You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-09 10:27:53

duquesnc
Member
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 94
Website

Polipo not starting properly

I've put polipo in my rc.conf to start when I reboot. However, after a fresh reboot, it is not started properly (the browser cannot access the web). If I restart it manually, it works just fine. How can I have it started properly?

Here is my daemon list in /etc/rc.conf

DAEMONS=(
    syslog-ng
    !network
    netfs
    crond
    hal
    @wicd
    @alsa
    @avahi-daemon
    @avahi-dnsconfd
    @cpufreq
    @openntpd
    @sshd
    @xinetd
    @cups
    @fuse
    @privoxy
    @polipo
)

Offline

#2 2009-12-10 00:04:59

denton
Member
Registered: 2009-12-05
Posts: 13

Re: Polipo not starting properly

Post /var/log/polipo

Are you routing with polipo/privoxy?

Also, this might be irrelevant, but try starting polipo before the network. I have it set up this way, yet it might be just coincidental with the fact that my polipo setup working as expected.

Offline

#3 2010-01-02 22:58:14

duquesnc
Member
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 94
Website

Re: Polipo not starting properly

Here is how I use polipo:

browser <-> privoxy <-> polipo <-> internet

I did not set up a config file for polipo, as advised in some tutorials, so everything is default.

I use the default privoxy config file, and I only modified one thing: I set up my local polipo as the parent proxy, using

        forward   /      localhost:8123

Here is my /var/log/polipo (I just cleaned it, restarted the computer, tried to visit launchpad.net)

Established listening socket on port 8123.
Established listening socket on port 8123.
Established listening socket on port 8123.
Couldn't send DNS query: Connection refused
Falling back on gethostbyname.
Getaddrinfo failed: Temporary name server failure
Host launchpad.net lookup failed: Getaddrinfo failed: Temporary name server failure (131072).

After restarting the polipo process, the page is displayed and here is the logfile.

Established listening socket on port 8123.
Established listening socket on port 8123.
Established listening socket on port 8123.
Couldn't send DNS query: Connection refused
Falling back on gethostbyname.
Getaddrinfo failed: Temporary name server failure
Host launchpad.net lookup failed: Getaddrinfo failed: Temporary name server failure (131072).
Established listening socket on port 8123.

I tried your tip of starting polipo before the network, but it does not work.

Offline

#4 2010-01-02 23:02:32

pwd
Member
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 13

Re: Polipo not starting properly

What polipo pkg are you using?

Offline

#5 2010-01-05 01:42:53

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 339

Re: Polipo not starting properly

You probably should set up a config file just so you know what options are being used, etc.

It should be in /etc/polipo and there probably is a sample config named "polipo.config".  I'd copy that to 'config' and use it as a base and go from there.

Your log indicates issues with the DNS.  Polipo has an unusual way of handling DNS: http://www.pps.jussieu.fr/~jch/software … l/DNS.html which might relate to your issues.

http://www.pps.jussieu.fr/~jch/software/polipo/faq.html
http://www.pps.jussieu.fr/~jch/software … olipo.html

Offline

#6 2010-03-18 14:41:31

choubi
Member
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 15

Re: Polipo not starting properly

I had this problem and solved/worked around it by setting dnsNameServer to the IP of my ISP's dns server.

Offline

#7 2010-03-31 06:28:23

Daemonjax
Member
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 42

Re: Polipo not starting properly

add:

sleep 10

near the beginning of your polipo daemon bash script in /etc/rc.d/ ... somewhere after "start)"....  and be sure to background the daemon in /etc/rc.conf

Should solve your troubles.

Offline

#8 2014-01-11 11:39:32

kvtb
Member
Registered: 2014-01-11
Posts: 18

Re: Polipo not starting properly

to fix the DNS error, there is (with systemd)  a much more elegant approach

Just edit /usr/lib/systemd/system/polipo.service
and include the line

Wants=network-online.target

just below the line
After=network.target

I'm posting my suggestion in this thread, since this thread is being referenced by the WIKI page on Polipo.
A bugreport was made with the request to have this fixed in the polipo pkg.

Last edited by kvtb (2014-01-11 19:14:13)

Offline

#9 2014-03-27 09:42:50

jagguli
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 5

Re: Polipo not starting properly

Could you please post the bug id/link. Thanks

Last edited by jagguli (2014-03-27 09:43:11)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB