You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-06 19:13:30

TomB17

[SOLVED] IPList howto

Is there an IPList howto?  If there is, I couldn't find it.  ... so I'll throw it in here.

Step 1: First, you need access to the AUR.  There are several pages on it, none all that accessible to an absolute newbie so...

I recommend yaourt.  I recommend it based on getting it, using it, and having it work.  I have not tried any others.

Instructions can be found here -> http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Yaourt

I did the "Easy Install".  It worked.

Step 2: Get IPList from AUR.

Run this as an unprivileged user -> "yaourt -S iplist"

Answer the questions it asks.

Step 3: Fetch the block lists.

Run this -> "ipblock -u"

Step 4: Start ipblock

Run this -> "/etc/rc.d/ipblock start"

Step 5: add ipblock to your startup config.

Edit /etc/rc.conf and add ipblock right after your firewall.

Note: ipblock needs to run after your firewall to be relevant

*** hope this helps someone ***

Last edited by TomB17 (2009-09-06 19:32:03)

#2 2009-09-06 20:43:36

tomk
Forum Fellow

Re: [SOLVED] IPList howto

TomB17 wrote:

Is there an IPList howto?  If there is, I couldn't find it.  ...

Yeah,, it was hidden away on this obscure website called iplist.sourceforge.net. tongue

Remember -  docs about things you do with Archlinux don't have to be on archlinux.org to be useful.

And one observation - you may find the AUR inaccessible, others may not, particularly the kind of user that Arch is intended for. Rather than recommend yaourt, I would simply link to the iplist page in the AUR and let the user decide which build/install method suits them best.

#3 2009-09-06 23:19:22

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
Website

If this kind of information is missing from the wiki (which you linked to), why not add it to the wiki so others can find it in the future, instead of hiding it away in an obscure forum post....?

#4 2009-09-08 04:41:38

TomB17

tomk wrote: