdesc>
                        </local_schema>
                    </entry>
                    ...
</dir>

Those hex values are by default #66ba00 if you want to search for them that way (assuming you haven't changed these somehow), but this is indeed the perpetrating codeblock. The trick here is that you must reboot in order to see results! Other parts of this code let you change the path to the background image, as opposed to copying over the default, etc. tongue

Hope this helps!

Offline

#22 2010-02-15 05:41:47

ZeroTruths
Member
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 77

Re: Lock screen?

I know this is an old thread, but I'm going to bump it for good reason.
I ran into this problem as well, and as a solution, I created a simlink to my current wallpaper. It worked the first time (making sure permissions remained the same)

Offline

#23 2010-02-15 21:58:56

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,614
Website

Re: Lock screen?

Gnome has a "Make Default" button on the wallpaper selection window now big_smile

Offline

#24 2010-03-24 00:41:43

sjb933
Member
Registered: 2007-01-18
Posts: 113

Re: Lock screen?

Hey fukawi, where is this claimed "Make Default" button.  I don't see it.

-Shane

Offline

#25 2010-03-24 10:11:58

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Lock screen?

It's a fedora patch, it's not there in vanilla gnome.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB