You are not logged in.

#26 2021-11-30 03:32:03

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Alright so yes its a bug with NetworkManager, I forgot to start the netctl service, I can now connect to any network with netctl...is there any rofi menu or systemtray for netctl?

Offline

#27 2021-11-30 07:13:36

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 31,978

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

"I forgot to start the netctl service" does not lead to "wifi-menu just throws aborted", wifi-manager is a wrapper around netctl. Please see https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855 and stop paraphrasing.

Also

Yea I turned off fast boot.

Let's briefly assume that's actually correct: When? Just now? Did you re-try 5GHz on NM afterwards?

is there any rofi menu

You mean like a shell script that runs netctl list or netctl switch-to "$@" depending on whether the parameter is empty?

Offline

#28 2021-11-30 15:20:20

jayant
Member
Registered: 2021-11-27
Posts: 16

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

alright I tried connecting with networkmanager again but got the same error again. I think I am gonna stay on netctl, thanks for the help!

Offline

#29 2022-02-12 05:02:30

Wolve-San
Member
Registered: 2022-02-12
Posts: 1

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Well, the reason for NetworkManager behaving like that is, that NetworkManager can't handle WPA2+WPA3. Just to make it clear: WPA2+WPA3 is NOT WPA2 and WPA3, but a combination of both. So if you want to connect with WPA2 to your AP, you need to set both devices to WPA2 or WPA3 only!

Had the same problem and setting my AP to WPA2 fixed it.

(Sorry for reviving the topic, but since it was the first one on my search engine, I thought it would help others.)

Last edited by Wolve-San (2022-02-12 05:03:15)

Offline

#30 2022-09-11 16:31:57

szmaszmo
Member
Registered: 2022-09-11
Posts: 1

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

Somewhat I experience similar issue when connecting to Vodafone branded AP since few months (CH7465VF Wireless Voice Gateway Software version: CH7465VF-NCIP-6.15.20.2-2-NOSH). It may be, that Vodafone has updated firmware. Changing settings to "WPA2 only" does not help, at least not ultimately and with 2.4Ghz everything works fine. Found also this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1 … art-0.html which is kind of the same sort of issue.

$ sudo journalctl | grep wlp2s0 | tail -n20
Aug 12 09:32:38 NetworkManager[601]: <info>  [1660289558.3343] device (wlp2s0): supplicant interface state: associating -> associated
Aug 12 09:32:38 NetworkManager[601]: <info>  [1660289558.3538] device (wlp2s0): supplicant interface state: associated -> 4way_handshake
Aug 12 09:32:39 kernel: wlp2s0: deauthenticated from 54:67:51:3d:74:1b (Reason: 15=4WAY_HANDSHAKE_TIMEOUT)
Aug 12 09:32:39 wpa_supplicant[844]: wlp2s0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=54:67:51:3d:74:1b reason=15
Aug 12 09:32:39 wpa_supplicant[844]: wlp2s0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
Aug 12 09:32:39 wpa_supplicant[844]: wlp2s0: CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DISABLED id=0 ssid="UPC4B622F1" auth_failures=1 duration=10 reason=WRONG_KEY
Aug 12 09:32:39 wpa_supplicant[844]: wlp2s0: CTRL-EVENT-REGDOM-CHANGE init=CORE type=WORLD
Aug 12 09:32:39 NetworkManager[601]: <info>  [1660289559.4748] device (wlp2s0): supplicant interface state: 4way_handshake -> disconnected
Aug 12 09:32:39 NetworkManager[601]: <info>  [1660289559.4749] device (wlp2s0): Activation: (wifi) disconnected during association, asking for new key

Tried also to play with iwd, as suggested here https://forum.endeavouros.com/t/cant-co … nt/26622/9 - no luck.

$ inxi -Nazy
Network:
  Device-1: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel pcie:
    gen: 1 speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:088e
    class-ID: 0280
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
    vendor: Samsung Co driver: r8168 v: 8.050.03-NAPI modules: r8169 pcie:
    gen: 1 speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
    chip-ID: 10ec:8168 class-ID: 0200
$ iw phy
Wiphy phy0
...
	Device supports RSN-IBSS.
	Supported Ciphers:
		* WEP40 (00-0f-ac:1)
		* WEP104 (00-0f-ac:5)
		* TKIP (00-0f-ac:2)
		* CCMP-128 (00-0f-ac:4)
		* CCMP-256 (00-0f-ac:10)
		* GCMP-128 (00-0f-ac:8)
		* GCMP-256 (00-0f-ac:9)
...
	Band 2:
		Capabilities: 0x107e
			HT20/HT40
			SM Power Save disabled
			RX Greenfield
			RX HT20 SGI
			RX HT40 SGI
			No RX STBC
			Max AMSDU length: 3839 bytes
			DSSS/CCK HT40
		Maximum RX AMPDU length 65535 bytes (exponent: 0x003)
		Minimum RX AMPDU time spacing: 4 usec (0x05)
		HT Max RX data rate: 300 Mbps
		HT TX/RX MCS rate indexes supported: 0-15
		Bitrates (non-HT):
			* 6.0 Mbps
			* 9.0 Mbps
			* 12.0 Mbps
			* 18.0 Mbps
			* 24.0 Mbps
			* 36.0 Mbps
			* 48.0 Mbps
			* 54.0 Mbps
		Frequencies:
			* 5180 MHz [36] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5200 MHz [40] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5220 MHz [44] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5240 MHz [48] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5260 MHz [52] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5280 MHz [56] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5300 MHz [60] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5320 MHz [64] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5500 MHz [100] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5520 MHz [104] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5540 MHz [108] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5560 MHz [112] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5580 MHz [116] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5600 MHz [120] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5620 MHz [124] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5640 MHz [128] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5660 MHz [132] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5680 MHz [136] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5700 MHz [140] (15.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
			* 5745 MHz [149] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5765 MHz [153] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5785 MHz [157] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5805 MHz [161] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 5825 MHz [165] (15.0 dBm) (no IR)
...

Looks like my network card supports 5Ghz, when booted into Windows 10, no issue too.
Tried kernel 5.10.136-1 instead of 5.15.60-1, also no luck.. maybe I should try something older.. any ideas?

Offline

#31 2022-09-11 21:45:25

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 31,978

Re: I can view 5ghz networks but can't connect

when booted into Windows 10, no issue too.

3rd link below, reboot windows, linux and the router afterwards to get rid of stale leases.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB