You are not logged in.

#1351 2013-05-12 18:21:51

robin007bond
Member
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 33

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 5750G

Everything works fine. The only problem is that Optimus is still not supported, but there's already Optimus-support available in the beta drivers so I'm getting my hopes up.

Offline

#1352 2013-05-12 20:48:25

mau5kito
Member
Registered: 2013-05-11
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Clevo W251HSQ: Intel Core i5 2540M, 4 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M, Samsung 630 Series 128 GB.
Running Arch x86_64 and i3 as window manager. Boot time to working environment is ~15 seconds (including BIOS loading, 1 second timeout for Syslinux, and excepting login/password typing).
Everything works out of the box (webcam, touchpad, etc.) except some Fn keys and this Optimus crap. I tried bumblebee but I finally disabled my graphics card with bbswitch since I don't use/need it anyway.
The only downside I found to this laptop is the battery. I couldn't stay more than 2.5 hours without charging it.
I still recommend it, mainly because you can choose most of the components, and you can buy it without Windows!

Offline

#1353 2013-05-13 19:50:15

Ephexeve
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 13
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I am using a Packard Bell EasyNote TK 81SB
Everything ran out of the box, except Wireless and Video, I had to install Catalyst driver (from the wiki) + broadcom-sta-dkms from the aur.
For the rest everything seems to be working perfect.


- Ephexeve M
Python - C - Bash - Perl - Ruby - Linux - Security
Archlinux - i3 - Emacs

Offline

#1354 2013-05-16 09:56:23

jqvillanova
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Sony VAIO VGN-FW21L
Intel Core2Duo T5800 2Ghz
3,07 GiB RAM ddr2
ATI Mobility Radeon HD3470
Intel wifi-link 5100 agn
Optiarc Blueray drive
!e,ory stick/SD Card reader
All works like a charm

Offline

#1355 2013-05-17 17:19:37

Pipix
Member
Registered: 2013-05-17
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Vostro 3300:

Intel i5 450m
Nvidia 310m w/ Optimus
8 Gigs of RAM
Broadcom BCM 4313

Works beatifully.

Offline

#1356 2013-05-24 06:32:10

Gulver
Member
Registered: 2013-05-24
Posts: 208

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP Pavilion g6 2204-st  (I believe they sell it only in Turkey, lol)

i5 3210M
4 GiB DDR3
ATi 7670M & Intel HD4000

Using switcheroo to use only Integrated Gpu.

I didn't had to install any additional drivers tru installation. Runs smooth except the temperature.

It's around 50 idle to 70 on-load, I'm using tlp, and acpid. laptop-mode-tools gave an error about kernel support on boot which I couldn't figure. I'm open to suggestions.

Last edited by Gulver (2013-05-24 06:33:42)

Offline

#1357 2013-05-27 12:34:45

phw
Member
Registered: 2013-05-27
Posts: 129

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Gigabyte U2442N

i5-3210M
8GB DDR III
Geforce GT 640M & Intel HD Graphics 4000
128 GB SSD + 750 GB HDD

As Optimus is not yet fully supported I disabled the discrete graphics card with acpi_call and use only the free Intel driver (one should be able to use bumblebee, but I haven't tried). The laptop also supports a feature called Intel Rapid Start, which is some glorified suspend to disk (it's suspend to disk which skips the BIOS on boot and which can be triggered after the laptop has been in suspend to RAM for a configurable time). Since kernel 3.11 there is support to configure this on Linux. I've also enabled TRIM for the SSD partitions.

Everything else (sound, wireless, bluetooth, LAN, touchpad*, special keys, card reader, web cam) works just fine without any special configuration or drivers. Great laptop now with an awesome OS smile

--
Update 1: Updated info about Intel Rapid Start, which is now supported
Update 2: The touchpad might be fully supported soon, there is work in progress on this at https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=61151
Update 3: * The touchpad is supported in the latest kernel, the fix has been backported to older stable lines as well (since 3.10.42, 3.14.6 and 3.15). This might require a BIOS update for this laptop. I am running with BIOS version F30CA.

Last edited by phw (2014-06-10 06:43:03)

Offline

#1358 2013-06-03 22:56:35

Gryaniy
Member
From: USA,UKRAINE,MEXICO
Registered: 2013-02-15
Posts: 46

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung chronos 17" (series 7) 
(1000GB + 8GB ssd) hybrid HD.
Dual Video Card -2 GB nvidia Gegorce gt 650M vram + intel HD 400  @500 MB.

-Optimus works fine with Bumblebee packages from the AUR.( I can run Starcraft 2 in it).
-Samsung smart cache( 8 gb of SSD included on the traditional HD as cache for windows) can be used as your root partition, Arch sees it as a separate hard disk sdb1. then create a boot sda1 and home sda2 partition on the 1000 HD part and install grub on sda booting from sda1.

-TO use suspend features you need to follow steps on the wiki or compile a tuxonice kernel.

This laptop flies and boots in 2 seconds after some tweak.

Offline

#1359 2013-06-04 15:37:51

hoagieman
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

phw wrote:

The touchpad is detected by the synaptics driver, but it fails to correctly initialize it so it's only available as a PS/2 mouse (basic cursor movement and clicking works, but no advanced touchpad features).

Is it an ALPS touchpad? If so, there is a driver available in the AUR.

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/psmouse-alps-driver/

Offline

#1360 2013-06-08 14:46:18

kellerman
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2011-07-20
Posts: 101

Re: Laptops which run Arch

The only problem is that Optimus is still not supported, but there's already Optimus-support available in the beta drivers so I'm getting my hopes up.

Can't be. Have you heard about bumblebee? I'm using GT630M with bumblebee since I got my laptop.

Offline

#1361 2013-06-08 19:43:24

Bala
Member
From: Timisoara, Romania
Registered: 2013-05-06
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

aspire 7740g - everything is fine.

Intel® Core i3-350M
+
ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470

Offline

#1362 2013-06-08 20:23:36

skualito
Member
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 184

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Clevo W250EG
Intel Pentium 2020M (Ivy bridge)
4GB RAM
Intel HD2500 + Nvidia GT645M
HDD 320GB 5400rpm Toshiba
Wireless card Intel Centrino 2230N
Ethernet Realtek RTL8111/8168
Audio Intel HDA with VIA Codecs1802

I'm using bumblebee and bbswitch, though for my playing needs the integrated grahic card is usually enough. I find archlinux is running beautifully on this laptop, I get 4 hours battery time with wifi and discrete card on. Actually some minor problems with headphones/speakers due to a bug in kernel 3.9.4.
Some keys (wifi and bluetooth switches) are undetected by kernel.

Offline

#1363 2013-06-10 09:24:42

antiloquax
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-04-22
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I bought a new laptop from pc world: hp g6-2240sa (amd e2-1800)
Removed hdd and replaced with an SSHD.
Used Archboot installation media.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Archboot

This was my first experience of installing Arch on a UEFI motherboard.
System running well.

To get sound working I edited /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf and changed all occurences of "card 0" to "card 1" to avoid the hdmi output being selected by default.

Installed amd-ucode for the chip's microcode.

Just thought I'd post this in case anyone else needs a pointer on how to get Arch on to one of these machines.
mark


@jason - thanks for the merge. I am a newbie on the forum.

Last edited by antiloquax (2013-06-10 19:10:33)


System: hp pavilion g6 amd E2-1800. 6GB RAM. 60 GB SSHD. Arch x86-64. EvilWM.

Offline

#1364 2013-06-10 09:27:05

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,551
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Merging with Laptops that run Arch...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#1365 2013-06-14 10:29:37

alisnic
Member
Registered: 2013-05-29
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ThinkPad x220
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2620M CPU @ 2.70GHz
RAM: 6 GB DDR3
VGA: Intel HD4000
WiFi: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] (rev 34)
HDD: 320 GB 7200 RPM

Had to disable intel_pstate cpu governor, since it was ocasionally keeping all the cores at turbo (3.4 Ghz) for no reason (cpu load very low), and heating up the CPU. Switching to ondemand fixed it. I think laptop-mode-tools may have been a part of the problem.

Last edited by alisnic (2013-06-14 10:30:22)


ThinkPad x220 i7-2620M/6Gb RAM

Offline

#1366 2013-06-14 13:39:51

cecar
Member
Registered: 2013-03-10
Posts: 39

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus S550C series. Everything runs great except for most of the Fn keys.

Details of the Machine:

System:    Host: asusarch Kernel: 3.9.5-1-ARCH x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.1) 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.10.2 (Gtk 2.24.16) Distro: Arch Linux
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: S550CM version: 1.0 Bios: American Megatrends version: S550CM.202 date: 11/23/2012
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3317U CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 6786.76 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 1701.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF108M [GeForce GT 635M] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.14.1 driver: intel Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.9.5-1-ARCH
Network:   Card-1: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 driver: iwlwifi ver: in-tree: bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: 60:36:dd:95:7f:5e
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 04:00.2
           IF: enp4s0f2 state: down mac: 08:60:6e:1f:8c:b9
           Card-3: Atmel usb-ID: 001-005
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 524.1GB (1.9% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54505 size: 500.1GB 
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: KINGSTON_SMSM150 size: 24.0GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 20G used: 4.2G (24%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 459G used: 5.2G (2%) fs: ext4 
           ID: swap-1 size: 3.04GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 144 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 767.1/7875.6MB Gcc sys: 4.8.1 Client: Shell (bash 4.2.45) inxi: 1.9.7 

Offline

#1367 2013-06-16 09:58:50

gnomen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-04
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung Series 9 2013 (NP900X3E)

Things are working fine, sort of;
- Scraped UEFI and went with ol' fashioned BIOS-boot to avoid any chance of bricking
- The artifacts issue seems fixed in mainline 3.10rc5
- Applying this patch to above mention mainline 3.10rc5 solves issues with the elantech clickpad
- FN-keys are all screwed up, but the samsung-laptop module is working fine, so it's just a matter of configuration. I guess..
- Suspend / hibernate not tested, but not an issue for me, especially on something booting this fast

Offline

#1368 2013-06-17 23:16:18

vladimir_1922
Member
Registered: 2010-11-02
Posts: 46

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM Thinkpad T60

No problems so far


Samsung R530

Function keys won't work. The nouveau driver lags games like hell, and Nvidia drivers for that card are long time ago dead

Offline

#1369 2013-06-17 23:21:24

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Ideapad Y500

Boots and runs great using gummiboot. However, there are some rendering issues that I haven't been able to resolve, I cannot change the backlight brightness for the screen, and when I resume after suspending/hibernating, the screen does not wake. I've been trying to figure out these problems for a while now, but if anyone has some advice, I'd love to hear it big_smile

Other than that, it's an awesome machine.

All the best,

-HG

Last edited by HalosGhost (2013-06-17 23:21:44)


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#1370 2013-06-19 07:31:44

papajonpizza
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung Series 9  (NP900X3D) here.  Windows 8 was useful...  for downloading the new BIOS and disabling the UEFI afterwards.  Painful 10 minutes I spent in Windows 8. 

Deleted all partitions that came from factory on first boot of Arch Linux.

Everything seems to be working fine for me.  I'm not a fan of the touchpad, as I always have had dedicated buttons with previous laptops/netbooks and have always disabled the touchpad click.  With the Samsung Series 9, I have to use the touchpad with click.

I bought an external wireless M$ mouse when I'm at home and at work I connect to external monitor (via short HDMI pigtail and DVI/HDMI converter) and keyboard with mouse (connected to the usb on the keyboard).

Suspend works fine via GNOME menu or via short power-button push.  Resume with power-button push.

FN keys are working fine for me.  Love Arch Linux and this ultrabook  big_smile


gnomen wrote:

Samsung Series 9 2013 (NP900X3E)

Things are working fine, sort of;
- Scraped UEFI and went with ol' fashioned BIOS-boot to avoid any chance of bricking
- The artifacts issue seems fixed in mainline 3.10rc5
- Applying this patch to above mention mainline 3.10rc5 solves issues with the elantech clickpad
- FN-keys are all screwed up, but the samsung-laptop module is working fine, so it's just a matter of configuration. I guess..
- Suspend / hibernate not tested, but not an issue for me, especially on something booting this fast


Toshiba Z830 - 13.3" display | Intel Core i7 | 6GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Arch Linux -  XFCE desktop | [VMWare Player - Win7 Professional 64bit]

Offline

#1371 2013-06-19 16:39:26

wingsuit
Member
Registered: 2013-05-18
Posts: 10

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite E300 along with a Toshiba Satellite A300.

Everything works well.

Offline

#1372 2013-06-20 06:04:30

hydrosIII
Member
Registered: 2013-04-04
Posts: 127

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hi , i have running arch in and old toshiba NB 200, for atl least six months, using fluxbox gave this old laptop new life.
Intel Atom
Atheros wifi
intel integrated GPU
and everything is intel.

Issues??? None. compiled a kernel for it and it runs superb!!!

An issue has appeared lately https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=165467, but is not arch related, however any help is apreciated

Offline

#1373 2013-06-20 19:48:51

TheCodeMonk
Member
Registered: 2013-06-20
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

After upgrading my parents, I got my EEEPC 1000HE back and decided, rather than Win7, I would get back into linux (was really into gentoo back in the day).  Got it running and happy without much fuss. smile

Offline

#1374 2013-06-20 19:49:40

mid-kid
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 177

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ANUS K53SV lappy over here.

Got a preinstalled windows 7 with the wrong drivers ._.

Anyway, specs:
Intel core I7
Nvidia geforce GT 540M - optimus
4GB ram
I can't tell anything else by looking at the stickers I still want to replace.

Problems?
I had to install bumblebee to drain less battery.
The UEFI firmware's got a nasty bug, but it's easy to workaround (documented at the bottom of this) oh, and did I mention UEFI shell v2 doesn't work?
When left with the lid closed (not suspended, just screen off) on AC, it gets hot after a while. (IDK if it's a KDE problem)

Apart from those problems It's a great lappy.


If it ain't broke, you haven't tweaked it enough.

Offline

#1375 2013-06-21 06:41:35

JonnySams
Member
Registered: 2013-06-21
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have Toshiba Portege M500 Laptop.

On arch .... Each and every component works just fine.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB