You are not logged in.

#726 2013-03-07 21:23:36

cip91
Member
Registered: 2011-09-27
Posts: 6

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

There is  /opt/fah/log.txt , and others in /opt/fah/logs. However, if it works in wine, maybe you can use the windows exes; if you follow this guide you can use the windows binaries to fold, but having comforts such as the update via the repository or the use of the daemon.

Offline

#727 2013-03-09 12:49:48

xedi
Member
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I just noticed that my locale setting were not properly applied to the system and also other packages gave warnings (though only FAH failed to run), so it shouldn't be a specific problem. However, right now there seems to be a connection problem, makepkg can't download the files, so I can't test right now whether the Linux version would work now.

Edit: Works now, yey!
'

Last edited by xedi (2013-03-09 14:42:38)

Offline

#728 2013-06-26 23:12:12

LowEndGeek
Member
From: Redlands, CA
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 9
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I just added myself to the team, not sure how much my little laptop that could can do but I know every bit helps.

Offline

#729 2013-09-21 21:20:41

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Congratulations to quad3datwork on becoming the new Arch linux folding team's overall points leader.

Cheers man.

Pudge

Offline

#730 2013-11-18 23:42:56

quad3d@work
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 81
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Thank you!

Pudge wrote:

Congratulations to quad3datwork on becoming the new Arch linux folding team's overall points leader.

Cheers man.

Pudge

Offline

#731 2013-11-20 03:10:21

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Looking over the team results, it looks like we have a few new members in the top 20 producers.

mrchris75
adam777
microjoint
icstef2

Welcome all to the Arch Linux F@H team.

Regards

Pudge

Offline

#732 2013-11-25 21:34:47

LordArturito
Member
Registered: 2012-11-02
Posts: 3

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I'm in, just joined yesterday smile

I will have to get better cooling for my system since summer here is no joke.
Meanwhile I'll contribute with light settings.

Offline

#733 2013-12-21 19:00:28

dmartins
Member
Registered: 2006-09-23
Posts: 316

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all,

I've just rejoined the team after a longer than intended break. It looks like the last time I did any folding was Sept 2011 and only for a short time.

After some trial and error I managed to get the Linux client running on both my CPU and GPU. Slot 0 is running on a Nvidia GTX 470 and Slot 1 is running on four out of six cores of an AMD Phenom II x6 1055T. I'll experiement with the CPU client on four, five, and six cores to see which gets the best PPD when combined with the GPU client.

Currently FAHControl is estimating 30 000 PPD.

In order to get the GPU folding to work on Linux, you need to set the GPU client-type to advanced. Also make sure you have installed opencl-nvidia.

[dmartins@sirschmoopy fah]$ pacman -Q foldingathome nvidia opencl-nvidia
foldingathome 7.3.6-1
nvidia 331.20-2
opencl-nvidia 331.20-1

<config>
  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <gpu v='true'/>
  <power v='full'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
    <client-type v='advanced'/>
  </slot>
  <slot id='1' type='CPU'>
    <cpus v='4'/>
  </slot>
</config>


-- Dan

Offline

#734 2013-12-21 21:58:41

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

dmartins wrote:

Hi all, ...

I'm using CPU+GPU, too. But the main problem is that when I use any desktop environment while GPU is folding, the DE is pratically unusable.

Offline

#735 2013-12-22 12:36:50

dmartins
Member
Registered: 2006-09-23
Posts: 316

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

trapanator wrote:

I'm using CPU+GPU, too. But the main problem is that when I use any desktop environment while GPU is folding, the DE is pratically unusable.

I'm using Cinnamon for my DE and find it's still quite usable except flash video won't play very well. In this case, I switch the "Folding Power" setting from Full to Medium using FAHControl or the FAHClient web interface (http://localhost:7396/). This turns off the GPU folding unless the PC is idle.

There's currently no way to reduce GPU usage. At one point there was a "gpu-usage" flag that took a percentage value but it's been deprecated. See: https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=25313


-- Dan

Offline

#736 2014-02-14 08:59:34

xeekei
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2012-12-06
Posts: 47

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hello. I have tried joining this team. This is my first time folding using something else than BOINC.
After following the wiki instructions, I get a failure message that the wiki doesn't mention.

[xeekei@tank ~]$ sudo /opt/fah/FAHClient --configure
09:00:30:ERROR:Exception: locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid

Does anyone have a clue how to fix this? Thanks!

Update:
After further inspection I've noticed that the error message says "09:00:30" which is one hour behind my local time. My local timezone is CET (UTC+1).

Last edited by xeekei (2014-02-14 09:02:44)

Offline

#737 2014-02-14 09:54:53

dmartins
Member
Registered: 2006-09-23
Posts: 316

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

It looks like this could be due to setting variables in /etc/locale.conf to a locale which has not been generated on your system. For example, I have the following in locale.conf:

LANG="en_CA.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="C"
LANGUAGE="en_CA"

In /etc/locale.gen I have uncommented:

en_CA.UTF-8 UTF-8 
en_CA ISO-8859-1

and then run locale-gen


-- Dan

Offline

#738 2014-02-14 12:46:14

xeekei
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2012-12-06
Posts: 47

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

dmartins wrote:

It looks like this could be due to setting variables in /etc/locale.conf to a locale which has not been generated on your system. For example, I have the following in locale.conf:

LANG="en_CA.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="C"
LANGUAGE="en_CA"

In /etc/locale.gen I have uncommented:

en_CA.UTF-8 UTF-8 
en_CA ISO-8859-1

and then run locale-gen

So you're saying I need to uncomment the ISO-version too? I have only uncommented UTF-8 versions of my languages.

Edit:
Now my /etc/locale.conf looks like this:

LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE="C"
LANGUAGE="en_GB"

It still doesn't work. I have both en_GB.UTF-8 and en_US.UTF-8 uncommented.

Edit again:
I fixed it. Apparently no locale was uncommented in /etc/locale.gen for some very weird reason. I would however want to use GPU folding. Apparently it can't find the "nvidia-uvm" module. How do I acquire this module? Thanks.

Last edited by xeekei (2014-02-15 11:18:05)

Offline

#739 2014-02-17 05:10:02

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 181
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

In Windows with foldingathome beta and Archlinux with foldingathome 7.3.6 GPU (gpu:0:G92 [GeForce 9800 GT]) is recognised correctly but in the same PC with Archlinux and beta 7.4.2 not with gpu value='true'.
Any idea?

Edit: I added manualy GPU, so It is visible now in webcontrol, but it does not start folding with Power se to Full, it is yellow.
Here is the log

04:59:08:WU01:FS00:Starting
04:59:08:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: /opt/fah/FAHCoreWrapper /opt/fah/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/x86/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4 -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 1670 -checkpoint 15
04:59:08:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 2267
04:59:08:WU01:FS00:Core PID:2271
04:59:08:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
04:59:08:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 660010 -> 838480 (decompressed 127.0 percent)
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=660010 data_size=838480, decompressed_data_size=838480 diff=0
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Project: 10433 (Run 391, Clone 0, Gen 66)
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
04:59:09:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
04:59:09:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
04:59:09:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU2.stanford.edu:80
04:59:10:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU2.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
04:59:10:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 1 to 1 
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
04:59:15:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Completed 502220 out of 2000000 steps  (25%)
05:00:46:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
05:00:46:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
05:00:46:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU2.stanford.edu:80
05:00:47:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU2.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
05:00:47:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment

Last edited by hariskar (2014-02-17 05:10:59)

Offline

#740 2014-03-17 00:40:46

DefectiveSlacker
Member
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 1

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hey all. Today is the first time I've set up folding. I started folding under the arch team number as soon as I realised there was one. (Mainly because I treat my arch system as an extension of my soul, and thought it was about time I gave something back).

What is everyone's average ppd? I'm looking at 6000 ATM and will research on ways to improve that tomorrow. Judging by some of the overall points, I'm assuming that 6000 is on the low end. Haven't set my gpu up yet but I'll see how that impacts my points when I give it a go tomorrow.

Offline

#741 2014-03-23 20:49:41

Alkali
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2006-06-01
Posts: 10

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hey everyone, I just joined team Arch Linux today even though I've been an arch user for quite awhile.  I'll contribute as best I can to move us up the ranks!


"If this ends with the both of us dying in a giant explosion killing a Reaper, just remember. I took the kill shot." - Garrus Vakarian

Offline

#742 2014-03-25 04:00:18

life_enjoyer
Member
From: ^)
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 170

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I just joined today. Let's beat get ahead of TeamUbuntu!


Come on sugar, let the good times roll.
                                              ~Jimi Hendrix

Offline

#743 2014-04-13 15:27:50

adam777
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 158

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hello all,
I'm having some weird issues with F@H killing my network connection on boot.
Feel free to help if you encountered such behavior or have any idea what might be going on.
Thanks.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=179979

* EDIT *
Issue solved - applied a workaround.
See post for details.

Last edited by adam777 (2014-04-15 08:22:01)

Offline

#744 2014-04-13 16:07:02

Gulver
Member
Registered: 2013-05-24
Posts: 208

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

New folder reporting in, any chance we'd configure folding to use all of CPUs but don't push them to the egde? I mean, yes, in hard mode it does use all of CPUs but to control the temperature and fan that works like a rabbit on top of a...?

Offline

#745 2014-07-24 07:25:53

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi, I installed new foldingathome package (before I was using the old 6.x client).

I migrated to 7.x because the foldingathome-gpu was unable to download the WUs (i have an integrated Nvidia 9300), but it was perfectly working for 2 years.

Maybe 9300 is not suitable anymore? (I see that it's CUDA 1.1)

The log states this:

06:57:36:      GPU 0: NVIDIA:1 G98 [GeForce 9300 GE]
06:57:36:       CUDA: 1.1
06:57:36:CUDA Driver: 6050


And here is the error log:

07:24:33:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.201:80
07:24:33:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.201:80': Empty work server assignment
07:24:33:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.160:80
07:24:34:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.160:80': Failed to connect to 171.64.65.160:80: Connection refused

Last edited by trapanator (2014-07-24 07:26:46)

Offline

#746 2015-05-07 07:50:41

Buddlespit
Member
From: Chesapeake, Va.
Registered: 2014-02-07
Posts: 337

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi. Just joined the team. Got a couple of questions..
1. How do I turn off GPU folding? This won't matter if #2 isn't resolved. Light folding turns of the GPU.
2. No matter where I set the slider (light(3 core), medium(4 core), heavy(5 core)), it takes the same amount of time to fold a wu. Am I missing something?

Offline

#747 2015-08-17 00:45:00

ihyfr
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hello to the arch team. I started folding for arch recently.

Previously I had been folding for PCLinuxOS. I recently, compelled by my questionable brain chemistry, bought a gtx750ti and a gtx970. This makes my ppd, during the time I can be bothered to keep my machines on, 5x higher than it was before. I figured, my only PCLOS computer, which, being an eepc, never folded too well anyhow, is, due to its degrading EIAJ power piece of ^%&*, is about to be retired, so I may as well take this opportunity to start putting my points to the team that represents the OS now, and for some time now,I fold with*.

This thread looks like it's been really slow over the past year - a shame considering the quickening pace of folding advance. I see two of the unanswered hi's, are from folders who are both still active on the team, and use the same handle for both Arch 'n FAH. Hi back, Buddlespit and trapanator.

Anyway,I have done a fair amount of experimentation with FAH in general and and on arch in particular. I've messed with many headless, and at one point even diskless, machines and I have a pretty good idea about how to maximize points and minimize pain for any sort of budget and any sort of already available hardware. I may soon post some interesting tips, but besides that, if anyone has some questions about folding but no one is answering it in the forum, feel free to hit me up by email. I'd be happy to help.

*As a side note, I usually use simpler sentence structure and better spelling, but, between too much coffee, too little sleep, and picking up a Dickens novel this morning while sitting on the can, my day has been spent in a syntactical haze, all my thoughts recursively descending into madness, never to be revised before spewing from my fingers. I promise I can be normal. Ok, pretend. Well... well enough to not be berated. Never mind.


Recognizing the arbitrary nature of human drive leaves the philosopher no more emancipated than the most thoughtless.

Offline

#748 2015-08-17 02:02:02

Buddlespit
Member
From: Chesapeake, Va.
Registered: 2014-02-07
Posts: 337

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Welcome, ihyfr! Unfortunatly, I just discovered (Friday) that FAH was causing my system to overheat and cause lock ups. I don't think it's a housekeeping issue... I think my cpu is starting to wear. So, long story made short, I've stopped folding (for the moment). If I ever upgrade the cpu (it's coming soon, no matter what), I'll get back to folding.

Offline

#749 2015-08-17 08:18:56

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi! I'm still active. But I discovered that I am CPU only folding and cannot use my poor GeForce 9300M, because I'm using foldinghome_11.exe that is not supported anymore...

Offline

#750 2016-03-30 07:44:28

sbt1
Member
Registered: 2015-01-14
Posts: 24

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

We made it from #110 to #109 recently smile

EDIT:

Actual stats with chosen competitors:

70     TeamUbuntu            1642213386    (59,9%)
80     Team SUSE            1331726104    (73,8%)
108     Apple Computer, Inc.    995933205    (98,7%)
109     Arch Linux             983633597

Last edited by sbt1 (2016-04-01 13:07:48)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB