You are not logged in.

#1526 2014-03-17 22:27:38

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 157
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ortrigger wrote:

I just finished setting Arch up on my Toshiba Satellite s955. Everything seems to work just fine with XFCE except I haven't had time to test the webcam or SD card reader.

You will need to install "gvfs" or "udisks" to get the sd card reader to work but the cam should work out of the box. This is only because XFCE's file manager, thunar does not mount removable drives without it.

Last edited by wchouser3 (2014-03-17 22:33:44)


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#1527 2014-03-26 03:02:32

Furian-RX
Member
Registered: 2014-03-12
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Precision m6700

Intel i7 3840QM
Nvidia Quadro k3000m
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
RAM 8GB @ 1600Hz
1080p FHD
Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300

Everything worked pretty much out of the box. However I am still struggling to get switchable graphics. The reason is I have a second HDD with Win 7 and while switching systems having optimus ON is one less click in BIOS.
[BIOS because google images of Gummiboot are much nicer then the ones for GRUB, and Gummiboot doesnt support 2 HDD scenario - as far as I could understand]

I might consider cutting the Quadro to make the system stable. It is quite annoying with all the bugs I have had to deal lately.

Dell Inspiron 1520

Intel Celeron M 540
Intel GMA x3100
Samsung 160GB HDD
RAM 2GB @ 667Hz
768p CCFL
Dell Wireless 1504

I went to great lenghts to bring the original Dell Wireless 1390 to life, but it kept loosing connectivity and performed very poorly. The 1504 is much more stable. I was able to put i8k, which is the i8kfangui that I loved so much under Win XP and force the fan to 100%, thus keeping the temps below 42C for the CPU.

Last edited by Furian-RX (2014-03-27 10:58:52)

Offline

#1528 2014-03-26 10:01:09

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,723
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

UltraBook II, intel 4330M 2.8GHz, hd4600 graphics, samsung 120GB SSD.
Compaq CQ58, AMD Vision E1 (1.4GHz), Radeon 7310 graphics, 5400rpm hard drive (unknown make sorry).
Both run absolutely fine on current Arch kernel (3.13-7), work like a dream smile
UltraBook II running efibootmgr --- pure EFISTUB (we don't need no stinkin bootloader).
Compaq runs grub in CSM "Legacy" mode 'cos I have windows 7 on it as well...

Offline

#1529 2014-03-26 14:50:14

nvteighen
Member
Registered: 2014-03-13
Posts: 31

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ASUS X55C-SX029H, Intel Core i3-2350M @ 2,30 GHz, Intel Sandybridge graphics, Toshiba MQ01ABD050 Hard Drive (500 GB, 5400 RPM), 4 GB RAM :-)

Offline

#1530 2014-03-26 22:59:47

Void_Walker
Member
Registered: 2009-06-17
Posts: 53

Re: Laptops which run Arch

It can run on:
DELL inspiron 7537
i7, 8Gigs of ram, nv750gt and 1TB HDD. Bubblebee works just fine (tested on dota2)

Battery detection does not work out of the box.

Last edited by Void_Walker (2014-03-29 18:22:19)

Offline

#1531 2014-03-29 12:52:58

okubax
Member
From: London
Registered: 2010-04-24
Posts: 205
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Runs ok on:

MEDION AKOYA S4613
i5, 8Gigs RAM, Intel HD 4000, NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M, 750 GB HDD, 32 GB mSATA SSD

Bumblebee works fine. Can't get the volume/wifi keys to work though.

Last edited by okubax (2014-03-29 14:40:19)

Offline

#1532 2014-03-30 04:47:03

nullified
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2013-12-09
Posts: 468

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Arch on Thinkpad X240. i5-4200 w/ 4GB RAM. I switched out the HDD for a Samsung 840 Pro SSD.

The biggest problem i had was that the wifi was not working during install. I have the intel 802.11 ac card but I had to plug in to the ethernet during install.
There is a known problem with the realtek wifi card documented here https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=174082

I didn't attempt to troubleshoot my problem in great detail since i had ethernet available. Once I rebooted after the install the wifi worked fine.
Everything seems to work well OOTB.


"We may say most aptly, that the Analytical Engine weaves algebraical patterns just as the Jacquard-loom weaves flowers and leaves." - Ada Lovelace

Offline

#1533 2014-04-07 16:34:03

obrienanthonyt
Member
Registered: 2013-11-21
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP ProBook 4540s

Works, but must change from legacy or
UEFI (w\ CSM) to UEFI (w\o CSM). Won't
boot into the EFI boot loader. Must do
it manually. Trying to find how to fix
this.

Offline

#1534 2014-04-08 15:24:05

t60r
Member
Registered: 2014-01-29
Posts: 3

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have an ASUS X75VD and a Lenovo T60, arch runs great on both.

Offline

#1535 2014-04-08 16:19:13

riveale
Member
Registered: 2013-09-10
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Updating by the way, since I re-installed arch from scratch yesterday:

I recently did a kernel update to 3.13, which of course destroyed X and I couldn't get it to start with any amount of fiddling (even downgrading to old kernel). However, I was on "manjaro" linux and had manually screwed around with so many things in my previous twiddlings to figure out what worked, so not sure what the cause was.

At any rate, yesterday I installed a new, vanilla ARCH LINUX on my RB14.

The 3.13.8 ARCH kernel did STILL NOT work with bumblebee/nvidia (same problem as before).

However, the linux-ck set of packages DID work, with little/no fiddling involved. Just make sure to get the linux-ck nvidia drivers etc. Also, note that I needed to get the bbswitch-ck or bbswitch-dkms from AUR (otherwise bbswitch would not load). Currently linux-ck is 3.13.9

I'm using XFCE, and everything seems to work dandy. I haven't been able to get bluetooth to work, but I don't really care since I don't use it (anyone have any instructions for that?)

CUDA works (although there is a bug that prevents bbswitch from switching off the card after using CUDA because NVIDIA driver loads some new GVM (?) driver, which blocks the shutdown. Solution to that is to manually modprobe -r that separate driver and the nvidia driver, then restart the bumblebeed service. That causes the card to correctly switch off.

There is a MASSIVE error with suspend/hibernate. Basically the system hangs after suspend/hibernate, and I have to do a hard reset (hold down power button). This is a MASSIVE pain in the ass. Google-ing doesn't reveal any immediate solutions. If anyone has any ideas what the cause of this is, please chime in!

And, of course, still no driver for the touchapd (sad face).

Best,
Richard

Offline

#1536 2014-04-08 21:35:20

Darkhunter
Member
Registered: 2013-10-01
Posts: 46

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus UX32LN almost everything works and what didnt work I fixed in a hour and I am newbie. smile

Offline

#1537 2014-04-11 04:48:55

bhargz
Member
From: India
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just installed Arch with Gnome 3 on my Dell Vostro 2420 yesterday. The specs of the laptop are :

Intel Core i3-2348M 2.3 GHz CPU
2 GB RAM
320 GB HDD
Intel integrated graphics (HD 3000)

Everything except the Bluetooth is working as expected. Took some tinkering, but all is good now.


Real men don't use yaourt

Offline

#1538 2014-04-14 04:12:10

terry
Member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2009-08-12
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung N148 (N150) Netbook
Dell Latitude {D620,D630,E6410}


Think BIG while I am still SMALL

Offline

#1539 2014-04-17 02:15:34

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 553

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Today I installed Arch on a MSI Wind U100 of a friend.  Works nicely! This netbook is probably 4 years old.

Last edited by thiagowfx (2014-04-17 02:16:02)

Offline

#1540 2014-04-17 14:06:14

souenzzo
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 35

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have a VAIO EG13EB (Core i3/HD3000/4Gb) and when I bought it (early 2012) nothing works well in linux.
From Kernel 3.5 + - until 3:13 everything works fine, but the power manager does not work well and lasts less than 3 hours battery.
With 3.14 now everythink works ok. The battery now lasts nearly 5 hours and everything works fine =D

Offline

#1541 2014-04-18 08:07:50

m0021
Member
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 3

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I run archlinux on my Dell Inspiron 7520. Had some problems with logitech unifying reciever and the presence of only usb3 ports (solved it with a script that loads and unloads the kernel module till it loads correctly, dont know if this kernel bug is present anymore). the fan runs very high all the time, but that doenst disturb me. i recently got hybrid graphics to work with xorg-server-15 and the catalyst-pxp package vorm catalyst repository (only had to downgrade xf86-video-intel to version 2.20.19-1 and make some changes in PKGBUILD).

Last edited by m0021 (2014-04-18 08:13:22)

Offline

#1542 2014-04-18 13:19:42

fluancefg
Member
Registered: 2014-03-23
Posts: 32

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm running Arch on Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Carbon. I've choosen this distribution because almost everything runs out of the box. My major issues have much more to do with the desktop than with the hardware.

Offline

#1543 2014-04-20 21:43:13

dajonker
Member
Registered: 2012-08-31
Posts: 8

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Got myself a Lenovo X240, replaced the HDD with a Samsung 840 Evo. Getting the hardware working is easy since it's stuffed with intel hardware.

Some tips:
- Arch live iso does not boot in UEFI, so set BIOS to legacy mode. I had to use the Ubuntu live cd, chroot into Arch and then install Grub to get UEFI boot working.
- The system will suspend automatically when the lid is closed.
- With UEFI, it will boot in about 11 seconds from power on to terminal login prompt.
- Used powertop to get power usage down from 7-8W to 4-5W while browsing on wifi: fan is always off, so it's completely silent too
- Watching video draws about 8-9W at which point the fan starts working
- This thing has crazy battery life, using 2 batteries of which one is hot swappable.
- The clickpad can be a bit annoying as it will also register "soft" clicks, which isn't off while typing by default.
- Sometimes it takes 20+ seconds for a wifi connection to get working with Netctl, not yet sure what causes this.
  Switched to connman, which is a lot faster and nicer than netctl

Last edited by dajonker (2014-04-21 09:47:12)

Offline

#1544 2014-04-21 07:11:14

ramkatral
Member
Registered: 2014-04-21
Posts: 29

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Currently running Arch with Cinnamon on:

HP Split X2 touchscreen ultrabook. 

-Touchscreen worked fresh out of installation.  I didn't have to do anything at all.  It works well with cinnamon.
-All hardware was detected and works great.  I've not had to do any separate driver installations.  I did install the open source Intel video drivers, but that's a given.
-Unfortunately, the f1/hardware control combo keys don't work so far.  I'm still working on that.  It will detect them as function keys, but when you switch them to do things like control brightness, they send nothing to the OS.  The volume buttons on the back of the tablet portion work, but that's it.

I installed arch on a USB 3.0 external hard drive with GPT partitions and an EFI bootloader.  It works excellent with gummi.  Plug the drive in, boot up and it goes straight to the linux kernel.  Boot without the drive and it goes straight to the factory windows bootloader.  I didn't fondle with any of the legacy boot options, though this mobo will support it. 

This computer will let you separate the screen and becomes a tablet.  I haven't been able to try it yet because the USB drive that is running Arch is plugged into a USB port on the keyboard portion.  Tomorrow, I'm going to plug it straight into the screen in tablet mode and boot from there.  Then, I can see howi t performs in tablet mode.  If it were installed on the internal SSD, I'd venture tablet mode works pretty good in cinnamon as long as you install a virtual keyboard system.  Gnome 3 has one built in, but cinnamon does not.  Obviously, Gnome 3 would probably be your best choice if you were going to use a straight tablet.  That, or Plasma active.

Sound works, microphone works, webcam works.  Since I'm running off an external HDD, I've not messed with any of the power management settings.  I programmed shortcut keys in cinnamon to let me adjust screen brightness with xbacklight.  Otherwise, I've not messed with other laptop specifics yet.

So, all in all, this HP has run Arch on a level well beyond what I was expecting.

Last edited by ramkatral (2014-04-21 07:14:22)

Offline

#1545 2014-04-23 20:47:52

Texas
Member
From: Dallas, Texas
Registered: 2010-09-10
Posts: 131

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just installed on my Lenovo G700.  I love the 17.3" screen... never could work on the netbook size screens.
Most things working out of the box.  Have not tried wireless yet, but it works fine on Debian based distros.
Suspend (sleep to RAM) works.  Working on hibernate now.

Offline

#1546 2014-04-26 13:31:45

Greduan
Member
Registered: 2013-04-19
Posts: 58
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Installed some weeks ago Arch on a Dell Vostro 1500. Worked fine except for the issues I described on my blog post about it. I posted how to fix them though. smile
http://eduantech/2014/04/ialoadv1.html

Offline

#1547 2014-04-26 15:34:51

Leios
Member
From: Okinawa, JP
Registered: 2012-03-16
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus U43JC-X1, part of the Asus bamboo series (a good amount of the casing is made of bamboo). I named it Bambi, and we've had a solid relationship for 3.5 - 4 years. Sure, there were some hiccups early on with campus wireless and bumblebee, but we are like an old married couple now. She might not be the fastest or most elegant gal around anymore, but I love her just the same.

Offline

#1548 2014-04-29 22:40:02

aduggan
Member
Registered: 2014-04-28
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

There is a new driver which should support the touchpad in the Blade 14". Instead of operating in the default mouse mode the driver switches it into a mode which allows it to report multitouch data for 5 fingers. This driver probably won't solve all of the issues reported here because it is simply providing the multitouch data for the five fingers and it is still up to the Xserver to interpret that data and decode it into gestures. But, some level of scrolling and multitfinger tap should work depending on the Xorg module being used.

The driver is supposed to be upstreamed into the kernel for the 3.16 release:
http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel … eeda32c736

But, in the meantime here is a version which is backwards compatible with older kernels and can be compiled as a module.
https://github.com/bentiss/hid-rmi

To get this driver to load on the Blade 14" touchpad it looks like the line below will need to be added to the rmi_id table toward the bottom of the hid-rmi.c file to support the HID VID and PID for the Razer touchpad.
{ HID_USB_DEVICE(0x1532, 0x011D) },

I don't have a Blade 14" so I haven't personally tested it. But, it anyone wants to give it a try and let me know.

Offline

#1549 2014-04-30 00:52:10

riveale
Member
Registered: 2013-09-10
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hey aduggan, thanks for the notice! Do you know if this would allow us to have the turned off touchpad during typing (seems like it's a synaptics driver, so I guess so?).

So, I tried it, and it hung my computer as soon as the kernel loaded. I had to chroot in from a live CD and undo the changes.

What I did was just the "make" and then "make install", after adding the { HID_USB_DEVICE(0x1532, 0x011D) }, line inside that rmi_id struct. Rebooted and it hung at the login prompt, couldn't stop X, keyboard wouldn't respond, just stuck at login screen, cursor wasn't even blinking. At that point I felt stupid big_smile (I took a quick look at the source, shouldn't install untrusted kernel modules, blah de blah, haha silly me. I was desperate to get a working touchpad big_smile).

I could never get to a working terminal so I couldn't even do any dmesg/lsmod type stuff to figure out what the hell was wrong. As I mentioned I had to chroot in to do the uninstall script. If you have any ideas on how to proceed I'd be willing to try some things, I don't really have that much time to burn as I'm defending my Ph.D. in 2 weeks.



PS: for RB17 users, I think that { HID_USB_DEVICE(0x1532, 0x011D) }, will be different numbers, If I remember correctly. So if you're RB17, be wary.

Offline

#1550 2014-04-30 01:06:24

aduggan
Member
Registered: 2014-04-28
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

What kernel version are you trying this on and which version of Arch Linux? Maybe there is something missing from that specific kernel version.

Also, the RB17 has a different type of touchpad so I would not recommend trying this driver on those systems. However, I think the worst that could happen is that it would not load.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB