You are not logged in.

#2101 2018-05-21 14:13:21

qookie
Member
Registered: 2018-05-21
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung 350V5C
Intel i5-3210M @ 2.5 GHz
500 GB(slow) hard drive
4 GB of RAM
Intel HD Graphics 4000 and Radeon HD 7500M through open-source drivers and PRIME(obly for games)

Everything works fine, don't remember having any issues. On the other hand Windows 10 was crashing every week or so.

Offline

#2102 2018-05-26 19:16:38

bashM0nk3y
Member
From: the big she-bang
Registered: 2018-05-26
Posts: 41

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thinkpad T-470  (20JN)
   Intel i5-6300U @ 2.4 (15w)
   8GB RAM
   256GB m.2 nvme-SSD (Samsung)
   Intel HD 520 graphics
   Intel Wireless 8260
   Screen-Resolution - 1366 x 768
Kernel: linux-lts 4.14.41-1-lts

Everything worked perfectly on Arch! Although, I have had some minor issues with trackpoint and intel 8260 wireless nic on some other distros.

Last edited by bashM0nk3y (2018-05-26 19:17:53)

Offline

#2103 2018-06-02 22:01:59

bandithijo
Member
From: Indonesia
Registered: 2016-07-30
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Machine: Lenovo ThinkPad X260 (20F5)
├─ Processor: Intel i5-6300U @2.40GHz
├─ RAM: Samsung SODIMM DDR4 Synchronous 2133 MHz 8GB x1
├─ Hard Disk: Intel SSDSC2KF48 480GB
├─ Graphic: Intel HD Graphics 520
├─ Wireless controller: Intel Wireless 8260 + BT4.1
├─ Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection I219-LM
├─ Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
├─ Screen Resolution: 12,5" HD 1366 x 768 TN Panel
├─ Battery Internal: Sony 45N1111 23200mWh
└─ Battery External: Sanyo 45N1775 23200mWh

Operating System: Arch Linux (single boot)
├─ Kernel: x86_64 Linux 4.16.13-1-ARCH
├─ Desktop Environtment: -
└─ Window Manager: i3

EveryHardwareThing works out of the box. I have preinstalled Windows 10 DG Windows 7 Pro 64, but i don't need it, so i wiped out and just install Arch Linux.
Everything fine since January 2016 big_smile

Offline

#2104 2018-06-09 09:30:24

Pippip19
Member
Registered: 2018-02-19
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Machine: Lenovo ThinkPad T480
├─ Processor: Intel Core i5-8250U @1.60GHz
├─ Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SODIMM
├─ Storage: 256GB SSD (PCIe M.2 2280)
├─ Graphics: Intel HD 520
└─ Soundcard (Chip): HDA Intel PCH (Realtek ALC257)

Operating System: Arch Linux (single boot)
├─ Kernel: x86_64 4.16.13-2-ARCH
└─ Window Manager: i3

Most things working perfectly out of the box. KVM was disabled by BIOS by default (Fix: Turn on VT in BIOS). xbacklight for screen brightness control (required xf86-video-intel) and xbindkeys to configure multimedia keys.

I also have Arch running on an older Lenovo G770 just fine.

Offline

#2105 2018-06-20 07:10:42

Askannz
Member
Registered: 2016-10-22
Posts: 33

Re: Laptops which run Arch

First laptop : Clevo W110ER
├─ Processor: Intel Core i3-3110M
├─ Memory: 4GB
├─ Storage: 256GB SSD (SATA)
└─  Graphics: Intel HD something + GT650M

Okay, it's running Manjaro and not Arch, so I guess I'm cheating a bit here.
Overall, very Linux-friendly laptop, pretty much everything works out-of-the box, including Optimus, bluetooth and such. Very minor issues with sleep mode, and wifi being occasionnally wonky on some 802.11n hotspots. Could be fixed in the newer kernels.

Second laptop : MSI GE63VR 7RE
├─ Processor: Intel Core i7-7700HQ @ 2.8Ghz (turbo to 3.8)
├─ Memory: 16GB
├─ Storage: 512GB SSD (NVme)
└─  Graphics: Intel HD something + GTX 1060

This one is running pure Arch. No major issue.
- Had to disable Fast Boot, Secure Boot and intel C-State in the BIOS.
- Contrary to my previous laptop, HDMI output is hardwired to the discrete card, so I have to keep the card on at all times in order to use it. In the end I just run the whole X session on NVidia (it's not like I bought this laptop for the battery life anyway...).
- Without MSI's proprietary software, I can't control the color of per-key RGB lighting. The backlighting itself works and I can control the brightness, but for now it's stuck in a fabulous "rainbow" mode. None of the CLI tools I've found around GitHub work for this particular model.
- There's a bunch of special keys on the keyboard that are specific to MSI, I think they are supposed to switch between power modes or something. Of course they don't do anything on Linux.
- Every once in a while I have an ACPI-related error message popping up in dmesg. Seems harmless.
- Plugging in headphones mutes all audio, had to edit alsa paths in pulseaudio to fix that.
- The NVidia card throws errors in dmesg when resuming from sleep, and sometimes garbled rendering in Firefox. Will try to isolate the problem more accurately.

Not tested yet : SD card reader, DisplayPort output, USB-C, Bumblebee, external microphone. Everything else works.

Last edited by Askannz (2018-06-20 08:00:05)

Offline

#2106 2018-06-27 18:59:55

RickDeckard
Member
From: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 50

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Refurbished Toshiba C655D-L5043
500GB WD hard drive
AMD v120 processor
ATI Radeon HD 4250 integrated graphics
AR9485 Atheros wireless adapter

Flawless lately except for a recurring notice in the boot log: sp5100-tco: I/O address 0x0cd6 already in use

Last edited by RickDeckard (2018-06-27 19:00:21)

Offline

#2107 2018-07-09 07:49:02

snack
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 713

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Anybody with the Dell XPS 15 9570 with i7 8750H? I'd need a laptop with loads of compute power for work and I like the XPS 15, but I fear that due to its thermal constraints it won't be possible to squeeze out much of the computing power. In this thread there is a long list of issues, but I guess every owner's thread is biased with problems. So I wonder wether any archer can give me some first-hand impression about the overall satisfaction and in particular about the CPU throttling and the behaviour under heavy CPU load. Thanks.

Offline

#2108 2018-07-21 11:22:20

mvasi90
Banned
Registered: 2017-02-02
Posts: 23

Re: Laptops which run Arch

MSI Apache Pro GE72 6QD 16GB DDR4, 1TB HDD, i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (running up to 3.5GHz)
Nvidia GeForce GTX 960m 2GB GDDR5 and integrated graphics: Intel HD graphics

kernel boot options:

BOOT_IMAGE=/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/disco-root rw cryptdevice=UUID=xxx-xxx-xxx:cryptolvm idle=nomwait nouveau.modeset=0 pci=nomsi nvidia-drm.modeset=1 quiet

idle=nomwait Prevent it from freezing at startup or poweroff
nouveau.modeset=0 Disable nouveau driver
pci=nomsi Avoid tty spam error messages (wifi card) before start X session
nvidia-drm.modeset=1 Enable the kernel module drm for nvidia to avoid screen tearing (this is experimental and disabled by default, but without it the user experience could be poor on some systems)
Note: To enable it you should add the next modules in "/etc/mkinitcpio.conf"

MODULES="nvidia nvidia_modeset nvidia_uvm nvidia_drm"

root=/dev/mapper/disco-root LVM2 (Logical volume manager). disco is the virtual group (vg), root (is the partition, lv=logical volume)
cryptdevice=UUID=xxx-xxx-xxx:cryptolvm Entire system encrypted.LVM over Luks (dm-crypt)

UEFI Mode
By default, grub-install --target x86_64-efi ... creates the next file: "EFI/grub/grubx64.efi" and some bios only search from "EFI/boot/bootx64.efi".
Without the file "bootx64.efi" the system can boot after fresh grub installation but if you are booting from another drive, after returning to previous drive it doesn't boot.
The solution is easy: make a copy of EFI/grub/grubx64.efi to EFI/boot/bootx64.efi

Without these configurations the system may not work properly or even not work.
With UEFi mode and regular HDD (not SSD) Archlinux boots in 10 seconds.
With i3-wm and only necessary packages, the entire system size is 4.7GB. Package list:

bleachbit
borgbackup
cryptsetup
curl
docker
feh
ffmpeg
firefox
google-chrome
fuse2
gimp 2.10
git
gvim (optional. To allow clipboard copy on vim cli)
vim (for instance, "*y to clipboard copy selected text)
htop
i3-wm
i3blocks
i3lock
i3status
imagemagick
iproute2 (ip and bridge tools)
lvm2
moc (optional. CLI tool to listen music: mocp)
mupdf (optional. CLI tool to read PDF files. Can be replaced with: firefox file.pdf or google-chrome file.pdf)
nvidia 396.24-15
nvidia-docker
opencl-nvidia (for instance, to using hashcat)
openssh
openvpn
p7zip
pacaur
pavucontrol (Optional. Pulse audio volume control GUI - can be replaced by alsamixer CLI tool)
qemu
sqlite (sqlite3 CLI)
sudo
tcpdump
testdisk
tigervnc
unrar
vlc
vokoscreen (screen recording, fast)
w3m (CLI browser vim keys)
lynx (CLI browser vim keys)
wget
wireless_tools
wpa_supplicant (and wpa_cli. I manage wireless only from wpa_cli, fast and easy without stupid network managers)
wireshark-cli (optional. To use tshark more advanced than tcpdump)
wireshark-qt (GUI)
xorg-server
xorg-xinit
xorg-xrandr (xrandr tool to manage screen resolution, and multi monitor like HDMI. Easy and fast)
youtube-dl

Less important notes:
I'm using Android Studio, IntelliJ, and more software fully installed on docker images to have a lightweight system and backup/restore quickly.
I'm backing up the entire system with borgbackup (making a copy of .cache/borg and .config/borg to external disk to avoid cache rebuilds on next backups)

When I need Android Studio after a fresh restore, I'm mounting the docker local registry and restore the image. (sudo nvidia-docker run localhost:5000/android ...)
After that, every time I'm starting it as: "sudo docker start android"

Easy way to have portable packages to share and/or deploy fast and isolated services like apache, mysql databases, etc). Remember: all the time having a clean system without reinstalling anything after format or backup restore.

Last edited by mvasi90 (2018-07-21 15:29:46)

Offline

#2109 2018-07-24 01:38:38

mony
Member
Registered: 2013-03-07
Posts: 32

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Huawei Matebook X Pro
i7-8550U
16Gib RAM
Intel UHD 620/NVIDIA MX150
512Gib SSD

Offline

#2110 2018-07-31 08:23:01

linux-mate
Member
Registered: 2018-06-28
Posts: 33

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Runing arch on Lenovo Thinkpad t440s.

i5 433U
HD 4400
8 GB RAM
256 GB SSD
Full HD 1920x1080 IPS screen
Kernel: Linux arch 4.17.11-1-ck-haswell  It's haswell optimized and balances workloads great.

Originally this OS is installed on my previous laptop HP 4540s

i3 3110M
HD 4000
8 GB RAM
256 GB SSD
1366x768 TN screen

When i bought this thinkpad i just put my SSD with arch installation in it and changed some configurations. Arch is running GREAT on this thinkpad. Trackpad, Trackpoint, Bridged batteries, Wifi EVERYTHING is working GREAT!

That HP 4540s is very bad for linux. It came with openSUSE but it's not compatible with linux. It runs HOT and battery only lasts 2 hours. On windows it's much cooler and battery lasts 3 hours. But The best OS for HP 4540s is macOS. It lasts 3.5 hours on macOS and EVERYTHING is compatible except wifi. You just have to change wifi card and that's it. Everything works under macOS on that HP4540s. If you want linux do not buy HP 4540s and similar models. Probooks. Those are prety bad for linux.

Thinkpads are THE best laptops for linux and their build quility is great. Also features. My 1.56 KG Ultrabook has 4 G sim card slot + smartcard reader + fingerprint. You can have 2 M.2 Slots + standard 2.5" SATA slot. That's insane for this small ultrabook.

Last edited by linux-mate (2018-07-31 08:24:32)

Offline

#2111 2018-07-31 13:18:34

IICore
Member
Registered: 2015-01-04
Posts: 3

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Swift 3 ( SF314-54 )
├─ Processor: Intel Core i5 8250U
├─ Memory: 8 GB
├─ Storage: 256GB SSD ( NVMe )
└─ Graphics: Intel HD 620

It was necessary to disable "Secure Boot" in the bios.

All components - e.g. W-LAN & Bluetooth - are working, excepted the card reader:

Jul 31 15:14:56 flounder kernel: mmc0: tuning execution failed: -22
Jul 31 15:14:56 flounder kernel: mmc0: error -22 whilst initialising SD card

On other card readers - e.g. in my Lenovo Thinkpad T410 - i could read the card.

Output of the commands "lscpu", "lspci" and "lsusb":

$ lscpu
Architektur:                   x86_64
CPU Operationsmodus:           32-bit, 64-bit
Byte-Reihenfolge:              Little Endian
CPU(s):                        8
Liste der Online-CPU(s):       0-7
Thread(s) pro Kern:            2
Kern(e) pro Socket:            4
Sockel:                        1
NUMA-Knoten:                   1
Anbieterkennung:               GenuineIntel
Prozessorfamilie:              6
Modell:                        142
Modellname:                    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8250U CPU @ 1.60GHz
Stepping:                      10
CPU MHz:                       900.088
Maximale Taktfrequenz der CPU: 3400,0000
Minimale Taktfrequenz der CPU: 400,0000
BogoMIPS:                      3601.00
Virtualisierung:               VT-x
L1d Cache:                     32K
L1i Cache:                     32K
L2 Cache:                      256K
L3 Cache:                      6144K
NUMA-Knoten0 CPU(s):           0-7
Markierungen:                  fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc art arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc cpuid aperfmperf tsc_known_freq pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 sdbg fma cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm abm 3dnowprefetch cpuid_fault epb invpcid_single pti ibrs ibpb stibp tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase tsc_adjust bmi1 avx2 smep bmi2 erms invpcid mpx rdseed adx smap clflushopt intel_pt xsaveopt xsavec xgetbv1 xsaves dtherm ida arat pln pts hwp hwp_notify hwp_act_window hwp_epp
$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v6/7th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 08)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation UHD Graphics 620 (rev 07)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (rev 21)
00:14.2 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Thermal subsystem (rev 21)
00:15.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 21)
00:15.1 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #1 (rev 21)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI #1 (rev 21)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev f1)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #5 (rev f1)
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #9 (rev f1)
00:1d.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 9d1a (rev f1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Intel(R) 100 Series Chipset Family LPC Controller/eSPI Controller - 9D4E (rev 21)
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PMC (rev 21)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio (rev 21)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP SMBus (rev 21)
02:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller: Intel Corporation Device f1a5 (rev 03)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 7265 (rev 59)
$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0b95:1790 ASIX Electronics Corp. AX88179 Gigabit Ethernet
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 1c7a:0570 LighTuning Technology Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0bda:0129 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTS5129 Card Reader Controller
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 04f2:b5f7 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 8087:0a2a Intel Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 24ae:1100  
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

Last edited by IICore (2018-07-31 13:20:33)

Offline

#2112 2018-08-23 22:48:50

mayfieldjr
Member
Registered: 2018-08-23
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have an ASUS K73E only and I3-processor but I don't need anything with high power right now just learning the ins and outs but it install correctly and runs just fine with what I'm using. I did a Live USB installation and used grub to locate the iso and run it

Offline

#2113 2018-09-01 23:33:54

Koatao
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo V130-14IKB
├-- Intel i3-7020U 2.30Ghz
├-- 4 GB RAM
├-- Intel HD Graphics 620
└-- HDD 1TB SATA-3

Working fine so far.
A bit buggy with Wayland/Gnome sometimes.

Offline

#2114 2018-10-16 08:16:39

SanskritFritz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-01-08
Posts: 1,756
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP 350 G1
CPU i3 (4 cores)
8 GB RAM
HDD Samsung SSD 860 EVO 250GB
Intel HD graphics

There was only one (major) hiccup, described in detail here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=241018
The harddisk stopped after some idle time, due to a power management problem. The solution was to define an udev rule:

/etc/udev/rules.d/hd_power_save.rules
ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="scsi_host", KERNEL=="host*", ATTR{link_power_management_policy}="max_performance"

Otherwise everything (including wifi) works out of the box, there wasn't even a need to intall a specific display driver (KDE Plasma on X with compositing).

Last edited by SanskritFritz (2018-10-16 08:19:10)


zʇıɹɟʇıɹʞsuɐs AUR || Cycling in Budapest with a helmet camera || Revised log levels proposal: "FYI" "WTF" and "OMG" (John Barnette)

Offline

#2115 2018-10-24 10:22:20

LeilaSouad
Member
Registered: 2018-10-24
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo IdeaPad 520-15IKB
CPU I5 8250U
8 GB RAM
Intel HD graphics + nVidia GeForce MX150
HDD 1TB + SSD 128GB

Arch Linux
KDE Plasma: 5.14.2
Qt: 5.11.2
KDE Frameworks: 5.51.0
Kernel 4.18.16-arch1-1-ARCH

Everyting is perfect.
Except for hibernation. Laptop wakes up without errors every time from new session.

Offline

#2116 2018-10-25 02:42:15

YCH
Member
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: Laptops which run Arch

snack wrote:

Anybody with the Dell XPS 15 9570 with i7 8750H? I'd need a laptop with loads of compute power for work and I like the XPS 15, but I fear that due to its thermal constraints it won't be possible to squeeze out much of the computing power. In this thread there is a long list of issues, but I guess every owner's thread is biased with problems. So I wonder wether any archer can give me some first-hand impression about the overall satisfaction and in particular about the CPU throttling and the behaviour under heavy CPU load. Thanks.

System:    Host: a Kernel: 4.18.16-arch1-1-ARCH x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.14.2 Distro: Arch Linux 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: Dell product: XPS 15 9560 v: N/A serial: <root required> 
           Mobo: Dell model: 0YH90J v: A04 serial: <root required> UEFI: Dell v: 1.9.4 date: 04/23/2018 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-7700HQ bits: 64 type: MT MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           Speed: 1000 MHz min/max: 800/3800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1000 2: 1000 3: 1000 4: 1000 5: 1002 
           6: 1000 7: 1000 8: 1000 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel driver: i915 v: kernel 
           Device-2: NVIDIA GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] driver: N/A 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: vesa resolution: 3840x2160~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.3 

1. Use nvidia gpu
2. Long compile 8 core full 100% load - like compile wine

Except those two cases, you r fine with temp. It goes 80-90 C easily when gaming(with nvidia) then cpu throttled.


YCH

Offline

#2117 2018-10-25 06:23:35

snack
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 713

Re: Laptops which run Arch

@YCH Thanks for the info. I have an idle 9570 in my office, just delivered and waiting for the substitution of the stupid italian keyboard with the US one I requested. I'll start playing with it as soon as they make the replacement.

Offline

#2118 2018-10-25 13:59:00

YCH
Member
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: Laptops which run Arch

snack wrote:

@YCH Thanks for the info. I have an idle 9570 in my office, just delivered and waiting for the substitution of the stupid italian keyboard with the US one I requested. I'll start playing with it as soon as they make the replacement.

I had to replace part(mobo, speaker, power adapter) for coil whining and speaker stutter?ing.

1. Coil whin

- go quite place
- do some cpu intensive job - like scrolling in youtube.com pages - while u listening closely around 'qwer' keys.
- it only happened when power adapter connected. especially not earthed consent.

2. Speaker

- listen some high pitch audios - https://youtu.be/NTKOyUWRO7o?t=79
- volume up

Last edited by YCH (2018-10-25 14:01:06)


YCH

Offline

#2119 2018-10-26 05:13:21

vogo
Member
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 43

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 13z Touch (5379)
2-in-1 laptop
Intel Core i7 8550U Kaby Lake R (8. gen)
Intel UHD Graphics 620
8 GB RAM, DDR4 2.4 GHz
IPS LCD panel 1920 × 1080 px (16:9)
SSD 256 GB

Everything works out of box, no issues with suspend and hibernation.
Baterry life about 8 hours on web browsing.
Quiet and powerful small factor laptop, with good price, with excelent Linux support.


Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get me.

Offline

#2120 2018-10-29 08:16:08

SanskritFritz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-01-08
Posts: 1,756
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

LeilaSouad wrote:

Lenovo IdeaPad 520-15IKB
...
Everyting is perfect.
Except for hibernation. Laptop wakes up without errors every time from new session.

I'm sorry, I tried to decode your last sentences several times without success. Do you mean it wakes up from hibernation starting a new session?


zʇıɹɟʇıɹʞsuɐs AUR || Cycling in Budapest with a helmet camera || Revised log levels proposal: "FYI" "WTF" and "OMG" (John Barnette)

Offline

#2121 2018-10-29 08:18:21

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,168

Re: Laptops which run Arch


Github | Soundcloud

"Once you hit 10 nested VMs you're basically brad pitt with women who matter" ~ echoline

Offline

#2122 2018-10-31 00:19:59

pyarch
Member
Registered: 2011-09-30
Posts: 149

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hello everyone!
After nearly a 3 year hiatus from running ArchLinux (because I had a macbook) going to get back on the ArchLinux.
Ordered X1 Extreme, anyone had any experience with running Arch on the X1 extreme? See a page for the X1 carbon but not for the X1 Extreme.

Offline

#2123 2018-10-31 05:20:19

m47h4r
Member
Registered: 2018-08-23
Posts: 28

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I got an ASUS G501jw and i couldn't be more satisfied (though isn't fully libre in case of drivers). At the time of buying it i wasn't paying attention that i wouldn't be using the Nvidia 960m and funny thing, i dropped it once and the gpu died lol Now it's completely what i need it to be (who plays games when there are programs like wireshark to play with big_smile). Anyway the specs are:

Core i7 7420HQ (quad core) - Onboard GPU satisfies more that what i need
16 G ram (there are times i completely fill it! but mostly i3 runs on 300M of it)
128G SSD for Arch only
1T HDD for data only
NIC 802.11n

There is no dark side of the moon really, matter of fact, it's all dark.

Offline

#2124 2018-11-28 01:30:18

otakumike
Member
Registered: 2013-11-05
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

@pyarch were you able to get Arch running on your X1 Extreme?

Offline

#2125 2018-11-28 02:37:14

Texas
Member
From: Dallas, Texas
Registered: 2010-09-10
Posts: 130

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Arch rocks this bad boy!

Acer Aspire R5-471T
CPU: Intel Core i5-6200U @ 2.30GHz
RAM: 8Gb
SDD: Samsung SSD 850 EVO M.2 250GB
Wireless: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac
Graphics: Intel HD 520
Screen-Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Kernel: 4.19.4-arch1-1-ARCH
DE: MATE

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB