You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-08 12:55:53

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

DLNA Server Not Found

I have a machine that does everything, it's my router, WirelessAP(s), NAS, etc. and I've set up a DLNA server on it, but it's not being seen by any DLNA compliant devices (DLNA apps on Android Tablet or a WDTV Live). I've tried both MiniDLNA and MediaTomb (not at the same time) and they both seem to run and work fine on the server, but no devices ever pick them up.

Is there likely to be something I need to do to get this working in addition to just installing them? I thought it may be a port related issue so I installed and set up miniUPnPd as well, but that doesn't seem to have helped.

IPTables only has one rule and that's to allow MASQ, so NAT to access the internet. It's not blocking anything.

Any ideas on what's likely to be the cause here?

Random machine info, let me know if you'd like some other information that I haven't listed.

root@emerald ~ $ netstat --inet -nlp
Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:953           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      641/named
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:51677           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      28863/miniupnpd
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:445             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1390/smbd
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:222             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1007/sshd
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:9000            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1969/mono
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:139             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1390/smbd
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:5900            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2078/x11vnc
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8080            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1696/transmission-d
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8081            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1895/python2
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8082            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1743/python2
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8083            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1696/transmission-d
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8084            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1718/python2
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8085            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1860/python2
tcp        0      0 10.0.0.2:53             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      641/named
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:53            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      641/named
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8086            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      29420/mediatomb
root@emerald ~ $ ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: lan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc mq master br0 state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:18:58:45:f4 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:18:58:45:f6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: lan1: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 4000 qdisc pfifo_fast master br0 state DOWN mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ether 50:e5:49:ed:c9:20 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
5: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master br0 state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ether 90:f6:52:0d:c4:82 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
6: wlan1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master br0 state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:c0:ca:53:e2:16 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
7: br0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP mode DEFAULT
    link/ether 00:10:18:58:45:f4 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
22: mon.wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ieee802.11/radiotap 90:f6:52:0d:c4:82 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
23: mon.wlan1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
    link/ieee802.11/radiotap 00:c0:ca:53:e2:16 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Offline

#2 2012-09-20 23:14:49

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

No-one have any idea? I'm still having this issue. DLNA servers will show up briefly after they are started (i.e. MiniDLNA or Mediatomb) but they may not work and disappear shortly afterwards anyway.

Offline

#3 2012-09-25 09:22:45

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

Fixed this, turns out I needed to set the bridge to PROMISC mode. Odd that this isn't mentioned anywhere though so I wonder what is unique in my setup?

Offline

#4 2012-09-26 16:52:28

zenlord
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 1,207
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

Only saw your post right now. Never heard of that setting - care to add it to the wiki? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Streaming_media

Offline

#5 2012-09-26 16:53:52

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

I'd like to figure out why I needed to do this first, I cannot see any mention anywhere on the net about needing to do this. Additionally I've seen it brought up several places that creating a network bridge automatically makes the interface(s) promiscuous, in that case, why do I need to set mine manually?

Offline

#6 2012-09-26 17:07:39

TheSaint
Member
From: my computer
Registered: 2007-08-19
Posts: 1,365

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

I had PS3mediaServer and now miniDLNA.
The first offer transcoding, but I gave it up because I couldn't find the way to start it after boot.
MiniDLNA is small and starts just fine, only need to check that the connection is ready. So I put a cron job to check every 2 minutes by pinging the router, then restart miniDLNA.
This way is OK, some time doesn't link due by router heavy traffic.


do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

Offline

#7 2012-09-26 17:09:33

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

None of them worked for me. I tried both MediaTomb and MiniDLNA. They would appear for a few seconds and then never be seen again until I enabled PROMISC on the br0 interface, now they all work fine (obviously not at the same time).

The programs were running fine and continued to run, they weren't crashing.

Offline

#8 2012-09-26 17:19:53

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 458
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

AFAIK, DLNA clients will only see DLNA servers on the same subnet. For instance, my wireless used to be on 192.168.204.x and my wired on 192.168.203.x. And that meant that none of the devices on wireless could "see" the DLNA server (in this case MediaTomb) on the server, which was on the wired subnet.

Not sure if this applies here though. Just thinking that maybe PROMISC mode shares all packets with all networks or something.


My tech blog: Daemon Dancing in the Dark
My Arch Linux blog: ArChatter

Offline

#9 2012-09-26 17:21:57

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

Nope, not that either (that is something else I saw mentioned). All devices are in the 10.0.0.X range (server is 10.0.0.2, all other devices are allocated between 10.0.0.100-200).

My full network setup, in case it's relevant, is below (now with added allmulti and promisc):

	rfkill unblock all
	iw set reg GB

	brctl addbr br0
	brctl stp br0 on

	brctl addif br0 lan0
	brctl addif br0 lan1

	ip link set lan0 up
	ip link set lan1 up
	ip link set wan0 up
	ip link set br0 up

	ip link set lan0 mtu 9000
	ip link set lan1 mtu 4000

	ip addr add 10.0.0.2/24 broadcast 10.0.0.255 dev br0
	route add -net 239.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 br0
	ifconfig br0 allmulti promisc

	dhclient -nw -w wan0

wlan0 and wlan1 are then added to the bridge by HostAPD.

Last edited by Enverex (2012-09-26 17:23:17)

Offline

#10 2012-09-26 17:32:41

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 458
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

I'm not familiar with your net setup, but are you sure the DLNA server was listening on the right interface? What is lan0 and lan1?


My tech blog: Daemon Dancing in the Dark
My Arch Linux blog: ArChatter

Offline

#11 2012-09-26 17:35:33

Enverex
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 117
Website

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

MediaTomb is configured to listen on "br0" which is the only interface that has an IP address, all the rest are simply bridged together.

wan0 connects to the modem.
lan0 connects to the internal network.
lan1 is currently spare and doesn't do anything.
wlan0 is one wireless network AP.
wlan1 is a secondary wireless network AP.

None of the interfaces are assigned their own IPs, only the bridge is given an IP (as it's bridging all the adapters, there's no point them having their own IPs).

Offline

#12 2012-09-27 13:50:28

TheSaint
Member
From: my computer
Registered: 2007-08-19
Posts: 1,365

Re: DLNA Server Not Found

I don't know whether is relevant here.
My HDTV is wired and DLNA server(s- if I set smartphone as server) is(are) wireless, all other in the house are PC which would rather fetch the file and stream it for playing in VLC or mplayer. But all are getting IP by dhcp.
When the router is high loaded then is most problem to catch up the server and may fail to show up.

Last edited by TheSaint (2012-09-27 13:54:33)


do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB