You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-24 02:27:10

merrill541

SSH - Is my setup secure?

Hello everyone,

Recently, my ssh server was hacked into with a brute force attack and then my whole system was compromised by someone using the wunderbar emporium hack. Luckily I caught them in the act and installed a new, preferable, operating system (previously it was Debian). Obviously I do not want them to hack into my server again so I am taking some security precautions.

1. Ridiculously complicated passwords
2. Disabled root login
3. Used iptables

I have never used iptables before, and currently I am only using the rules:

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --set --name SSH -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m recent --update --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --rttl --name SSH -j LOG --log-prefix "SSH_brute_force "
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m recent --update --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --rttl --name SSH -j DROP

Are these rules decent (I did a small test by trying to log in three times in a row and it seemed to work)?

How can I make these rules be set at boot and taken down at shutdown?

Also, is my best option for preventing against kernel exploits grsecurity?

Are these methods secure, or is there more I can do?

Thank you

#2 2009-11-24 05:25:54

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
Website

Re: SSH - Is my setup secure?

merrill541 wrote:

1. Ridiculously complicated passwords
2. Disabled root login
3. Used iptables

All good ideas. I'd suggest changing SSH to another port if possible (ie, 2222 or 53956 etc. Any random port that isn't used for anything else.)

merrill541 wrote:

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --set --name SSH -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m recent --update --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --rttl --name SSH -j LOG --log-prefix "SSH_brute_force "
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m recent --update --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --rttl --name SSH -j DROP