You are not logged in.

#26 2021-11-30 03:32:03

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Alright so yes its a bug with NetworkManager, I forgot to start the netctl service, I can now connect to any network with netctl...is there any rofi menu or systemtray for netctl?

Offline

#27 2021-11-30 07:13:36

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,723

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

"I forgot to start the netctl service" does not lead to "wifi-menu just throws aborted", wifi-manager is a wrapper around netctl. Please see https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855 and stop paraphrasing.

Also

Yea I turned off fast boot.

Let's briefly assume that's actually correct: When? Just now? Did you re-try 5GHz on NM afterwards?

is there any rofi menu

You mean like a shell script that runs netctl list or netctl switch-to "$@" depending on whether the parameter is empty?

Offline

#28 2021-11-30 15:20:20

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

alright I tried connecting with networkmanager again but got the same error again. I think I am gonna stay on netctl, thanks for the help!

Offline

#29 2022-02-12 05:02:30

Wolve-San
Member
Registered: 2022-02-12
Posts: 1

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Well, the reason for NetworkManager behaving like that is, that NetworkManager can't handle WPA2+WPA3. Just to make it clear: WPA2+WPA3 is NOT WPA2 and WPA3, but a combination of both. So if you want to connect with WPA2 to your AP, you need to set both devices to WPA2 or WPA3 only!

Had the same problem and setting my AP to WPA2 fixed it.

(Sorry for reviving the topic, but since it was the first one on my search engine, I thought it would help others.)

Last edited by Wolve-San (2022-02-12 05:03:15)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB