You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-11 07:59:33

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

Today I have opened https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/29387 Now it is closed as duplicated. I don't understand how to find initial task. I have tried to search tasks with 'gcc' context - nothing related. At current case the issue is "today issue" by nature - new packages in core repo. OK, I'm subscribed to tasks news feeder - nothing related.

So what is that robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates?


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#2 2012-04-11 08:31:30

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

When you're doing a search on the bugtracker, you'll see a button called "advanced" next to your text input field. Clicking on that will show you that by default you're only searching for BR's with an "open" status. You can change that to "All Statuses" for a thorough search.


Burninate!

Offline

#3 2012-04-11 08:34:53

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

Sorry, I didn't clarify I have used searching with "All Statuses" selected.


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#4 2012-04-11 09:00:25

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

Well, don't know what else to say. I just did a search for "gcc-libs" myself on the bugtracker (all statuses) and I get quite a few results with exactly the same issue you reported.

Sorting them by date or ID obviously helps in quickly spotting recent similar issues.

Last edited by Gcool (2012-04-11 09:02:50)


Burninate!

Offline

#5 2012-04-11 09:23:13

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

Aha, thanks, I see now. The search engine doesn't treat '-' as delimiter: with 'gcc' context it doesn't find 'gcc-libs'. Not sure it is expected behavior.


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#6 2012-04-11 11:56:07

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

bugt () 
{ 
    $BROWSER "https://bugs.archlinux.org/index/proj0?string=$*&project=0&search_name=&type%5B0%5D=&sev%5B0%5D=&pri%5B0%5D=&due%5B0%5D=&reported%5B0%5D=&cat%5B0%5D=&status%5B0%5D=&percent%5B0%5D=&opened=&dev=&closed=&duedatefrom=&duedateto=&changedfrom=&changedto=&openedfrom=&openedto=&closedfrom=&closedto=&do=index&order=id&sort=desc"
}

I type

bugt gcc-libs

and get a list of bug reports (including the closed ones) sorted by ID, descending.

Also, https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=133906

Offline

#7 2012-04-11 12:04:45

student975
Member
From: Russian Federation
Registered: 2011-03-05
Posts: 603

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

@karol

Sorry, I don't see how your message is related to my issue. The issue was: bug-tracker  search engine doesn't treat '-' char as delimiter. As a result, the engine doesn't show 'gcc-libs'-containing items when 'gcc' search context is using. At the moment of opening that issue there were not any similar issues with 'gcc' context (again, 'gcc' rather 'gcc-libs').

Last edited by student975 (2012-04-11 12:19:54)


"I exist" is the best myth I know..

Offline

#8 2012-04-11 16:15:11

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: robust way to search tasks to avoid duplicates

Are you sure you can't find e.g. https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/27986 just by searching for 'gcc'? Please try again.
Can you please be more specific what do you mean by 'context'? Is is the phrase you typed in the search box?

People file the bugs in different ways, under pacman, under gcc etc. It creates a lot of noise and most gcc-related bug reports don't concern your issue.


Have you searched the forums before filing the bug report? The issue is not new, even if the version numbers changed:
* https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1062705
* https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1057709
* https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=139103

You can solve it the same way as https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135702
I admit it's not clear if it's the same issue or not. If the developer treats all such reports as duplicates of https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/27214 w/o explicitly stating this, it can easily turn into guesswork on part of the submitter.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB