You are not logged in.

#726 2013-06-16 23:48:28

finh
Member
Registered: 2010-10-31
Posts: 22

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

sorry jwr

Last edited by finh (2013-06-17 00:42:11)

Offline

#727 2013-06-17 00:01:50

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,361
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This isn't a support thread...

There are versions of that patch around that do work. But you would need to provide more information about the patch you used and any other patches you have applied (just not here).


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#728 2013-07-23 23:38:28

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Inspired by a screenshot in the Juni screenshot thread I've implemented progress bar drawing and re-implemented the status colors patch. Status text parsing is a mess right now as it happens to reverse the input, but despite that it works quite good (see the volume bar in the upper right corner):

tnW2R2Os.png

Edit: I fixed those parsing issues. The patch works as intended, as far as I can tell. Here's another screenshot from my laptop's:

Gph4DXzs.png

Last edited by pks (2013-07-24 00:37:00)

Offline

#729 2013-07-26 16:27:43

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

@pks
I saw your bitbucket repos. Coincidentally I also have a project named dstatus for dwm (forked it from trilby here). But I like your plugin approach. It is quite appealing. Can you tell me how much memory your dstatus process is taking while in action ? I am planning to keep these things under 1 mb.


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#730 2013-07-26 17:05:03

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

illusionist wrote:

@pks
I saw your bitbucket repos. Coincidentally I also have a project named dstatus for dwm (forked it from trilby here). But I like your plugin approach. It is quite appealing. Can you tell me how much memory your dstatus process is taking while in action ? I am planning to keep these things under 1 mb.

Well, it's not really that easy to point to a specific value. VIRT memory really isn't that interesting, as it also includes the size of loaded shared libraries as well. So dwm already got some 44MB of VIRT memory. If I only consider the resident size dstatus uses some 1864kB right now. I didn't care for tweaking memory though, it might sure be reduced further. If that was a hard requirement for you to use it you might remove plugins from being compiled and thus loaded on startup and tweak buffer sizes. I might take a look, as well.

Offline

#731 2013-08-27 08:20:27

invisibleman__
Member
Registered: 2013-08-19
Posts: 9

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

How do you hide the focused window name from being displayed on the status bar? I know its in dwm.c somewhere.
I managed to hide the squares from being added  next to tags with open windows by commenting out the drawsquare functions, but how about the focused window title?

Offline

#732 2013-08-27 09:01:32

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

invisibleman__ wrote:

How do you hide the focused window name from being displayed on the status bar? I know its in dwm.c somewhere.
I managed to hide the squares from being added  next to tags with open windows by commenting out the drawsquare functions, but how about the focused window title?

You might want to take a look at this commit where I replaced my window titles by time. This at least points you to the right location.

Offline

#733 2013-08-27 09:39:57

ivoarch
Member
From: the six feet under the ground
Registered: 2011-03-31
Posts: 436

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

invisibleman__ wrote:

How do you hide the focused window name from being displayed on the status bar? I know its in dwm.c somewhere.
I managed to hide the squares from being added  next to tags with open windows by commenting out the drawsquare functions, but how about the focused window title?

Try with this.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 5#p1317605

Last edited by ivoarch (2013-08-27 09:46:48)


I love GnuEmacs, GnuScreen, ratpoison, and conkeror.
Github )||( Weblog

Offline

#734 2013-09-09 18:32:46

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Some small update adding uselessgap patch and changing fonts to Source Code Pro.

wn6p8DBs.png

Offline

#735 2013-09-29 14:54:29

gocyclic249
Member
Registered: 2013-09-29
Posts: 4

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

I'm a Psych major so not as up on the whole coding thing as some but I did do something kind of cool with my config.h to allow me to mess with what programs dwm starts with and what tab they start in without having to recompile every time. Basically I set classes of tag1-9 as starting in the appropriate window. In the .xinitrc I use xterm to assign classes to these programs (or at least their inital load). For noobs like me the nohup command is nice because I can spawn a GUI program without it being tied to a specific terminal emulator window.

# the applicable part of my .xinitrc

 
while true; do
   xsetroot -name "$(CMAS) | $( date +"%F %R")  | $(acpi -b | awk 'sub(/,/,"") {print $3}') | $(acpi -b | awk 'sub(/,/,"") {print $4}')"
      sleep 1s   # Update time every minute
  done &

exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag2 &
exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag9 -e cmus&
exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag1 -e nohup firefox&
exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag9 -e alsamixer &
exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag9 -e wicd-curses &
exec /usr/bin/xterm -class tag9 -e pianobar &
exec dwm

#the applicable part of my config.h

 
static const Rule rules[] = {
        /* class      instance    title       tags mask     isfloating   monitor */
        { "Gimp",     NULL,       NULL,       0,            True,        -1 },
        {"tag1",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<0,   False,  -1},
        {"tag2",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<1,   False,  -1},
        {"tag3",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<2,   False,  -1},
        {"tag4",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<3,   False,  -1},
        {"tag5",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<4,   False,  -1},
        {"tag6",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<5,   False,  -1},
        {"tag7",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<6,   False,  -1},
        {"tag8",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<7,   False,  -1},
        {"tag9",        NULL,   NULL,   1<<8,   False,  -1},
};

Last edited by gocyclic249 (2013-09-29 20:13:14)

Offline

#736 2013-09-29 16:36:56

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,432

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

gocyclic249 wrote:

I'm a Psych major so not as up on the whole coding thing

Then allow me to offer some mentoring smile  You can improve your posts by using code tags as described here

There is a link to that under the message post box as well/


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#737 2013-09-29 16:49:06

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,207
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

A significant portion (if not a majority) of open source projects come from non-professional programmers.  I've had many computer science students come to me wanting to learn to actually program (not that I'm qualified), as their bachelors degree just teaches them how to make (bad) web pages.  If you want something done in java, they can do it ... well, maybe not; if you want someone to talk about doing something in java, they can talk about doing it.  Other than that they don't really have any useful training.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-09-29 16:49:25)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#738 2013-09-30 05:48:54

gocyclic249
Member
Registered: 2013-09-29
Posts: 4

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Thanks all,
Fixed the code tags

Offline

#739 2013-11-10 16:55:32

captaincurrie
Member
From: On the river
Registered: 2013-11-01
Posts: 66

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Does anyone know what the "Snap Pixel" setting is? What does chaging it actually do?

Will be posting my config soooooo....

Offline

#740 2013-11-11 12:05:15

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 285

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

It's the area at the sides of your screen in which a floating window is 'snapped' to the border of your screen.


⚑★⚓ my dotfile repo ⚓★⚑

Offline

#741 2013-11-16 19:37:34

pks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-20
Posts: 110

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Cross post from the current desktop screenshot thread:

Still dwm but with some smaller changes. I've now changed the uselessgap patch to also apply to the status bar and draw a small border around it. Changed weechats configuration, as well.

X9IHNiLs.png

Offline

#742 2013-11-17 21:03:31

mf
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2013-11-16
Posts: 31

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This is my current DWM scrot

adm0eOYk.jpg

I applied three patches (systray, save_floats, fancybar) and I have a couple I have no idea how to repair (fibonacci and uselessgap - if anyone has any working, feel free to shoot me a msg) smile Still need to colors my Conky statusbar and improve the overall look.

Offline

#743 2013-11-17 22:06:04

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,474
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#744 2013-12-21 19:38:12

CyrIng
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 76
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This is my first customisation.
( no Conky, pure C )

dwm CPU Core

Offline

#745 2014-01-09 13:26:41

alexx
Member
From: São Paulo
Registered: 2013-12-29
Posts: 13

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

pGEJxuls.jpg

Nothing too special, really, but I like the colors smile

Offline

#746 2014-01-10 22:58:39

vanhin
Member
From: Coimbra
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 2

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Just finished a script that allows you to change dwm's tags easier.
https://github.com/PedroNCordeiro/dwmtagger

Don't know if it's of any interest to you.

Cheers.

Offline

#747 2014-01-11 18:45:10

mrawfull
Member
Registered: 2011-11-26
Posts: 25

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Finally switched to dwm at last thanks in part to jasonw's website. It's so much better than awesome wm.

Offline

#748 2014-01-29 01:09:10

Lehthanis
Member
Registered: 2013-09-26
Posts: 19

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

I call this one /┤rchNemesis. It's red and grey and dark. I'm color blind so the dark colors and low contrast works well for me.

http://imgur.com/a/oADzx

Here's my git for it: https://github.com/lehthanis/ArchNemesis

Only running the gaps patch here and my own simple edits.

Offline

#749 2014-01-31 09:06:02

morowinder
Member
Registered: 2014-01-31
Posts: 2

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Hi guys total newbie here, got inspired by unixporn on reddit, actually by Lehthanis (what a coincidence that his post is just before mine)
Anyway here is my setup so far:
Setup so far
I'm pretty much fine with bare minimum for now, gonna make it nicer eventually, however  can someone help with useless gaps, it's acting weird on bottom window in stack, every window on stack slightly changes gap on bottom, as seen in screenshot. I'm sure this is a known bug, but I can't seem to find a solution. It seems to me that alexx few posts ago has the same issue.

Offline

#750 2014-01-31 11:05:59

Prezioso
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 77

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

morowinder wrote:

Hi guys total newbie here, got inspired by unixporn on reddit, actually by Lehthanis (what a coincidence that his post is just before mine)
Anyway here is my setup so far:
Setup so far
I'm pretty much fine with bare minimum for now, gonna make it nicer eventually, however  can someone help with useless gaps, it's acting weird on bottom window in stack, every window on stack slightly changes gap on bottom, as seen in screenshot. I'm sure this is a known bug, but I can't seem to find a solution. It seems to me that alexx few posts ago has the same issue.

Tried this: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/dw … al_windows ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB