You are not logged in.

#1 2021-11-27 17:29:20

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

So I have an Archer T2U nano and I am using the drivers from [https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au] Aircrack-ng It can discover the 5ghz networks but can't connect to them.

Offline

#2 2021-11-27 21:43:31

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855
We don't even know what chip that is because you only named a brand and TP-Link has a habit of using different chips in different generations under the same label…

Offline

#3 2021-11-27 23:39:58

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,406

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

What Seth said + the output of lspci


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2021-11-28 05:07:44

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Well doesn't the driver tell the chip is rtl8812au??

here is the output of lspci

 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:16.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family IDE-r Controller (rev 04)
00:16.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family KT Controller (rev 04)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (Lewisville) (rev 05)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev a5)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Q65 Express Chipset LPC Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port Desktop SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05) 

Also its an USB adapter so you might need lsusb

Bus 002 Device 007: ID 2357:011e TP-Link AC600 wireless Realtek RTL8811AU [Archer T2U Nano]
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 1bcf:08a0 Sunplus Innovation Technology Inc. Gaming mouse [Philips SPK9304]
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 413c:2113 Dell Computer Corp. KB216 Wired Keyboard
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0d8c:013c C-Media Electronics, Inc. CM108 Audio Controller
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

Last edited by jayant (2021-11-28 05:10:29)

Offline

#5 2021-11-28 07:17:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Because it's not

Bus 002 Device 007: ID 2357:011e TP-Link AC600 wireless Realtek RTL8811AU [Archer T2U Nano]

The drivers cover a whole group/family of chips w/ a similar interface.

Now we still need some actual data on the incident.
Eg, idk… oh yeah - maybe a system journal covering the failed attempt to connect to a 5GHz network. Errors from the tool you use (iwd/wpa_supplicant).
Stuff like that might be helpful…

Offline

#6 2021-11-28 07:19:43

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,338

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

jayant wrote:

Well doesn't the driver tell the chip is rtl8812au??

No, it doesn't.
The same driver is used for multiple chipsets...


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#7 2021-11-28 09:06:46

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Oh I didn't know that sorry.

When I try to connect with wifi-menu it throws error

Job for netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service failed because the control process exited with error code.
See "systemctl status "netctl@wlan0\\x2dbelkin\\x2d5G.service"" and "journalctl -xeu "netctl@wlan0\\x2dbelkin\\x2d5G.service"" for details.

And when I do systemctl status "netctl@wlan0\\x2dbelkin\\x2d5G.service" it gives me

× netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service - Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/netctl@.service; static)
     Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Sun 2021-11-28 14:27:24 IST; 28s ago
       Docs: man:netctl.profile(5)
    Process: 1786 ExecStart=/usr/lib/netctl/network start wlan0-belkin-5G (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
   Main PID: 1786 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
        CPU: 11ms

Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: Starting Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G...
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux network[1786]: Starting network profile 'wlan0-belkin-5G'...
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux network[1786]: The interface of network profile 'wlan0-belkin-5G' is already up
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: Failed to start Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G.

And journalctl -xeu "netctl@wlan0\\x2dbelkin\\x2d5G.service" gives me

 ░░ The unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has entered the 'failed' state with result 'exit-code'.
Nov 28 14:25:22 jay-linux systemd[1]: Failed to start Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G.
░░ Subject: A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has failed
░░ Defined-By: systemd
░░ Support: https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/systemd-devel
░░
░░ A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has finished with a failure.
░░
░░ The job identifier is 1043 and the job result is failed.
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: Starting Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G...
░░ Subject: A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has begun execution
░░ Defined-By: systemd
░░ Support: https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/systemd-devel
░░
░░ A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has begun execution.
░░
░░ The job identifier is 1208.
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux network[1786]: Starting network profile 'wlan0-belkin-5G'...
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux network[1786]: The interface of network profile 'wlan0-belkin-5G' is already up
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
░░ Subject: Unit process exited
░░ Defined-By: systemd
░░ Support: https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/systemd-devel
░░
░░ An ExecStart= process belonging to unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has exited.
░░
░░ The process' exit code is 'exited' and its exit status is 1.
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
░░ Subject: Unit failed
░░ Defined-By: systemd
░░ Support: https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/systemd-devel
░░
░░ The unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has entered the 'failed' state with result 'exit-code'.
Nov 28 14:27:24 jay-linux systemd[1]: Failed to start Networking for netctl profile wlan0-belkin-5G.
░░ Subject: A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has failed
░░ Defined-By: systemd
░░ Support: https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/systemd-devel
░░
░░ A start job for unit netctl@wlan0\x2dbelkin\x2d5G.service has finished with a failure.
░░
░░ The job identifier is 1208 and the job result is failed.

Offline

#8 2021-11-28 14:59:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

That's not helpful.

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

Make sure you've attempted to connect to the 5GHz AP during this boot.

Offline

#9 2021-11-28 16:01:16

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Offline

#10 2021-11-28 16:07:20

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Do you think its because of the crda? Cause my regdomain is IN not US

Offline

#11 2021-11-28 17:02:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Wha did you post a status of netctl when you're using networkmanager?

Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: Trying to associate with b4:f9:49:6c:b6:41 (SSID='belkin-5G' freq=5745 MHz)
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: FT: Invalid key management type (2)
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: nl80211: kernel reports: Authentication algorithm number required
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115186.1113] device (wlan0): supplicant interface state: scanning -> associating
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115186.1113] device (p2p-dev-wlan0): supplicant management interface state: scanning -> associating
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-STARTED-CHANNEL-SWITCH freq=5745 ht_enabled=1 ch_offset=1 ch_width=80 MHz cf1=5775 cf2=0
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: Associated with b4:f9:49:6c:b6:41
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-REGDOM-CHANGE init=COUNTRY_IE type=COUNTRY alpha2=US
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115186.2629] device (wlan0): supplicant interface state: associating -> 4way_handshake
Nov 28 21:29:46 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115186.2630] device (p2p-dev-wlan0): supplicant management interface state: associating -> 4way_handshake

Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=b4:f9:49:6c:b6:41 reason=15
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DISABLED id=0 ssid="belkin-5G" auth_failures=1 duration=10 reason=WRONG_KEY
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux wpa_supplicant[416]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-REGDOM-CHANGE init=CORE type=WORLD
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2621] device (wlan0): supplicant interface state: 4way_handshake -> disconnected
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2622] device (wlan0): Activation: (wifi) disconnected during association, asking for new key
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2623] device (wlan0): state change: config -> need-auth (reason 'supplicant-disconnect', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2627] device (p2p-dev-wlan0): supplicant management interface state: 4way_handshake -> disconnected
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <warn>  [1638115192.2630] device (wlan0): no secrets: No agents were available for this request.
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2630] device (wlan0): state change: need-auth -> failed (reason 'no-secrets', sys-iface-state: 'managed')
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2633] manager: NetworkManager state is now DISCONNECTED
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <warn>  [1638115192.2636] device (wlan0): Activation: failed for connection 'belkin-5G'
Nov 28 21:29:52 jay-linux NetworkManager[412]: <info>  [1638115192.2639] device (wlan0): state change: failed -> disconnected (reason 'none', sys-iface-state: 'managed')

Networkmanager doesn't know hte psk for the AP

Nov 28 21:29:21 jay-linux sddm-helper[678]: Starting: "/usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsession \"/usr/bin/openbox-session\""

And you're likely not running a polkit agent to allow it to ask you?

Offline

#12 2021-11-28 17:09:09

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

There is a polkit agent running, xfce-polkit

Offline

#13 2021-11-28 17:11:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Are you being asked for a password?

Offline

#14 2021-11-28 17:14:36

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

While connecting to the internet, yes

Offline

#15 2021-11-28 17:16:27

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

nmcli device wifi connect belkin-5G password [i]password[/i]
Error: Connection activation failed: (7) Secrets were required, but not provided.

Offline

#16 2021-11-28 17:27:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Does the journal for that attempt again say that you're passing the wrong key?

Offline

#17 2021-11-28 17:33:57

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

uh let me check

Offline

#18 2021-11-28 17:34:53

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

http://ix.io/3Gov here's the new journal

Last edited by jayant (2021-11-28 17:47:52)

Offline

#19 2021-11-28 17:51:19

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

But why am I able to connect to 2.4ghz wifi connections but not 5ghz?

Offline

#20 2021-11-28 18:03:04

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

The password for the 2.4GHz AP isn't necessarily the same as that for the 5GHz AP.
Check the AP settings.

If you want to make sure that this isn't some weird NM bug, stop the NetworkManager service and try to connect w/ wifi-menu.
But chances are that you're simply providing the wrong password.

Offline

#21 2021-11-29 01:57:36

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Well no it is not the wrong password, I can connect to the network on windows. I tried using wifi-menu but it just won't scan any networks

Offline

#22 2021-11-29 07:57:42

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

I tried using wifi-menu but it just won't scan any networks

… did you stop networkmanager before? How?

I can connect to the network on windows.

3rd link below. Mandatory.

Offline

#23 2021-11-29 17:02:03

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

systemctl disable networkmanager
systemctl stop networkmanager

Offline

#24 2021-11-29 20:46:38

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,947

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

And did you get any errors for that? The service is CamelCase, NetworkManager and you'll require root privilegues for that action.
Let's see where you're at:

find /etc/systemd -type l -exec test -f {} \; -print | awk -F'/' '{ printf ("%-40s | %s\n", $(NF-0), $(NF-1)) }' | sort -f

Also: did you check the link in my signature by now?

Offline

#25 2021-11-30 03:07:58

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Yea I turned off fast boot.

So if I turn off NetworkManager wifi-menu just throws aborted, and If I have NetworkManager turned on it will scan the networks but I still can't connect to it...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB