You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-11 11:53:22

hauntergeist

How to build a server

Hello.

I am completely new to real hardware servers. I want to build a little home server to
- store my data in a centralized way, make backups and to share some files in my home
- it should be a low-energy system, so that I preserve the environment and my wallet roll
- it should be easy to configure, i.e. don't waste hours of studying man pages to figure out what options I can give to a command and _no_ geek-style script writing.

The problem is, I don't know where to start. I don't even know what hardware and software I should choose or how to install a OS (preferably Arch) or any other software on it since a server doesn't has a monitor.

I know that there is this Comprehensive Server Guide but it is not yet written and at the moment it doesn't cover everything that a bloody newbie like me needs to know to build an own server.

I appreciate any help.

#2 2009-04-11 12:02:38

bender02

Re: How to build a server

This might contain come suggestions: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=61662 (there also are some devices that don't need any extra installing)

#3 2009-04-11 12:16:57

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
Website

Server is very open ended, you set up a basic system then add the apps you need.... what are you going to use server for? is it for local network or for remote ?

There are plenty of guides on the web...

Going to have a read of wiki page

Mr Green

#4 2009-04-11 18:55:10

JT

Ask around for anyone that has an old box laying in their garage.
That's how I started testing around.

I would opt for a bare system installation, then you can install software based on your needs.

Last edited by JT (2009-04-11 18:57:22)

#5 2009-04-11 19:11:13

bender02

JT wrote:

Ask around for anyone that has an old box laying in their garage.
That's how I started testing around.