You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-16 02:16:37

onami
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2004-05-05
Posts: 197

qmail please

I installed qmail-installer, then I installed qmail, as the qmail installer asker, then qmailadmin.

started qmail daemon from rc.d but i still can't connect to it with telnet on port 25 or on 110.

help please

my /etc/tcp.smtp contains only
:allow


Forever newbie !!!

Offline

#2 2005-01-16 05:49:07

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: qmail please

i don't know if qmail supports tcpwrappers, but it probably does since djb is such a hardass (*note: this is a sidehanded compliment wink *).
Try adding

smtp:ALL

or smtpd dunno which one...
to your /etc/hosts.allow file.
And, make sure you are not blocking the port via firewalling (iptables).
And, I am not familiar with qmail..I don't know if it includes an pop or apop server along with the smtp daemon..but if not, then likely that is why port 110 isn't working.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-01-16 19:51:40

onami
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2004-05-05
Posts: 197

Re: qmail please

stil doesn't work
:cry:


Forever newbie !!!

Offline

#4 2005-01-20 03:12:16

darkcoder
Member
From: A bar near you
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 310

Re: qmail please

I haven't used the Arch approach, can't find the link now but I remember it was incomplete and people on the forums suggested to look at http://www.lifewithqmail.org and double check the steps to finish the install process.

My recommendation, drop all that qmail Arch crap and go with the steps of qmailrocks.com. They do not include steps for Arch, but I was able to install it on Gentoo using normally the RedHat ones.  And they include steps to configure virtual domains, web GUI, daily reports, etc, etc, etc. And for updates, qmail usually do not upgrade so do not have to worry.

Offline

#5 2005-02-14 06:47:19

miki
Member
Registered: 2003-04-02
Posts: 24

Re: qmail please

This is a modified installer that works nice.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB