You are not logged in.

#1 2003-02-24 01:59:52

Luis Q. R.
Member
Registered: 2003-02-20
Posts: 106

Can't connect after install

After installing from FTP, I rebooted and then I tried to get some packages with pacman, but it didn't work. I'd like to know why I could connect to download the base packages but can't do it now.

I've checked almost all configuration files in /etc, I've modified some like hosts.allow and hosts.deny, with no results. Making a ping to my ethernet card shows that it works.

Pacman -Syu returns this error:

ftp.xxx.org temporarily unavailable
connection failed
ftp.other.org temporarily unavailable
connection failed
etc...

Please, tell me what do I do now. And yes, I did rtfm.

Offline

#2 2003-02-24 15:20:52

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Can't connect after install

my guess is that you may need to edit /etc/rc.conf.
does your card show when you do a lsmod or ifconfig -a?

what type of connection do you have?


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2003-02-24 18:27:30

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Can't connect after install

Make sure you have one or more nameservers defined in /etc/resolv.conf

Offline

#4 2003-02-24 18:54:41

Luis Q. R.
Member
Registered: 2003-02-20
Posts: 106

Re: Can't connect after install

To Sarah31:
Yes, 8139too. I can connect to my network but not to the internet.

To apeiro:
ADSL 256 mb.

Offline

#5 2003-02-24 20:06:17

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Can't connect after install

i would have to say that it could in fact be a name server issue. even though your are adsl your isp must have a name server?

the only other thing i can think of is the you may not have the exclamation mark in front of gateway deleted in rc.conf.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2003-02-24 23:13:10

Luis Q. R.
Member
Registered: 2003-02-20
Posts: 106

Re: Can't connect after install

The problem was that I was booting the "arch" entry of lilo, instead of the "arch-initrd" entry. Thanks by the help, anyway.

Wow, this is getting better all the time.

Offline

#7 2003-02-25 00:21:42

BluPhoenyx
Member
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 239

Re: Can't connect after install

You should still find the solution so you don't require the use of the initrd. While there are cases where using this boot method are required or beneficial, it is generally best to configure the system so it isn't needed if possible. Besides the slightly faster (perhaps not noticable to some) boot time, it also ensure that the system is properly configured for both hardware and security issues.

Of course there are those who think that if you are happy with things the way they are, don't mess with them. You probably won't learn much about AL this way though.


BluPhoenyx

Offline

#8 2003-02-25 01:17:55

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Can't connect after install

the only thing arch-initrd does is load the initrd at bootup, which tries to load scsi drivers.  This should not affect your networking in any way.

Offline

#9 2003-02-25 16:26:10

jason
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2003-01-13
Posts: 100

Re: Can't connect after install

maybe i'm stating the obvoius...

try ping 4.2.2.1
(4.2.2.1 is gte's primary dns)

traceroute 4.2.2.1
(see where it stops at, that's the problem)

if you can do both of these, it's DNS.  if you can't, it's something else.

Offline

#10 2003-02-26 07:29:05

Nickm
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2003-02-25
Posts: 104

Re: Can't connect after install

how about the default router ??

in your rc.conf

#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   (prefix a route in ROUTES with a ! to disable it)
#
gateway="default gw 10.0.0.138"  # <<--- default router goes here
ROUTES=(gateway)

on my machine it first was ROUTES=(!gateway) if it is on yours then remove the exclimation mark

note: your default router is not 10.0.0.138 that is the router on my network


Who is peer, and why is he resetting my connection ??

Offline

#11 2003-02-26 10:59:16

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: Can't connect after install

completely OT:

Who is peer, and why is he resetting my connection ??

The son of one of my teachers is called Peer, so I guess it's him smile


apt-get install arch

Offline

#12 2003-02-26 21:16:11

Nickm
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2003-02-25
Posts: 104

Re: Can't connect after install

OT?? hmm could be I'd like to see the rc.conf then i can make a proper judgement smile

btw could you tell peer to stop resetting my connection ?? smile


Who is peer, and why is he resetting my connection ??

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB